We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A slice of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tearoom Caffe Orientale - CLOSED

Tearoom Caffe Orientale
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating
Neighborhood: Santa Croce
Description: Currently closed. Reopening September 30, 2013.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A slice of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I went here for a late lunch while in Venice strictly because of the amazing reviews it had received on Trip Advisor. It is a little out of the main stream area of Venice but actually wandering through the streets to get to it was part of the enjoyment you see amazing things on the way there and back that you would not normally see as they are off the beaten track.

When I arrived the couple who own the Caffe are so friendly and could not possibly do anything more to make your time there enjoyable. I had an amazing tomato soup with bread and a tea and a piece of the famous chocolate and pear cake to finish off. I went here for a late lunch and ended up eating so much that I didn't actually need dinner and had I have been there for longer I definitely would have ventured back for another lovely meal.

The caffe itself is very clean, tidy and filled with color and beautiful paintings. The couple who own this place are onto a winner and were very lovely to talk to.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tennille C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    23
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A delightful, peaceful haven.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Quite close to our hotel, Antiche Figure we stopped by for afternoon tea after sightseeing. The lovely, quiet atmosphere was such a rewarding experience after the hustle and bustle of the busy tourist traps near St Mark's Square. A great selection of teas and tasty home made cakes.

Helpful?
Thank williams1p
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Would highly recommend this place , we stopped here for a light lunch. My husband had the lentil curry and I had the chick pea soup - both were delicious. It's a quiet place and located a bit further out. Home made scones were served warm and truly scrumptious. The customer service was brilliant, loos spotlessly clean. The only negative point would be that €10 for soup felt a bit pricey, however if I were to go to Venice again I would definitely go and eat here again. As a vegetarian this is a gem of a find, as much as I love pizza it's nice to have other options. Highly likely that I wouldn't have come across this place if it hasn't been for the tripadviser community. This is only the second review that I have written as not that good at writing,will be making a positive effort to make future contributions to inform others as have so relied on the feedback provided.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chloe_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
612 reviews
502 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
“It is the tranquility that lends to the strength”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Located on the Rio Marin water way opposite Pasticceria Rio Marin (which is another top ten TA rated spot) the Tea Room offers a spot of order and peace, which comes at a premium in any congested city. The place is run by a man and a woman both of whom speak perfect English and are somehow able to get every done without raising their voices or causing a kerfuffle which is something worth applauding in Italy. The tea and cakes all make perfect sense and you can see that proper thought has been put into what is what. The food looked really good and you could see everyone pleased to have a decent meal. We had chocolate pear cake, the carrot cake and tea's and coffee's all of which were excellent. Everything is freshly baked/made that day. Good wifi signal as well if you need to plan the next step of your journey.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sidji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very nice tea room/restaurant, not far from ferrovia.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This restaurant is very nice, clean, and quiet. They have a very large selection of teas - so if you love to drink tea and want to try some very different choices then make sure you go to this restaurant. The food was very good, very clean, cooked with little condiments or oils etc. The quiche was very good. I must add however that the ribollita was more like a minestrone rather than a true, robust, Tuscan ribolitta. The prices are reasonable but maybe a little bit more than I was expecting. I'm a bit confused by the name. Maybe it should be called the Tuscan Tea Room.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CFDUE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tearoom Caffe Orientale also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing