We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, but worth it!.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal
Ranked #89 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Kent UK
Level 4 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Expensive, but worth it!.”
Reviewed March 5, 2005

We splashed out on this four star hotel on our visit to Venice on 1 March 2005 and have regretted nothing. It is situated right on the Grand Canal and is only a few paces from the landing stage for the Vaporetti and the shuttle boats from the Airport. The room we had was not large but big enough for a King size bed and was ornately decorated with a big chandelier and walnut furnishings. The linen was spotless and changed daily. The bathroom was in marble with plenty of big fluffy towels and bathrobes.

The high point was the attitude of the staff, though. Without being servile they catered for every need, within and without the hotel. Frankly they were all exceptionally good.

Helpful?
9 Thank OrpingtonT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    428
    134
    66
    43
See reviews for
217
667
60
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2005

I read all the reviews here, the hotel looked good, so I booked a Superior Room on Expedia. The only rooms offered on the hotel's website, and Expedia's, were Standard and Superior. The cost of the superior room was almost double the cost of a standard and I assumed that you'd get a nicer room with a canal view.

When I arrived at the hotel, they showed me to a room which was small and had no view. I complained. The porter didn't speak much English and put my on a mobile phone to the receptionist. They showed me a second room. Exactly the same. A third room. Exactly the same. I asked to see a Standard room. Absolutely no difference whatsoever. I said that I wanted a canal view. The receptionist told me that they do not give Canal View rooms to Expedia customers, and that none of the Superior rooms have canal views. Eventually, after about 45 minutes of complaining, they managed to find a Superior room with a canal view (I'm guessing they had just finished building the room as they were adamant they didn't exist before). But, lesson one if you're planning to go here, don't bother with a superior room.

Lesson Two is don't bother with breakfast. The "continental breakfast" is a bowl of dried up bread, a couple of muffins and a single croissant with some jam. If you want juice it's 5 Euros for a small glass. An omelette is 8 Euros. Yoghurt is no less than 3 Euros for one of those little tiny pots you get in 6 packs. The General Manager told me that they will be changing to a buffet breakfast in April as a lot of guests had complained that they were being ripped off.

A perfect hotel for people who don't want a canal view and don't eat breakfast. But I'm sure you could do a lot better.

Helpful?
18 Thank LondonJonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2005

I can't deny that this hotel has the best location in Venice. Just 15 seconds away from the vaporetto (ferry) stop at San Marco. The rooms were adequete but not 5 star (apparently the hotel is only 4 star). The bathroom was definitely 5 star - marble, very well lit, very big for European standards. The water from the shower was a quite slow and not powerful enough, but not that much of a problem.

The staff, however, were not the best I've come across in any of my trips around the world. They seemed quite impatient and it definitely showed on their faces. It seemed like a big chore to ask them for an umbrella when it was raining outside. Asking them to book a restaurant for dinner seemed like a big task for them. They were helpful, but their attitude needs to be improved.

However, I got a great internet rate at their website - 110 Euros per night including breakfast - so I'm not really complaining. I'd definitely stay there again despite their attitude problem.

Helpful?
10 Thank ABCABCABCABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2005

My wife and I stayed here in September 04. The location is great, near the heart of the city, obviously you arrive from the airport on a water taxi- there's no other way!
Rooms average size, pleasing bathrooms and the best thing of all, the breakfast view from the ground level restaurant overlooking the Grand Canal.
Brilliant!

Helpful?
2 Thank Chispeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 20, 2005

We've just got back from a trip around Italy and France. We also got engaged in Venice so this city will always be special to us. This hotel was exceptional due to the staff and location. We stayed in a junior suite so it was pretty roomy for a European hotel room. The staff was friendly and helpful. They even warned us of the over charge on the private water taxi since it waited a few minutes for us. You cannot beat the location! Next to the shops and St. Mark's Square. All transportion right in front as well. I would definitely recommend it to visitors going to Venice for the first time since it seems like the old timers are unhappy with the renovation.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2005

Things change. We all know that. But for the better? Not in the case of the Monaco and Grand Canal. I stayed there (as have many good friends) every year for 15 years, until the renovation. The two Gianlucas who worked in the cozy bar directly overlooking the Grand Canal always had your favorite drink waiting. Raffaelo was always at the piano. You could sit right in the window if you wished, for hours and watch the boats go by, including from the dining room for breakfast. (They responded to this by moving a bar to the back of the hotel. HUH?) No service was too much to ask the staff, but we regulars never asked for much! We always felt like we were just visiting a nice villa of friends. The reviewer who said the hotel has become designed for eurotrash resonates. A most attractive aspect of the Monaco in the past was that it was NOT a tourist hotel nor a did it host conferences. So you always had guests there to really have a quiet respite. Sometimes finding a few inches of water in the dining room at breakfast a couple of times--just put on your boots like the waiters did and keep eating!--was a small price to pay for truly being welcomed to an old-world hotel in which you became family after only 1 visit. But then came Bennetton. Big company buys small old-world hotel, tears it apart and ruins it. To be fair, they did have to do alot of shoring up and built a sort of huge bathtub under it in order to stop the aqua alta coming into the restaurant. It's an old story but a very sad one for all of the loyal patrons who came year after year like we did. And the stories on this site of poor and surly service break my heart. Unheard of in the past. The location is everything, which hasn't changed. A few steps from the airport vaporetto and Harry's. Time marches on and none of us who used to stay there are old fogies who resist change but this was a desecration. The Monaco retains only its name and perch near St. Mark's. It's gone really. But if you never stayed in the old Monaco then this one probably seems fine. But after one stay in the new one, all of us who were regular annual visitors have pretty much decamped to rented apartments in the area and just come for dinner. Quite honestly, if you want to spend this kind of money in a bigger hotel, just go over to the Gritti.

Helpful?
9 Thank kate999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2004

At the end of a trip to Italy, it was a pleasure to stay in this old hotel which has been refurbished in a modern style. The lobby area really is cool with glass ceiling The room we were in at the back of the hotel was quite cosy but we didn't mind as it was really nice. The location couldn't be better. Enjoy

Helpful?
3 Thank hotel-snob-london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#53 of 386 in Venice
1,588 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Hotel
Bauer Hotel
#77 of 386 in Venice
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#70 of 386 in Venice
918 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Selvadego
Palazzo Selvadego
#156 of 386 in Venice
395 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal

Property: Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal
Address: San Marco 1332, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Venice
#58 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#98 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#126 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal are just a few steps from the famous St. Marks Square, ideal for guests who want to immerse themselves, inside the Venetian lifestyle. The 99 guest rooms including 7 suites overlooking the Grand Canal, are all elegantly decorated. Baroque and minimalism meet up in a perfect harmony. In the Grand Canal Terrace Restaurant which overlooks the Grand Canal, the guest can admire a majestic views and enjoy freshness of seafood and vegetable that are so essential to local specialities. In this top class ambience you really feel almost at home. The events section of the Hotel is realised in the recent adjoined Palazzo Dandolo, which became famous as the world’s first casino. Today there offer a very special space for organisations of events like Wedding, Gala Dinner, Conferences and meetings from 10 to 600 guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco And Grand Canal
Hotel Monaco Grand Canal
Monaco Grand Canal Hotel
Monaco Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing