We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience and very real”
Review of Ca' Macana

Ca' Macana
Ranked #3 of 302 Shopping in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Buy your mask for the next Venetian festival at this shop, which specializes in the traditional Commedia dell'arte, as well as Venetian styles.
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great experience and very real”
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Booked at late notice - very friendly and helpful and totally authentic - not a contrived experience. Did the 2 hour workshop, with the benefit of guided creativity, that gave freedom To create within some carefully defined " templates" - the results were very satisfying for all of us, from 7 to 50! Would recommend strongly

Helpful?
Thank J Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    75
    14
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You HAVE to do this in Venice”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We came here with two kids (age 6 and 8) and had an absolute blast. We paid for the 1 hour class, thinking that the little ones wouldn't be able to handle the 2 hour class, and had a great time. The instruction was mostly in Italian, but we were able to understand what was being said and they tried to explain so in English. It was a great hour, the journey to get there is fun and it's not hard to find, and if you didn't bring enough cash with you, the ATM isn't far away (learned from personal experience).

Many people will go to Venice and buy a mask, take this class, and make your own.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Myke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
425 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and interesting”
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed learning about the fascinsting history of masks in Venice. I had lived in Italy for a year, 30 years ago but had never heard about the long history of wearing and making masks in Venice. If you have the money, the 2 hour class is fascinating but come in a group of 4-6 to split the 322 euro fee. With the help of our instructor, our masks looked very professional.

Helpful?
2 Thank MakatiJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Place to go for masks”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Easy to find across the Grand Canal and some of the most beautiful masks in a city of many shops. The costs are very reasonable but take them with you as the shipping costs are outrageous They are signed and made in Venice which you always have to check for.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jmmillburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful mask shop, well worth the search!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

On our last day, we returned to this shop in Dorsodouro, and my 17year old son spent a lovely time choosing his mask. He wanted a traditional mask, but was spoilt for choice. Next time we are in Venice we will definitely make time to visit their workshop. After wrapping the mask ready for travel I commented to the lady in the shop how would be the best way to hang the mask on the wall. She didn't hesitate to unwrap the mask, put a suitable hook on the back of the mask to hang and some fishing thread to hang it. All with a smile. Makes such a difference!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ca' Macana also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ca' Macana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing