We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience Venice with a knowledgable local guide!”

DiscoveringVenice - Walking Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: DiscoveringVenice is run by Antonella, Eugenia and Federica. We are Registered Tourist Guides since 2000. We offer a wide range of private tours. We also offer semi-private tours: a perfect way to share costs with other travellers like you. The private tours we organize can be either on foot or by private boat (Gran Canal, small canals, islands of the lagoon - Murano, Burano, Torcello). We are keen to organize customized exclusive tours to make you discover the "hidden Venice" and its back-streets, as well as the monumental classic Venice.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Experience Venice with a knowledgable local guide!”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We fulfilled a lifelong wish to visit Venice in early November, and wanted to make the most of our time there. We were recommended to Antonella and Discovering Venice from a friend and we were so pleased to be able to arrange a 2-hour walking and 1-hour boat tour with her. It was a holiday, and therefore very crowded in the main tourist places, but Antonella was able to provide detail about the main points of interest that we would have missed, and then guide us away from the crowds and around the city where we could experience, with her expert guidance, the architecture, history, culture, commerce and character of many neighborhoods of this amazing city. The boat tour allowed us to see more of the Venetian lagoon and many outlying neighborhoods, as well as see the amazing palazzos along the Grand canal (some of which we visited on our own later). I can't imagine a better way to experience this jewel of a city. Antonella herself is a native Venetian and able to share a local's perspective of her city. She was friendly and gracious and tailored her tour based on our interests. Highly recommended!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    772
    34
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“3 hour tour of Venice”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Patrizia Bracceschi was our tour guide in Venice. She did a great job. Speaks English fluently, is very flexible - as there were some in our small group that had been to Venice before. Would adjust on the fly as someone mentioned something they would like to see.
3 hours was perfect as we saw many of the key attractions and then did a walk thru a typical Venetian neighborhood where the locals live.
As she was born in Venice, she can give good detail about everyday life today as well as the historical perspective.
Worth the $.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank pancho444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best tour of Venice”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

After reading many positive reviews of Discovering Venice, I made reservations for our late October visit from our cruise ship. I booked a 3 hour walking and 1 hour water taxi tour with Federica as our guide. Federica did a fabulous job giving us the overview, the options available to us and then setting a perfect pace for our group! When we needed a short break, she found a little corner cafe for a quick bite like the locals do. She was very well informed of the history of the city (she is a local, too) the current business conducted in the city, the problems and the positive efforts to save the city sights. What a great place, we were luck that St Mark's was "dry", and I can't wait to go back! I'll choose Federica to tour with again, she arranged everything, including the water taxi drop off at the end of our tour back at the dock where our cruise ship was. Well done.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“how to discover venice”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We (four adults) were in Venice for the first time on a 2-day cruise stopover. Contacting "Discover Venice" was the right way to do it! Antonella gave us not only an in-depth look at the Dorsoduro area on a two-hour walk, but an overall sense of Venice as a metropolis and a society. When we come back, I hope we can do it again!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank maura147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
126 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“One of the best tours ever”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 hours with Patrizia on a walking tour of Venice recently. Her knowledge of the the 'usual' attractions is outstanding and when combined with her knowledge of the city and its neighbors, the tour was true delight. She was extraordinarly informd about all of hte attractions adwas ve careful to answer all of our questions. Inall, a fabulous tour that we can recommend to anyone going to Venice.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sljayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DiscoveringVenice - Walking Tours also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to DiscoveringVenice - Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing