We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Trip calls for Fabulous Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal
Ranked #88 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Hackensack, New Jersey
1 review
“Fabulous Trip calls for Fabulous Hotel”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Dont let the expense keep you fro this fabulous hotel. If you are traveling NOT on a budget and want the experience of Venice this hotel is a must. Right in the center of Venice...a few blocks from St Mark's place and two ro three bridges from everything else. The water Taxi (expensive) stops here but so does the water bus (cheap 7 euros all day long)

The rooms are large for Europe. Comfortable heat and a/c controls in the room. Free wifi and restaurant downstairs. Comes with breakfast and a fantastic, staff willing to bend over backwards. If you are staying in Venice, dont spare the cost and stay her!

Room Tip: every room is nice, the view doesn't really matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnieford54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    428
    134
    66
    43
See reviews for
217
665
60
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Checked in with a tour we had planned for months with my 80 year old mom. The room for three was a handi cap room at the far most end of the building in the back first floor in the back alley for your view. The place to sleep two adults and an 80 year old women was two twins and a cot in the size room no bigger than a normal kitchen. The rooms were dark, no electric outlet in bathroom and no mirror at desk to do you hair with any electrical outlet. No coffee or hot water maker, no shelves in bathroom for toiletries, room could only hold one luggage rack their were three of us. When we complained that the room was so far away for a disabled person to walk they were less than intesterested in helping accomindate. I could only classify the attitude of the front staff and manager as "snobs" they had the attitude that they didn't care if you stay at there hotel or not their are millions that will come and put up with anything for the view. I will agree the view is one of the best but you will be paying for that view dearly between the food, drinks and overall attitude of this hotel if you are handicap and they have to work to make someone comfortable. Glad I came for the view but I wouldn't return here to be treated less than any paying customer deserves.
Just as a side note we came with Perillo tours and even the hotel would not honor their request to fix the issue.

Room Tip: With this hotel the canal side is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goodie226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patchogue, New York
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

With one of the best locations in Venice, San Marco is in the heart of it all. The hotel offers small but well decorated rooms not on par with American standards, however they were acquitted for our needs. No Coffee machine in the room will disappoint most US visitors. Pricing as you can imagine was astronomical with breakfast costing $35.00 Euro per person (that equates to approx $50.00) USD. The location is wonderful, the staff was pleasant and helpful. This is a solid 3 star hotel at its best and could use some improvements and take a lesson from a few 4 and 5 star neighbors in the same area. Would not stay here again due to so many choices for the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YCDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I have planned my trip to venice very well, I kept researching for a good hotel. I made reservation at another hotel in the beginning, but as I find out that water taxi's are expensive, I decided to go with an expensive hotel as I will be paying a lot for taxi's to get St Marco. The private water taxi to any hotel is 110 Euros from the airport. Any water taxi especially from the Lido area were my previous reservation was is more than 50 Euros one way. There is almost nothing to do in free time other than sip a latte at St. Marco thats why your hotel should be in that area. The hotel is in perfect perfect location. Probably the only hotel on the water front as close. The hotel is small, rooms are small but fascinating is only word that can describe it. Do not expect a big hotel with many services, but expect the perfect service with the best breakfast view. I stayed for 3 nights from 23-26th of May. Free Wifi, Very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Almost all rooms are small, those who prefer to wake up on the Canal view should request it. But the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naser D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Arriving straight to the front entrance of the hotel by water taxi was a good start: no dragging heavy luggage along the streets here. Reception was friendly and efficient and a porter took my case to my room and showed me in - a point of good service sadly lacking in many hotels these days.

My room was superb: a very comfortable double bedroom beautifully furnished in traditional Venetian style, with all the facilities I wanted. The bathroom was especially good, with a deep bathtub and a good powerful shower over it, and marble from floor to ceiling. Everything was in good repair and kept spotlessly clean throughout my stay. The Wi-Fi was efficient and much appreciated.

Arriving at lunchtime, I had lunch at the restaurant on the terrace overlooking the Grand Canal, which was a great start to the holiday. The food was excellent: plentiful, hot and tasty, while the service was perfect: attentive but not intrusive. The waiters were efficient and very well-turned-out in white jackets and bow ties.

The public areas of the hotel are beautiful, with the reception area in tasteful contemporary decor and the function rooms upstairs being worthy of a visit in their own right, with original decoration including renaissance paintings on the ceilings.

The central location of the hotel, just metres from St. Mark's Square and on the Grand Canal, was very convenient for sightseeing and shopping, and the concierges were very helpful and knowledgable about sights, entertainment and travel in the city. They really made everything very easy, and were very efficient and friendly, taking on the booking of concert tickets for me and arranging a courtesy water taxi to the island of Murano to visit one of the glass factories.

This is not a cheap hotel, but you get what you pay for and Venice is not a cheap city. Given the excellent quality of the hotel and the excellent service provided by all the staff, I think the value for money is very good.

In summary, this superb hotel contributed in a big way to my enjoyment of a fantastic holiday. I would like to thank all the staff, and I hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

It was our first trip to Venice, and the hotel was the perfect hotel to stay on the bay and in the middle of everything, small rooms, but nice place, decent restaurant, the bar kind of Ok a bit to small.

People were nice and all the shopping you need next to the hotel, many stores

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avicultura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Everything about this hotel was grand from the location to the staff. Having breakfast overlooking the Grand Canal was a movie moment. Very close to Saint Mark's Square and the Doge's Palace, Bridge of Sighs and the Clock Tower.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbug32349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#52 of 385 in Venice
1,588 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Hotel
Bauer Hotel
#76 of 385 in Venice
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#70 of 385 in Venice
912 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Selvadego
Palazzo Selvadego
#159 of 385 in Venice
395 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal

Property: Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal
Address: San Marco 1332, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Venice
#58 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#98 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#126 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal are just a few steps from the famous St. Marks Square, ideal for guests who want to immerse themselves, inside the Venetian lifestyle. The 99 guest rooms including 7 suites overlooking the Grand Canal, are all elegantly decorated. Baroque and minimalism meet up in a perfect harmony. In the Grand Canal Terrace Restaurant which overlooks the Grand Canal, the guest can admire a majestic views and enjoy freshness of seafood and vegetable that are so essential to local specialities. In this top class ambience you really feel almost at home. The events section of the Hotel is realised in the recent adjoined Palazzo Dandolo, which became famous as the world’s first casino. Today there offer a very special space for organisations of events like Wedding, Gala Dinner, Conferences and meetings from 10 to 600 guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco And Grand Canal
Hotel Monaco Grand Canal
Monaco Grand Canal Hotel
Monaco Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing