We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked at Arlecchino, but was forced to stay in the Best Western Olympia next door”
Review of Arlecchino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arlecchino Hotel
Ranked #88 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Beware of sneaky deals between Hotel Arlecchino, Best Western and Expedia. My wife and I booked an economy, double bed room at Arlecchino for 1 night to wait for our flight back to Toronto from the Princess Cruise through Expedia and upon checking in we were informed that our room is an "annex" and is located in the hotel next door. We could not find any such indication on our Expedia confirmation paperwork and the clerk went to great lengths to match the word "annex" on his papers to the word "exterior" on our paperwork. Apparently when you book an exterior, economy room at Arlecchino they put you in the Best Western Olympia hotel next door.

Ironically the same thing happened to us two weeks prior to this incident in Rome, where we were redirected from Hotel Best Roma to another Best Western hotel in the neighborhood due to a "gas leak". Must be an Italian hotel conspiracy....

Surprisingly the room at Best Western Olympia turned out to be not so bad, but more on that in another review for Hotel Olympia.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Kirill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

535 - 541 of 1,105 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on the last night of our honeymoon and I have only good things to say about the staff. Francesco in particular was a great help; he even wrote out the bus route we needed on a map for us! The breakfast was simple but tasty, and the coffee was brewed fresh for us. The view of the canal from our room was beautiful, and the bed was comfortable enough if a bit firm for my liking. The only real negative thing was that partway through the day a horrible smell started in the elevator, but I think it was the result of some incident and not a thing that happens all the time.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed here and were disappointed. There is a stink to the hotel, really bad in the elevator, and in some of the upper corridors, and we are surprised that the other reviewers do not mention this. Our room also had a smell. The room is small, fair enough, this is Venice and we expected a small room but the mattress is second rate, and the bathtub would suit a midget and the wall sloped in over the tub so one could not stand up straight for a shower. The internet on the upper floors does not work although it works on the main level. Our room was in an annexed section through a corridor and up a staircase in another building. The location is good if you want to be close to the railway station, and the breakfast is just fine. The staff are professional and helpful but we will not choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: Call in advance and ask for a room in the main part of the hotel, not in the annexed part and perhap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank exploreforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atiengo, Responsabile reception at Arlecchino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
We are extremely sorry to receive your review. We use to take very good care of our guests and as customer oriented, it is our deep regret not having completely fulfilled your expectations. We wish you have had a satisfying and nice stay in our hotel.
The aim of our reply is to kindly ask you to accept our apologies and to try to give an explanation to your complaint step by step:
The bad smell we had into the elevator, for one day, was due to something that one of our clients spilled on the carpet inside. We first tried to clean it without any result and at the end we were obliged to change the carpet.
We are heartily sorry that you didn’t feel comfortable with the room we provided you. It would be better to know it at the check in, in order to give us the chance to offer you other options. Our staff would be completely at your disposal anytime.
Our mattresses are brand new and this is probably, why you felt them uncomfortable, but they are very good quality.
Thank you for your precious feedback, it will help us to improve our service.
If you ever come back to Venice, please give us a second chance, we will not disappoint you.
Kind regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I booked only an overnight stay at the Arlecchino so that I could spend a day in Venice after a cruise that left and returned to the Venice Cruiseport. Due to good reviews on Tripadvisor, I gave this hotel a chance. I was nicely surprised. The location could not have been better for getting to and from the cruise terminal. It is a short walk from Piazzale Roma. The hotel is bright yellow - making it super easy to spot and locate. The check in was very easy. Please note - the elevator is small and only 2 people with luggage can fit in. The hallways are a bit confusing and tight - but we made our way to our room without too much trouble. The room was excellent! Clean, beautiful furnishings, A/C worked nicely, a window overlooking a small canal. The bathroom was equally as nice. The continental breakfast in the morning was perfect. Located on the 2nd floor with nice views, there was a server making capuccinos, coffees, etc. and a nice display of fruits, yogurts, breads and pastries. Check out was efficient and pleasant. Overall - I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoralExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for one week and the reason behind my excellent rating is the extraordinary attention I received from 2 people of their staff. Usually hotel's personnel are often kind and courteous but it is really hard to find people who can show a friendly and professional attitude that goes far beyond the cold courtesy that the " etiquette" requires. Well, Marco and Irina are two stars! They made us feel as we were the only customers of the hotel. I could not ask for more. Beside that, the hotel has a good location near by Piazzale Roma ( where the bus from airport arrives ), train station and Vaporetto stops. Our room was clean and nice as the rest of the hotel, the breakfast offered is the classical Italian. I am likely to visit Venice again and I will not have any doubts about the hotel to choose when that time comes.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed in Venice at the end of April for 4 nights. I searched high and low for a romantic, yet central-ish hotel, whilst on a budget! Im so glad we chose this hotel!
Its location totally sells it, we spotted it as soon as we stepped off the bus from airport, only 2 small bridges to cross with luggage. We personally found buying return bus tickets the easiest and cheapest way to get into Venice. It can be confusing how to get over, but wait until you come out of arrivals and go to the transport information desk (located just before you leave airport) they have staff you buy tickets off and can ask questions. If you do use the bus, well coach really, buy return, its much easier.
I had emailed the hotel a few weeks before asking for a large double bed, and canal view if possible as i was celebrating my 30th birthday. I got a speedy, friendly reply saying they would try to accommodate my request. On arrival the lady receptionist greeted us with a smile and apologised that no large double beds were available as per my email, they had however given us a room with double bed (not 2 singles pushed together) and canal view on 2 sides. We were very happy with our room. Gorgeous views, very clean and tidy, with the perfect shabby chic romantic feeling id hoped for :) Yes, it was small, but we managed totally fine and are used to the size of European hotel rooms. Towels were changed daily, even if you hung them back up. Selection of mini toiletries available in bathroom too. The only very small negative is we struggled to get the water temperature right in the shower!! We got the hang of it after a couple of days! We never had a problem with the breakfast room. I think it had 10ish tables, we were down about 9.30am, no queues or squashing in, got sat down and served coffee by the waitress immediately. We also enjoyed a full breakfast on our last morning too, no pack up given. I was even a bit cheeky and made some sandwiches with the bread rolls for the plane!
On our first day we just went out and mooched, and surprisingly stumbled upon St Marks Sq, Peggy Guggenheim gallery, Rialto bridge and the coast. We'd walked that far but didnt seem/feel like it! We went back over the next few days to sight see in more detail. We didnt use public transport at all, when we inquired for the waterbus one afternoon it was £14 each for one short trip! Everything was very reachable from our hotel, so we gave the expensive transport a miss! We did do a gondola trip, they all charge 80euros, and 100euros on a night. I would recommended finding one on a side street, a bit away from it all. Must more peaceful and romantic :)
There's a few nice restaurants nearby to the hotel without walking too far. We also found a really good, and cheap, bar nearby called Cafe Noir (dont think name is on outside, so look for black fronting and big windows). A large beer and prosecco was about 6-7euros. Fab for after your meal if you just want a nice chill out place with music and drinks. Alot of young locals used it too. Just come out the hotel, start to follow yellow signs for St Marks, and it'll be on left after 5-6min walk.
Overall we had an amazing few days. If we were to return i would definitely stay at this hotel again, and would definitely reccomend. Dont stay on the mainland, such a faff to get into Venice each day. Use this gem of a hotel instead with friendly staff, clean tidy rooms, and perfect location! Enjoy :)

Room Tip: Email in advance and request canal view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Whitestone17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

For a senior couple, heading out on a cruise, this was a great hotel. The only drawback was the near-universal Venice requirement of carrying our luggage on steps over a couple of small bridges. Convenient to the bus from the Airport, and the People Mover to Cruise Ships. Also, of course the Vaporetta has an active stop nearby. The staff was very helpful, the rooms were clean and attractive--with just the right amount of shabby chic Venice style. Breakfast room was sunny and pleasant, with a good assortment of foods. The neighborhood itself is scenic and interesting. We would definately stay there again on a return trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#32 of 385 in Venice
2,237 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#53 of 385 in Venice
1,899 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#157 of 385 in Venice
2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Al Piave
Hotel Al Piave
#60 of 385 in Venice
923 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#115 of 385 in Venice
853 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#34 of 385 in Venice
2,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arlecchino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arlecchino Hotel

Address: Santa Croce 390 | Fondamenta delle Burchielle, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#81 Family Hotel in Venice
#94 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $89 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arlecchino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The position of Arlecchino hotel make it easy access via car/aeroplane/train or even cruise ship.hotel arlecchino is unique for the fact that it is extremely close to Piazzale roma, the entrance of Venice, making any transport of luggage,trouble free, also easy car parking,pre -arranged , if necessary by the management. Piazzale roma is also the shuttle stop for cruiseship and Venice airports. The bedrooms are all decorated in a typical venetian style with er,air conditioninig private bath, hairdryer telephone , satellite tv...THE Breakfast room has windows facing into one of the typical canal. If you book throught our official site you'll get the best rates and you can and buy your breakfast at the promotional price of 1 Euro! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arlecchino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arlecchino Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing