We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Elegant and Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #42 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
“Charming, Elegant and Quiet”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We enjoyed our recent stay at MGallery. The location is convenient, yet quiet, a hard combination to find in today's Disneyesque Venice.

Rooms are small with comfy beds and good sized bathrooms. Elevator is tiny so we took the stairs a lot.

Andrea at front desk was very pleasant and helpful (as was bartender in the evenings) but the women on the night shift was both unpleasant and unhelpful as was the man on duty overnight.

Breakfast is expensive.

We enjoyed the evening pianist in the lobby.

Hotel is clean and well maintained and we were happy to have a quiet hotel to return to, away from the kitschy tourist area of Venice.

Hotel was the most expensive of our 2 week trip but Venice is a very pricey city.

This was my 7th trip to Venice and it has devolved over the course of my visits (40 years) to a city plagued by immigration and the dumping of thousands of cruise ship passengers each day.

We will not be returning to Venice as there are so many parts of Italy that are far more enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caviargal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,190
    703
    125
    26
    14
See reviews for
286
1,354
67
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The hotel is located near the train station (Veneza Santa Lucia) and is also close to a bus terminal. It has big,confortable clean rooms,a friendly and helpful staff,nice meals plus a fairly easy acess to all the major touristic areas in Veneza. Prices are a little above than the average hotels in Veneza but is what is expected for this kind of hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarceloMercuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We celebrated our matrimonial anniversary at this wonderful hotel by choosing the luxury room with king size bed and long balcony overlooking the Tolentini Canal at third floor. The location was ideal about 5 minutes walk to Piazzale Roma bus station and the water vaporetto. The hotel provided all the amenities one would wish, slippers, hair dryer, multi channels and even an umbrella within the room itself. The air con was a proper room temperature system with climate control at less audible level than some of the other noisier ducted systems we had experienced in other signature hotels.
At night it was peaceful with little disturbance from the street canal below. The service from the staff was excellent and we were surprised by a welcome gift from the manager of strawberries and Brut champagne. If there is a minor quibble it would be the size of the bathroom and WC only feet away from the hand basin, requiring some dexterity to manoeuvre without discomfort. Apart from this, everything was excellent and we have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone who requires a special service from a truly classy hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Great location. Balcony eo sip the chilled champagne and eat the strawberries that were in the room. Quiet location. Near to station and waterbus stops. Ideal for wzploring. Bar was great - and the bar staff. Wonderful breakfast to start you off on your days of sightseeing. Could see the cruise ships funnel from the balcony Arrived early morning abd the room was ready. Would stay again.

Room Tip: get an upgrade to one with a balcony so you can enjoy the sights and sounds of the canal and residen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annegill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Martha, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Hotel has heaps of old world charm. Great location not far from the station facing a canal.
We were lucky to be upgraded to a canal view room on the second floor (thanks Accor). Lovely park out the back of the hotel. Helpful staff. Comfortably furnished room with tea and coffee making facilities.
Bathroom was a bit dated and the bed was quite hard. Didn't use the restaurant, but it looked magnificent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoopersville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed here at the end of our Mediterranean cruise and were not disappointed. We arrived in our room to find a note from the Hotel Manager welcoming us with a tray of strawberries and champagne on ice. Large room with king sized bed, quality linen and a bath. We also had a huge balcony overlooking the canal. Great location, excellent service and they even arranged a taxi which carted our luggage to the people mover area and took us to the airport. This stay will be remembered for a long time as one where we were made to feel very special and were really impressed with the service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed here for three nights recently and would not hesitate to return.

We arrived before the check-in time but this was not a problem and the very helpful staff made sure our bags were stored and taken up to the room when it was available.

The room itself was large with a massive king size bed with fantastic bedding. The only problem was actually leaving the bed once in it!

The breakfast was amazing, a full selection of meats, cheeses and pastries were availavle, together with bacon, eggs and cereals. This was included with our room but if it isn't, the €22 price is quite high.

The hotel is in a great location and very close to both the train station and bus terminal. It is extremely easy to get a Vaparetto to any landmark from both of these locations.

My main quibbles were:

1) Having to pay for Wi-Fi. I ddon't understand this from such a nice hotel but we got around this by simply going over the canal and using the free wi-fi of one of the eateries in the piazza.

2) Some areas of the bathroom could do with touching up as there was a bit of damp and mould.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#35 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,012 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,521 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
#51 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#25 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Via Santa Croce 245, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Venice
#12 Business Hotel in Venice
#31 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#34 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#60 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the sestiere of Santa Croce, the other Venice among secret gardens and animated courtyards, cherished in the oblivion of the most unique city in the world.Hotel Papadopoli stands on the Tolentini Canal, inside the Papadopoli Gardens, created in 1834 by Francesco Bagnara. It’s a truly enviable location: close to the Canal Grande and the Constitution bridge, an artwork by the famous architect Calatrava, that connects the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papadopoli Venice Hotel Venice
Sofitel Hotel Venice
Sofitel Hotel Venezia
Sofitel Venice
Venice Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing