We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a night of comfort and pleasant luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal
Ranked #84 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Rishikesh
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a night of comfort and pleasant luxury”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I spent one rainy, cold night in Venice on a whim, a quick trip from Tuscany. I made reservations at the Palazzo Selvadego, affiliated with the Hotel Monaco, but was upgraded to stay at the Monaco. What a wonderful treat -- the room was small but elegant, the bathroom, bed linens, and furnishings all great, the hotel staff friendly and accommodating, the location superb. An excellent hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomadForNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabrieleMarchiori, Direttore at Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
I thank you very much for your comments. Our major aim is to render the guest stay the most pleasant and comfortable. When we have rooms available at the Monaco & Grand Canal, sometimes we provide to upgrade our guests from Palazzo Selvadego to the hotel Monaco.

Hope to have the opportunity see you again in our properties.

Sincerely Yours,
Gabriele Marchiori, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    420
    130
    64
    43
See reviews for
212
654
59
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Me and my husband have just recently returned from a stay at hotel monaco. We loved it, room was a little small for a double but everything in venice is small. Great loaction near designer shops and san marco and a few minutes walk from rialto market!! Food in the restaurant was fantastic and the service was great!! The barman was excellent, really friendly and enjoyed a bit of a laugh!!. Excellent view from the front of the hotel, we will return!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabrieleMarchiori, Direttore at Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guests,

I just read your comments. I thank you very much. Our bar is considered a meeting point and the restaurant is frequented by the Venetians, too.
I really to hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at the Monaco & Grand Canal.

Sincerely yours,
Gabriele Marchiori, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed at the Monaco and grand hotel in Oct 2012 ,as the hotel I wanted to stay in had closed for redecoration. I really found this hotel by chance and it was a nice surprise, the staff were nice and the managers very welcoming and helpful the reception and concierge are lovely and any problem they will try and sort out, as iam disabled guest finding that they had a lovely ,large accessiable wheelchair room with a nice cream and marble wet room ,with handrails and call buttons, the room had good turning space and so do the lifts to get into, its unfortunate that if you are a wheelchair user in venice the only rooms you can get a motorized wheelchair in are at least 500 _900euros as you have to take a double room to fit the wheelchair in, so the monaco are looking after their disabled guests by making accessiable rooms affordable, the hotel is in a good location on the grand canal with a lovely terrace that you can get a wheelchair onto ,and the waiters were very helpful nice and caring ,welcoming ,moving chairs for me to get near the table,if you use the side entrence that takes you out into the side streets that lead you right into st marks square ,so to sum up,yes venice can be done in a motorized wheelchair ,there are problems but the sfaff are very helpful, you are restricted to the square and the streets off are flat for the chair, but the bridges that take you to other parts are impossiable, and the ones with lifts dont work, but the stress of such a beautiful old city are worth it, when you get to the lovely terrace of the monaco and grand canal and look at the beautiful santa maria church, i forget iam in a wheelchair ,,well done to the monaco and grand canal ,you got it right for your disabled guests,i look forward to my stay in october.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellaveneto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
141 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have been to Venice a few times now and always try to stay at a different hotel. We stayed here in 2007 and have fond memories of that visit. I found a brilliant deal through Trivago which is why we decided to stay here again.
I thought things were even better this time. The hotel is immaculate which is commendable becuase it is in such a prime location. For out of season travel, the location cannot be beaten. Seconds away from the Vaporetto stop and a few minutes from the airport boat
The staff is very friendly and check in and out was very efficient. The rooms are a bit on the small side but I assume they would not put their best rooms out on Trivago etc. Good bathroom but my wife did find the matress too firm for her taste.
Breakfast was a good buffet overlooking the Grand Canal.
Tip: Whenever possible take the Orange Alilaguna service to the airport. It is a shorter journey in a more comfortable boat on a more scenic route. Unfortunately it only serves the stop close to the hotel in the middle of the day. Not suitable for a late arrival or early departure. Mabe the service would be better in higher season. Also remember that they announce two San Marco stops on the Blue service. You want the second one for this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shakyjowls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We have just spent four nights in this hotel which is in an ideal central location on the Grand Canal next to San Marco Piazza. Water buses and gondolas are available just outside the door. The hotel is very impressive inside with large reception areas filled with paintings and beautiful Venetian glassware. Our room was very well appointed and beds very comfortable. Housekeeping everywhere was of a very high standard. All the staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. The buffet breakfast, with an excellent choice of fresh fruit, meats, cheeses, breads and pastries as well as hot dishes, was served in the restaurant overlooking the lagoon and it was fascinating to watch all that was going by. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel, were very well looked after, and would certainly wish to stay there again on any further visits to Venice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarkese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Disappointed by the lack of charm on front desk. Be warned that housekeeping can continue well into the afternoon. First room offered was very gloomy with bathroom door ill fitting. Decor complete mish mash in public areas. BUT good location for vaporetti. Breakfast very poor quality...would not go back to this rather corporate hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a modem room and quiet
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabrieleMarchiori, Direttore generale at Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you very much for your comments, which give me the opporunity to improve our services as our major aim is always render our guest's stay the most pleasant.

Gabriele Marchiori, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend in March 2013. Having not been to Venice before, the situation was absolutely perfect, right next to San Marco Square and possibly a 10 minute walk from Rialto Bridge. Being right on the Grand Canal made the water boat transfer extremely easy, and although we arrived at 11.00am, we were shown immediately to our room.
The staff were attentive in every way and made our stay extremely enjoyable. The choices offered at breakfast were excellent, and again plenty of staff always on hand.
The room was slightly small, but having read that most of the rooms in Venice are such, we were expecting that. However, the fresh linen sheets every day made up for that, and the room itself was beautifully decorated, with an excellent bathroom.
All in all we could not fault this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100Laura93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
San Marco
Bauer Hotel
Bauer Hotel
#74 of 385 in Venice
1,532 reviews
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#49 of 385 in Venice
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#69 of 385 in Venice
892 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Selvadego
Palazzo Selvadego
#157 of 385 in Venice
392 reviews
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal

Property: Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal
Address: San Marco 1332, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Venice
#55 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#98 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#126 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal are just a few steps from the famous St. Marks Square, ideal for guests who want to immerse themselves, inside the Venetian lifestyle. The 99 guest rooms including 7 suites overlooking the Grand Canal, are all elegantly decorated. Baroque and minimalism meet up in a perfect harmony. In the Grand Canal Terrace Restaurant which overlooks the Grand Canal, the guest can admire a majestic views and enjoy freshness of seafood and vegetable that are so essential to local specialities. In this top class ambience you really feel almost at home. The events section of the Hotel is realised in the recent adjoined Palazzo Dandolo, which became famous as the world’s first casino. Today there offer a very special space for organisations of events like Wedding, Gala Dinner, Conferences and meetings from 10 to 600 guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco And Grand Canal
Hotel Monaco Grand Canal
Monaco Grand Canal Hotel
Monaco Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing