We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal
Ranked #89 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel great location”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, clean and great service. The outdoor restaurant and seating area is absolutely fantastic. The food is excellent and the local wines are delicious - it's on the expensive side for some costs but a super location and helpful staff make it worthwhile

Enjoy!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 6BD6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    428
    134
    66
    43
See reviews for
217
666
60
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We attended an event hosted by the Grand Hotel and stayed for four days. The service was excellent, the front of house and service staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel was superb for first timers like us in Venice and I always thought that the waiting staff were going out of their way to make everyone's stay memorable. The breakfast was superb, we didn't take any other meals in the hotel so I can't comment on that. We would definitely return again!

Room Tip: Thirty seconds walk from the main San Marco water bus stop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indietraveller187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This being our first trip to Europe and first city we loved our stay. Great staff, good breakfast, wonderful location and a really nice accommodation with a king size bed, lots of storage and great bathroom. We could not have been happier. The weather was beautiful and sitting on the outside patio deck on the canal for breakfast was like a dream. We would stay here again if we go back to Venice. The only downside was a very expensive lunch at the hotel. Hope to go back!

Room Tip: Quiet rooms in the back. No view but you are outside all the time anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary1wag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our 2nd stay in this hotel where the employees are of outstanding efficiency and gentleness. The restaurant is also "nec plus ultra" and prices are reasonable. We will certainly redo

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Jocelyne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We arrived on 20 Oct 13 and left on the 22nd, using the water taxis. From visiting Venice before, we knew its excellent location, only 5 minutes from Piazza San Marco. It has an inviting lobby area, with two elevators right across from the main desk/concierge. The rooms were a bit smaller, but it did have a good sized marble covered bathroom. Breakfasts and dinners were good, a point above average hotel food. i had the occasion to ask for directions, and assistance from the concierge, and they were very helpful. Location, Location, Location.

Room Tip: All the rooms that our group had seemed ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a stay at the Monaco & Grand Canal where we celebrated my parents' 50th Wedding Anniversary. I can't fault this hotel in any way. The service was excellent, the staff really went beyond the call of duty to make everything wonderful. The location is excellent just on the waterfront with a vaporetto stop just outside it.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vjagga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

As a small group company, we spend many days in each year in some of the best 4- & 5-Star hotels in the world. The Monaco Grand fits that bill for location and atmosphere, but not in room quality. Our stay in this hotel was a good one, service, location, meals were all fine and the well travelled group as a whole liked the hotel. The hotel could not be better for location, it is literally a 3 minute walk from San Marco and also VERY convenient for Gondola's and transport boats to the airport and other areas of Venice. It has a stunning view on the Grand Canal and a beautiful
deck with a near postcard atmosphere. The Monaco Grand suffers from just one problem that we have seen before, you enter an amazing hotel lobby with stunning atmosphere and then arrive in your room to find it dated and a little worn. This is a classic example of too much easy business, so why bother updating the rooms. Venice is not like Paris, a lot of people only go once in their lives to Venice, then retreat to other places in Italy that are less crowded and easier on the pocket book. The Monaco and Grand Canal is a good stay in Venice, but it could be great with a little attention to detail on the accommodation.

Room Tip: Only some rooms face the Grand Canal, more are courtyard or side street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M_Stewart68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#51 of 385 in Venice
1,588 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Hotel
Bauer Hotel
#76 of 385 in Venice
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#70 of 385 in Venice
918 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Selvadego
Palazzo Selvadego
#158 of 385 in Venice
395 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal

Property: Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal
Address: San Marco 1332, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Venice
#58 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#98 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#126 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal are just a few steps from the famous St. Marks Square, ideal for guests who want to immerse themselves, inside the Venetian lifestyle. The 99 guest rooms including 7 suites overlooking the Grand Canal, are all elegantly decorated. Baroque and minimalism meet up in a perfect harmony. In the Grand Canal Terrace Restaurant which overlooks the Grand Canal, the guest can admire a majestic views and enjoy freshness of seafood and vegetable that are so essential to local specialities. In this top class ambience you really feel almost at home. The events section of the Hotel is realised in the recent adjoined Palazzo Dandolo, which became famous as the world’s first casino. Today there offer a very special space for organisations of events like Wedding, Gala Dinner, Conferences and meetings from 10 to 600 guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco And Grand Canal
Hotel Monaco Grand Canal
Monaco Grand Canal Hotel
Monaco Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing