We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you can afford it, this is the place to stay in Venezia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal
Ranked #90 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Perfect location for everything you need in Venice. Sensational Concierge that never got tired of our constant requests. Outstanding breakfast buffet with Prosecco :)

Great room with free Wifi.

Expensive, but definitely worth the money in a very pricey town.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank kiwi089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

540 - 546 of 1,512 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

Great location and i was always able to find my way back through the confusing streets of Venice. The staff were fantastic, allowed me to have a late check out and recommended some great places to eat. I'll definitely stay there again. Cheers!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Besides the phenomenal location and the fast free internet, the whole hotel is average. The rooms are average as is the breakfast.

On major complaint is the linen on the beds. It has to be the worst and most uncomfortable linen I have slept on. It feels like getting into a hessian bag!! For a 4 star hotel, this is unacceptable

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank shaunb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for our visit to old Venice. The best part is the hotel is in walking distance of all the shops and Restaurants. The hotel is very old but well kept up . We had a room overlooking the main canal. I think for the area this is probably one of the best Hotels around. We had lunch at their cafe overlooking the water. One of the best and most expensive lunches we had in Italy. Ha Ha I guess the cost of the view was worked into the prices. Yes it was worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rubitron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

we Stayed there 4the 1st time.Just stayed 3 nights in this hotel and the location is brilliant. Its only 2 minutes walk to St Marks Sq, 5 mins walk to La Fenice theatre and you get a beautiful view of the Grand canal.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikhil705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We've stayed here several times over the last 25 years, and it's never disappointed. Post refit it has a boutique hotel feel, with lovely breakfast/restaurant views over the Grand Canal and fantastic outdoor tables in Spring and Summer. Standard rooms are a bit cramped but the upper floor Grand Canal view suites are lovely. Staff knowledgeable and helpful. San Marco is round the corner and the Accademia 10 minutes walk, can't ask for a better location.

Room Tip: Go for an upper floor Grand Canal view suite if you can.
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Spinoccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Just stayed 3 nights in this hotel and the location is brilliant. Its only 2 minutes walk to St Marks Sq, 5 mins walk to La Fenice theatre and you get a beautiful view of the Grand canal. The rooms are quite small but it didnt bother us as Venice is such a beautiful place that you would hardly want to spend in your room.

We booked the shared transfers via venicelink (only 38Euros pp for return) and the watertaxi drops you right outside the hotel and pick you from the hotel too. You can get a complimentary boat ride (including return) from the hotel to the Murano glass factory. It runs every half an hour from 9am.

Overall this is a beautiful hotel with a location you cant beat! The hotel also has a big umbrella in every room (incase you forget to pack an umbrella in the winter).

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripty_carpenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#61 of 385 in Venice
1,665 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#77 of 385 in Venice
2,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Palazzo Selvadego
Palazzo Selvadego
#161 of 385 in Venice
406 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal

Address: San Marco 1332, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Venice
#87 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#97 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $163 - $772 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal are just a few steps from the famous St. Marks Square, ideal for guests who want to immerse themselves, inside the Venetian lifestyle. The 92 guest rooms including 7 suites overlooking the Grand Canal, are all elegantly decorated. Baroque and minimalism meet up in a perfect harmony. In the Grand Canal Terrace Restaurant which overlooks the Grand Canal, the guest can admire a majestic views and enjoy freshness of seafood and vegetable that are so essential to local specialities. In this top class ambience you really feel almost at home. The events section of the Hotel is realised in the recent adjoined Palazzo Dandolo, which became famous as the world’s first Casino. Today it is a very special space for events like Weddings, Gala Dinner, Conferences and Meetings from 10 to 600 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco And Grand Canal
Hotel Monaco Grand Canal
Monaco Grand Canal Hotel
Monaco Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing