We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #51 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gencay, France
Level Contributor
136 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A nice experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

A first but not last experience of Venice, beautiful but so busy with tourists that we couldn't get in to the main attractions.
We don't normally stay in hotels this expensive but this seemed like a good occasion to splash out.
Great welcome in reception where we got to choose our room, and this was 5th floor with a terrace area and a view over Venice, magnificient.
The déco is a little old fashioned but of quality and clean, the bed was lovely and the room more that big enough and was very quiet.
Service was really good at all times, the guys on reception were very helpful with a map and suggestions for visiting the town. The hotel is very well situated, near to all the essential attractions without being on a main passage area.
So yes it is expensive but then all of Venice is, so at least here we felt the money was well spent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lcg09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,153
    696
    125
    26
    14
See reviews for
278
1,324
66
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
605 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

If you don't like humping bags all over Venice (as most people seem to do) this hotel is in a great spot 5 mins walk from the train station and 20 mins from the airport. Check in was swift and efficient and the team at the desk helpful throughout my stay. I had a Canal View room which was lovely - overlooks the small canal (canal dei Tolentini) which is used by local traffic only so very quiet and very picturesque. The back of the hotel overlooks a park so these rooms are probably nice as well. Room a good size, large bathroom, comfy bed etc. It wasn't the cheapest room at 400 euros per night (I booked late) but comparable to other offers in Venice. Breakfast room is very green and quite unique - service there as well very good with the maître d making a point of saying goodbye to everyone as they left. of note was the multi phone charger and power supply unit on the desk - never seen this before! I was on business and found the hotel spot on for my needs. The breakfast room seemed to have quite a few local business travelers which was also comforting. Go where the locals go they say!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StuckinBangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Our stay was just wonderful and the views were great. The room was lovely and comfortable . The hotel was beautiful and the buffet breakfast was great. The location was easy to get to and just a few feet from the land taxi . I highly recommend this hotel and will stay there again if I go back .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel Papadopoli in Venice for 3 nights. It was absolutely great.

The hotel’s location is very close to the Plaza Roma bus stops and Vaporetto station so we took the airport shuttle bus in. It seemed a little odd taking a bus into Venice, but it was easy and way cheaper than taking a water taxi or Aqualina.

The location is great for exploring the city as there is easy access to the main Vaporetto line. It’s a fair bit of a walk to St. Mark’s square, but my wife and I simply enjoyed cruising the canal on the Vaporettos.

The service was great – shortly after we arrived there was a knock on the door providing strawberries and a bottle of Prosecco as it was our honeymoon. The breakfasts were wonderful and the wait staff very good – just watch out, there were a few mosquitoes in the dinning room!

The room was quiet, nice and we had a great view over a canal. The decoration was very Venetian, which wasn’t our favourite, but it didn’t detract from the stay. A really cool feature is that they have a speaker in the bathroom that you can attach your iPod to and listen to music while you shower.

We have no hesitations recommending the Hotel Papadopoli. it was the perfect ending to our Italian Honeymoon!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JBI747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel was close to the train station and about a 30-40 minute walk to St. Mark's piazza. Very friendly staff and clean rooms. Breakfast was excellent daily. The rooms are older but kept up very nicely. WiFi internet was the best we had while in Europe. No fee and fast!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sigterm9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, Nc
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

My expectations were not extremely high due to the hotel competition in Venice. However, everything about the hotel was excellent. Right on a canal, not too far from the cruise terminal. Excellent desk staff. Rooms larger than expected. Breakfast incredible! The breakfast was billed as "continental", so I expected a couple of cereals, 2 or 3 different sweet rolls, and possibly some juice. It wound up being seating at white tablecloth tables, with eggs, sausage, bacon, juice of various types, toast, jam of several types, a number of different sweet rolls, some with filling, and some without, yogurt, water, coffee. I'm sure I'm forgetting some items. Suffice it to say that there was something for everyone and if you went away hungry, it was your own fault.

If back in Venice in the future, I will certainly try to stay at the Papadopoli.

Room Tip: Our room faced the walkway next to the garden. But we didn't have time to gaze out the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLTKiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

A tiny room not very clean, cluttered with too much furniture.
Bathroom likewise tiny and inconvenient. The toilet behind the door
and unsafe bath if wanting to have a shower. Overpriced and not up to the expected Accor standard.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Margnorm80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPapadopoli, Direttore at Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let me know about your experience and for sharing it with all the Tripadvisor community.

I sincerely regret the standards of service fell short of your expectations and I ask you to accept my most sincere apologies.

I hope to have a second opportunity in the future, trying then to regain your confidence.

Yours sincerely,

Pierpaolo Cocchi
General Manager
Hotel Papadopoli Venice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#34 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,437 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
#55 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal Grande
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Via Santa Croce 245, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Venice
#12 Business Hotel in Venice
#34 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#36 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#60 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the sestiere of Santa Croce, the other Venice among secret gardens and animated courtyards, cherished in the oblivion of the most unique city in the world.Hotel Papadopoli stands on the Tolentini Canal, inside the Papadopoli Gardens, created in 1834 by Francesco Bagnara. It’s a truly enviable location: close to the Canal Grande and the Constitution bridge, an artwork by the famous architect Calatrava, that connects the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papadopoli Venice Hotel Venice
Sofitel Hotel Venice
Sofitel Hotel Venezia
Sofitel Venice
Venice Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing