We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location really nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #45 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Some nice touches here at this boutique hotel. Generally we were impressed by the hotels position, which is near to the station,and its only a ten minute walk from several of the main attractions but far enough from the hustle and bustle of central Venice. Breakfast was excellent with some unusual choices of egg dishes. My only criticism is that the rooms are a little tired and need updating, However, I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,170)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

613 - 619 of 2,171 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

This hotel is very close to the cruise port and close to bus transportation from the airport. The hotel is clean, very nicely decorated and comfortable. You can take a water taxi right from the hotel to the Rialto bridge or St Marks Square.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

"Convenient Location" in this case means 'convenient if you are arriving by road or rail' as this hotel is practically at your door-step. From the station one needs to navigate one large bridge with many steps and a smaller one before arriving at the hotel. If you have large suitcases it can be difficult and multiplied in difficulty if you have more than just 1 case. In terms of wandering the many alleys and canals of Venice then you're a good 35-50 minute walk away (at a brisk pace) from St Marks, Rialto etc. During the peak seasons I imagine it would take even longer than that to navigate the crowds. Unless you're taking a water taxi everywhere you go then this is a hotel where walking is de rigueur - which is what we had planned on! If you want to be in the middle of the action (so to speak) and within closer proximity to the Rialto and St Marks then this property isn't really for you.

The hotel stands out as a more modern addition to Venice but the decor inside is distinctly local, akin to a more recent take on a Doge. The rooms are bright and airy, the ceiling is high-ish, the windows open onto the canal or other interesting (if not spectacular views).

In our room (Junior Suite) we had a Nespresso machine which made for gorgeous mornings on the terrace of our room overlooking the church across the canal, listening to the bells of Venice chime every 15 minutes and watching the pigeons play. We loved the multi-charger terminal in the room which removed the need for charging cables for our various gadgets but the internet required a password which needs to be input each time your digital device starts up. If getting used to that is a concern then you can do what Venice really wants you to do - switch off and get out into the stunning city.

Service is OK, not the most attentive I have experienced (read: slightly uninterested in guests beyond taking payment) and this definitely isn't a place for those who crave good service. The main dining room is designed in quite a quirky way with bark walls and vines growing all along the back windows and across the ceiling. The Venetian glass centerpiece chandelier in the centre lights up at night turning this space into one of the most stunning restaurants to eat in all of Venice.

Staff at the bar are a hidden gem. Their knowledge of unique and interesting cocktails and concoction surpasses that of Harry's Bar and one bar-tender introduced us to the Limoncello Spritz which was perfect after several hours walking around Venice - and getting lost in the process.

As with all properties in Venice this property is not cheap but could do with a review of their prices - downwards! In terms of quality the price you pay barely meets the product/service you receive so unless you're getting a great deal (i.e. under 200 euro per night) then consider elsewhere.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor with canal views.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LuxeTravelerHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
3  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

While we had a problem with the air at arrival. They fixed it first thing in a m. Staff was great and location away from the tourists. I recommend the gondola ride, the snacks are 100% Venice and really added to the atmosphere. Will use again

Stayed: October 2013
4  Thank vsclausen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights and were pleased we did. The rooms are well appointed and quiet. Very clean and up-to-date. We loved the location of this hotel. We walked everywhere we went except for one time when we took a gondola to a nice restaurant in St. Marks Square. I recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Venice. If we return to Venice we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrookeAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#4 of 384 in Venice
1,930 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Dorsoduro / Accademia
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#33 of 384 in Venice
2,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 384 in Venice
2,076 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#34 of 384 in Venice
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Via Santa Croce 245, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Venice
#12 Business Hotel in Venice
#32 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#34 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#60 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $197 - $839 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the sestiere of Santa Croce, the other Venice among secret gardens and animated courtyards, cherished in the oblivion of the most unique city in the world.Hotel Papadopoli stands on the Tolentini Canal, inside the Papadopoli Gardens, created in 1834 by Francesco Bagnara. It’s a truly enviable location: close to the Canal Grande and the Constitution bridge, an artwork by the famous architect Calatrava, that connects the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papadopoli Venice Hotel Venice
Sofitel Hotel Venice
Sofitel Hotel Venezia
Sofitel Venice
Venice Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing