We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal
Ranked #90 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I browsed online pics of this hotel before I left for Italy. My single room didn't look as nice as I had imagined. It was OK but not as nice as the online pics. The baseboard that was sort of 'tacked' onto the wall was separating, giving us a clear view of debris caught in between. WiFi availability in the room was inconsistent. I went thru three different passwords, each time having to trek down to the front desk to retrieve a new one. The concierge and front desk were very nice and helpful. Beautiful lobby.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alidoremi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabrieleMarchiori, Direttore at Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

i thank you very much for your comments which give me the opportunity to improve the guest satisfaction. As far as the wifi connection is concerned, we provided Tuesday to check all the wifi connections and now everything seems to be ok.

As far as the room is concerned , surely you stayed in one room on the modern part. these kind of rooms have the baseboard not attached to the wall as for designer choice.

i really do hope to seeing you again here at the Monaco.

Sincerely yours,

Gabriele Marchiori, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

616 - 622 of 1,482 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

A perfect place to stay in Venice, at a walking distance (2 minutes) to Piazza San Marco and just in front of a "vaporetto" stop. Very efficient and kind staff. The rooms could be small as for an international ranking but it depends on the fact that it is a very old building

Room Tip: Ask for a room in front of the "Canal Grande" in order to have a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adrew824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabrieleMarchiori, Direttore at Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

I thank you very much for your comments and for the nice words regarding our staff.
Yes, you are wright. Our building is very old! It seems that it was built at the end of the 15th century! At the beginning it was a fisherman's house, then private house at only in the middle of 19th century a hotel. This regards the front part of the building. The internal one was the first Casino in the World (1638 year). Giacomo Casona considered this place the ideal backdrop for his conquests. The recent restoration has managed to revive, with a contemporary feel the atmosphere of this historic building...

Hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you again!

Gabriele Marchiori, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My friend and I stayed here on a girly short break this spring and were really impressed with the hotel. We were greeted by name on arrival by the efficient and friendly reception staff. We love the Concierge who knows everything about everything. We were offered a free speedboat service (return) to a glass blowing factory and showroom on Murano, which was really good (but items way beyond our budget). We loved breakfast where the choice was excellent. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel but understand it has a fantastic reputation. Rooms are small but really comfortable and the service is exemplary. We had great weather and took tea on the terrace watching the gondoliers strut their stuff on the Grand Canal. Perfect. Only drawback was that we forgot our designer sunglasses...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabrieleMarchiori, Direttore at Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guest,
I thank you very much for your last visit to our hotel.
Our major aim is always to render our Guest's stay at the Monaco & Grand Canal the most pleasant and memorable.
I really to hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you again.

Gabriele Marchiori, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I spent one rainy, cold night in Venice on a whim, a quick trip from Tuscany. I made reservations at the Palazzo Selvadego, affiliated with the Hotel Monaco, but was upgraded to stay at the Monaco. What a wonderful treat -- the room was small but elegant, the bathroom, bed linens, and furnishings all great, the hotel staff friendly and accommodating, the location superb. An excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NomadForNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabrieleMarchiori, Direttore at Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear Guest,
I thank you very much for your comments. Our major aim is to render the guest stay the most pleasant and comfortable. When we have rooms available at the Monaco & Grand Canal, sometimes we provide to upgrade our guests from Palazzo Selvadego to the hotel Monaco.

Hope to have the opportunity see you again in our properties.

Sincerely Yours,
Gabriele Marchiori, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Me and my husband have just recently returned from a stay at hotel monaco. We loved it, room was a little small for a double but everything in venice is small. Great loaction near designer shops and san marco and a few minutes walk from rialto market!! Food in the restaurant was fantastic and the service was great!! The barman was excellent, really friendly and enjoyed a bit of a laugh!!. Excellent view from the front of the hotel, we will return!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabrieleMarchiori, Direttore at Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear Guests,

I just read your comments. I thank you very much. Our bar is considered a meeting point and the restaurant is frequented by the Venetians, too.
I really to hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at the Monaco & Grand Canal.

Sincerely yours,
Gabriele Marchiori, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed at the Monaco and grand hotel in Oct 2012 ,as the hotel I wanted to stay in had closed for redecoration. I really found this hotel by chance and it was a nice surprise, the staff were nice and the managers very welcoming and helpful the reception and concierge are lovely and any problem they will try and sort out, as iam disabled guest finding that they had a lovely ,large accessiable wheelchair room with a nice cream and marble wet room ,with handrails and call buttons, the room had good turning space and so do the lifts to get into, its unfortunate that if you are a wheelchair user in venice the only rooms you can get a motorized wheelchair in are at least 500 _900euros as you have to take a double room to fit the wheelchair in, so the monaco are looking after their disabled guests by making accessiable rooms affordable, the hotel is in a good location on the grand canal with a lovely terrace that you can get a wheelchair onto ,and the waiters were very helpful nice and caring ,welcoming ,moving chairs for me to get near the table,if you use the side entrence that takes you out into the side streets that lead you right into st marks square ,so to sum up,yes venice can be done in a motorized wheelchair ,there are problems but the sfaff are very helpful, you are restricted to the square and the streets off are flat for the chair, but the bridges that take you to other parts are impossiable, and the ones with lifts dont work, but the stress of such a beautiful old city are worth it, when you get to the lovely terrace of the monaco and grand canal and look at the beautiful santa maria church, i forget iam in a wheelchair ,,well done to the monaco and grand canal ,you got it right for your disabled guests,i look forward to my stay in october.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellaveneto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have been to Venice a few times now and always try to stay at a different hotel. We stayed here in 2007 and have fond memories of that visit. I found a brilliant deal through Trivago which is why we decided to stay here again.
I thought things were even better this time. The hotel is immaculate which is commendable becuase it is in such a prime location. For out of season travel, the location cannot be beaten. Seconds away from the Vaporetto stop and a few minutes from the airport boat
The staff is very friendly and check in and out was very efficient. The rooms are a bit on the small side but I assume they would not put their best rooms out on Trivago etc. Good bathroom but my wife did find the matress too firm for her taste.
Breakfast was a good buffet overlooking the Grand Canal.
Tip: Whenever possible take the Orange Alilaguna service to the airport. It is a shorter journey in a more comfortable boat on a more scenic route. Unfortunately it only serves the stop close to the hotel in the middle of the day. Not suitable for a late arrival or early departure. Mabe the service would be better in higher season. Also remember that they announce two San Marco stops on the Blue service. You want the second one for this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shakyjowls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#60 of 384 in Venice
1,637 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#78 of 384 in Venice
2,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Palazzo Selvadego
Palazzo Selvadego
#163 of 384 in Venice
398 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#81 of 384 in Venice
1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal

Address: San Marco 1332, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Venice
#58 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#97 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#125 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $181 - $825 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal are just a few steps from the famous St. Marks Square, ideal for guests who want to immerse themselves, inside the Venetian lifestyle. The 92 guest rooms including 7 suites overlooking the Grand Canal, are all elegantly decorated. Baroque and minimalism meet up in a perfect harmony. In the Grand Canal Terrace Restaurant which overlooks the Grand Canal, the guest can admire a majestic views and enjoy freshness of seafood and vegetable that are so essential to local specialities. In this top class ambience you really feel almost at home. The events section of the Hotel is realised in the recent adjoined Palazzo Dandolo, which became famous as the world’s first Casino. Today it is a very special space for events like Weddings, Gala Dinner, Conferences and Meetings from 10 to 600 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco And Grand Canal
Hotel Monaco Grand Canal
Monaco Grand Canal Hotel
Monaco Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing