We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Nice cafe but overpriced and Bizzare owner” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tearoom Caffe Orientale - CLOSED

Tearoom Caffe Orientale
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Neighborhood: Santa Croce
Description: Currently closed. Reopening September 30, 2013.
london
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice cafe but overpriced and Bizzare owner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Was in Venice 2 wks ago and we visited this place because we read good reviews. The place itself is lovely with the food being ok but very overpriced (10 euro regardless of what you pick) for what where you are, It is essentially a cafe. I didnt think the lady (I presume owner) was overly nice. She seemed a bit abrasive, asking a bit rudely what made us come to her cafe. We answered honestly saying we read a recommendation for it in a book. That made us think then she did not like tourists (some places in venice discourage tourists entering their eateries). However, from what I can read from trip advisor prehaps not! Anyways I think this lady was a tad rude, after buying a cake which was plonked down in front of us she then went to my friend "were you not here last week anyway?"..we were now mysitified by her behaviour and said no (Only just arrived in Venice). Then after talking to her and telling her where we were from she began speaking in Italien to her collegue behind the counter (which we could grasp in our basic Italien) about us saying it wasnt who she thought. Anyway bizarre lady, bizzare and confusing and a tad awkward experience but I still say visit but make sure you tell her you just arrived or she may confuse you with someone she didnt like.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank pennyscount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    23
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice Small tearoom in Venice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

On my Trip in Feb 2013, Wanna go to a quiet place for walking and shooting. Then try to following the user comments and visited this Tea Rooms in Santa Croce area. The Tea Room not too big, Woody furniture with warm lighting. Very nice mood for a relaxing afternoon. The staffs are very friendly to speak English for me!! I felt the localize in the tea room, I ordered a Black Tea with a Chocolate Cake! Both of them are very nice!!! If I go Venice again, I'd like to go again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skywalker523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Karma for the karma tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

A nice small peaceful retreat after a days walking in Venice, teapots and crockery from the potteries as well giving you a good couple of cup fulls of tea,excellent range of tea's to choose from, the Karma blend was lovely at 3.5euros, along with the Tuscan Soup, 10 Euro's seemed a bit expensive but that's Venice I suppose

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice on a rainy day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

On our trip, my fiancee and I chose the top ranked restaurants to try out. This was one of the ones that popped up on tripadvisor. We went for lunch. It was a nice atmosphere on a rainy day. The food for $10 euro a dish wasn't that worth it. The quiche was good but the tomato soup wasn't. The service was good. Lovely couple that were serving us were quite friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank potatorice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Soup was brilliant and the homemade bread was good! Cakes were very good as well, wide range of tea. perfect place for vegetarians. Friendly staffs who speak very good English. Doesn't offer much Italian food though.

Helpful?
Thank yetwai
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Tearoom Caffe Orientale also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing