We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service really can make a difference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #44 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Service really can make a difference”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is a very good hotel in a convenient location but what really made the difference the staff who were instantly available, seemingly unhurried and very efficient. The hotel itself is well maintained, quiet and well equipped. We didn't find any good restaurants in the immediate area, in fact the hotel restaurant was the best of our stay, and again here the skills of the staff were exemplary. The head waiter, Omar, chatted when we felt like it and kept an eye of everything - for example when we refused butter with our bread, he quickly realized that in Italy we might want olive oil & brought an excellent bottle of Sicilian oil to the table. Concierge staff were also very helpful. You often hear about service being the key but I think this is the first time I have experienced a time when it actually made our holiday better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,235
    712
    126
    26
    14
See reviews for
303
1,384
69
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights, beautiful weather. Views from our 30ft balcony were wonderful.Our room was excellent with views on two sides and two patio doors. The hotel is full of wonderful furniture and chandeliers. The staff are first class.
The hotel is perfectly located for access to the whole of Venice either by Vaporetto or foot. A good walk to St Marks but well worth it.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor at the front. Cannot fault it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodAndArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Location

Regardless of how you are travelling in Venice, you cannot find a better situated hotel. It has its own landing-dock right outside the main doors. A short walk from the train station, an even shorter walk from Piazzale Roma for road taxi or vaporetto.


Hotel/Bedroom

This is a first class hotel; we have just held a wedding reception at the hotel, with our guest’s having a total of 9 rooms’. Each guest loved their room with no problems from check-in to check-out. All the bedrooms very clean and very comfortable.


Food/Bar

The choice of Breakfast full or light can only be described as excellent, it’s all there for you regardless of the number of times you help yourself (it can be walked off!!). Our reception was also held at the hotel with a buffet that was out of this world, the food all made by the hotels own chef was just EXECELLENT with so much to eat. The bar area is comfortable and very relaxed with great service.


Service/Staff

We received a faultless service from all the staff at the hotel. Regardless of who or what we asked for, we were dealt with so professionally and with great care. Diana, David, Omar, Katerina and Francesco are to name but a few. Thank you for looking after us and making our stay so special.


We have already booked to return to the hotel later this year and with EACH of the wedding party telling us that they will return to Venice and stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeandkarencook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

A great hotel close to train station which is a benefit with luggage, but you need to be aware of the stairs going over the bridges to get to the hotel. Using a porter would be good if you had heavy luggage. The manager recognised our 30th wedding anniversary with a lovely gift of champange and strawberries which made for a memorable stay. The hotel was a bit of a walk to San Marco square but we found it interesting as we found many shops on the way. Water taxis are easly caught from the front door and the hotel will assist with this. Thoughly enjoyed this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank College90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Yes,it is a bit expensive but well worth it.It is ideally located near the bus and train stations but in a delightful spot.The breakfast is superb and the staff first-class. I know that when I go back to Venice,I shall definitely go back to that same hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ceb2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed for four nights celebrating our silver wedding anniversary. Room had lovely view over canal with balcony for people watching, much appreciated the gift of prosecco and strawberries, thank you! Breakfast was excellent. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Location good as not in the busy part. Easy access to vaporetto and bus station. Would definitely return in the future,

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glasgow70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at hotel after 10 day cruise from Egypt. The location was extremely good for us lugging luggage. If arriving at the cruise terminal you have about a 800m walk to the people mover skyrail which costs $1Euro. From there it was a 3 minute walk across a park and over 1 bridge only. The room was ok by europen standards not overly big. The staff were excellent especially the concierge and breakfast staff. The breakfast was very good. Beware that if you upgrade to a canal view room the roomoverlooks a couple of restaurants and there is no air cond in the rooms at this time of the year so you have to have the windows open or else it gets too hot and stuffy even at this time of the year. This allowed the bellowing voices of the patrons to enter the room until 2 or 3a so not much sleep, didnt help also when mozzies got in and started eating me alive. The outside of the hotel was being renovated so I would recommend the hotel, its off the beaten track but very handy when arriving and departing Venice. The main areas are about a 40 min stroll away and we love walking so this didnt bother us.

Room Tip: Dont really bother upgrading to a canal view room its a small canal and unless you are in your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 386 in Venice
1,892 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#33 of 386 in Venice
2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel L'Orologio
#23 of 386 in Venice
690 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#11 of 386 in Venice
3,642 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Via Santa Croce 245, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Venice
#12 Business Hotel in Venice
#31 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#34 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#60 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the sestiere of Santa Croce, the other Venice among secret gardens and animated courtyards, cherished in the oblivion of the most unique city in the world.Hotel Papadopoli stands on the Tolentini Canal, inside the Papadopoli Gardens, created in 1834 by Francesco Bagnara. It’s a truly enviable location: close to the Canal Grande and the Constitution bridge, an artwork by the famous architect Calatrava, that connects the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papadopoli Venice Hotel Venice
Sofitel Hotel Venice
Sofitel Hotel Venezia
Sofitel Venice
Venice Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing