We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great location and excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #39 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I had passed by the Papadopoli before on a visit to Venice so knew how close it was to the Piazzale Roma (think about this when you need to carry luggage). Although I had booked a single room (as I was travelling solo this time) I was given a very pleasant double with a queen-size bed. The staff were very friendly and the breakfasts excellent.

This is certainly a place that I would consider revisiting. Be aware that repair work is underway on the exterior of the hotel facing the Rio dei Tolentini that is due to continue for a few months into early 2013. This did not affect me.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

849 - 855 of 2,233 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed with my partner at this hotel for three nights in November 2012. It is in a convenient location for those arriving at Marco Polo airport, as a taxi cab to the central bus station is a flat rate of 40 Euros. From here it's just a short walk through the gardens to the hotel.

Our room was very nice, and decorated in a very ostentatious Venetian manner with a large and comfy bed. The bathroom could have been smartened up a little. As you would expect to find in almost all Italian hotel bathrooms, there was a bidet.

Our room rate didn't include breakfast, which was an additional 20 Euros per person per day. I thought this was a little steep, but I gave to add that Venice is an expensive city and the breakfast selection was really excellent - with good service, good coffee and a wonderful selection of fruit, pastries and hot buffet items.

The service elsewhere in the hotel was good. Reception was efficient and helpful and the staff in the bar were accommodating.

Location-wise this was well away from St Mark's Square, but we loved being able to explore the less tourist-populated areas. You can access most of Venice via the water bus service (and this is actually a great way of seeing the city from the water).

When we were staying there was a lot of work going on at the hotel, at the front of the building, however we had a room at the back so weren't inconvenienced.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gth01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at the Papadopoli from 11/20 to 11/24/2012. Especially good hotel and great location for starting or ending a cruise. The peoplemover from the cruise terminal to Piazzale Roma is only 1 small bridge from the hotel--it's a little farther from the train station--2 bridges (one large--the Calatrava bridge) and one smaller from the Piazzale Roma. You could also take the vaporetto from the train station to Piazzale Roma (one stop) and walk to the hotel--it's less than 50 yds. The hotel is very well appointed, it is a true 4-star hotel, with a luxurious lobby and beautiful restaurant bar area (indoor garden). Very good breakfast buffet and a warm, accommodating staff. There is construction currently occurring on the facade and the roof, it appears, but we heard nothing in our room. Our room was good-sized, very comfortable, with a large bathroom, good water pressure and very nice linens--both in the bathroom and on the bed. It's one of those hotels you won't want to leave. Whatever we needed--from restaurant recommendations to extra pillows, the staff responded immediately.

As other reviewers noted, it is at the other end of Venice from St. Mark's square, but since it is very close to the Piazzale Roma vaporetto stop, you will normally be one of the first to board the vaporetto as it travels to St. Marks or points east. I recommend taking the #2 line vaporetto--less stops and usually less crowded than the #1 line. I was a little worried it would be loud, being so close to the train station, but with the Papadopoli garden on one side and a small canal on the other, it was very quiet and peaceful at night. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcoletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

If your trip to Venice is all about St Mark's Square, this hotel will be a drag as it's either a long walk away or a trip down the Grand Canal. But we loved it. Handy for the train station and many of the canal buses, it was great to be in a part of the city away from the biggest crowds. It was also our starting point for some interesting walks through the back streets - by far the best way to experience Venice. In fact, we only ventured to St Mark's once.

The hotel staff were friendly and welcoming and our room was comfortable and spacious. It was also clean with just a few signs of wear and tear in the bathroom. Breakfast was a typical buffet with a good range and delicious coffee, although it was served in an odd room that looked a bit like something out of a Lord of the Rings scene (bark on walls for example)!

The bar is comfortable and welcoming but we didn't dine at the hotel.

Unfortunately, this is another of those hotel groups that charges for wi-fi - such a rip-off. And for this, I cannot give it five stars.

Note that when we were staying in November 2012 there was work going on outside and the building was largely shrouded with scaffolding.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank F4monty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Papadopoli is an excellent hotel, well placed near to the Piazzale Roma (2 minuntes walk), close to the rail station and very near to the Vaparetto stop. It is about twenty minutes walk from Rialto, and 25 mnutes from San Marco, so it is very easy to get around. The bar is excellent, with drinks and snacks, or there is a good restaurant - it seemed to be quite expensive until we looked at the local restaurants!

An excellent choice for a few days in this wonderful city.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Sometimes it’s the atmosphere, the quality rooms, the location, the view, or the ambiance that makes a hotel special. In this case, it was all of that plus, and more importantly, the staff. The hotel was being renovated so we did not get the view we had paid and reserved for, but Diego made up for it. He went out of his way to make us feel special, greeting us cheerfully and made us feel as if we were the hotel's best and most important guests. His attention to making our stay memorable was astounding such as choosing a superb room without my having to ask for it (since we didn't get the room with the canal view), a surprise welcome package personally signed by him and complimentary wine (which we found out that he had taken care of when we went to pay for it...Omar the bar tender is fabulous too) and Prosecco in our room. The hotel is extravagant and so close to the bus stop (but no noise from it) on a small canal a block from the grand canal. Close to everything. As a frequent business traveler (50+ stays in hotels per year), I found Diego’s service to be the best I’ve ever had and the hotel is luxurious. M Gallery’s Papadopoli has my top review for my Italian vacation!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, but don't forego staying here if you don't get one. The atmosph...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marjorie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed here with our 2 children in November and booked 2 rooms. Unfortunately they didn't mange to get us in adjoining ones, we were down the hall..After arriving in the room it stunk of cigarettes, so we asked for another room.They did move us, but 1 floor up.This wasn't too bad as our children were older(this would be a problem if you had younger children).The kids room had 2 beds ,ours obviously had a double but was so small i could barely fit our luggage in.The breakfast was average though and we decided to give it a miss on the 2nd day as it wasn't worth 20 euro's each..There is a great little eatery right across the water were the locals by rolls for ! euro..they were delicious!. The only problem we had was, being accor members we gave our details at checkin and checkout, but for some reason or another said they couldn't add the points onto our card..Hotel was close to train station and a short walk to San Marco Square...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Twiggy0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPapadopoli, Direttore at Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

I wish to thank you for having chosen our MGallery Papadopoli Hotel for your recent stay in Venice, as well
as sharing your comments which first of all give us the opportunity to learn from your precious suggestions.
When we received your request room availability was very short and that is the reason why we could not manage
to fulfill your expectations. I wish to apologize for the smell of cigarettes you perceived in one room.
Be assured that proper actions have been immediately taken.
After having personally and carefully checked our records, I see that 1528 points have been correctly credited
on your Accor Le Club Card upon your departure on the 9th November. Receipt is available.
To make sure we did to the right member we will contact you separately by mail and check correct behavior from our side.
Thank you once again for bringing your opinion to my attention and hope to have the chance to regain your confidence in a future occasion.

Kind Regards

Pierpaolo Cocchi - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 385 in Venice
1,960 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Canal Grande
#10 of 385 in Venice
2,126 reviews
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#81 of 385 in Venice
1,866 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#34 of 385 in Venice
2,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Via Santa Croce 245, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Venice
#12 Business Hotel in Venice
#27 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#34 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#60 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $190 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the sestiere of Santa Croce, the other Venice among secret gardens and animated courtyards, cherished in the oblivion of the most unique city in the world.Hotel Papadopoli stands on the Tolentini Canal, inside the Papadopoli Gardens, created in 1834 by Francesco Bagnara. It’s a truly enviable location: close to the Canal Grande and the Constitution bridge, an artwork by the famous architect Calatrava, that connects the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papadopoli Venice Hotel Venice
Sofitel Hotel Venice
Sofitel Hotel Venezia
Sofitel Venice
Venice Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing