We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Place to Return To”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of la chicca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
la chicca
Ranked #104 of 468 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“A Place to Return To”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

For the week of my visit to Venice the B&B had no vacancy, so I opted for the apartment offered by Sabrina. Very comfortable accommodation in a Great location on Campo San Stefano in the San Marco area. Close walking distance to many wonderful sights in Venice. I will very likely return to this apartment on my next visit to Venice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank GaryH919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
116
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
264 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We chose to stay at the flat owned by La Chicca in the San Marco area and were really happy with our choice. It was right over a small market that had all the necessary ingredients for a full meal. The flat was very clean, there were two double sized bed and a washing machine. The kitchen was small, but well equipped. The location was perfect! It was within 15 minutes walking distance to San Marco Square, it was right beside the Dell Academia bridge, and within 5 minutes walk to two vaporetto stops on two different lines. One of the stops also happens to be a Alilaguna stop, which is perfect if you are flying in or out of Venice. It is also right beside the San Vidal Church, in case you wanted to do something really touristy, such as listen to Vivaldi's Four seasons performed by Interpreti Veneziani.

Our only complaint was the temperature of the shower. It fluctuated way more than expected. In the end, I decided to take cold showers rather than risk having scalding hot water at an unexpected time. I didn't mind it as the weather was hot when we were there.

Aside from the shower, everything else was perfect and we were very happy with our stay! Sabrina was also extremely helpful since our very first interaction and I would not hesitate to book with her again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Sabrina and Massimo are the best hosts! The apartment we rented for two weeks was the best, large rooms, big kitchen and deep tub! We looked at 4-5 star hotels and they could not compare with the value of Sabrina and Massimo's apartment. Practically every evening before turning in, we would stop at the corner cafe form a night cap and people watch . A 2 minute walk, without bridges, brings you to bus boat stop and we were able to visit all of Venice from this location. I would highly recomend staying here when visiting Venice .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FRANK R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We just got home from two fantastic weeks in Italy in June 2013. We began our trip at La Chicca B&B in Venice, a perfect place to start. First, Massimo and Sabrina are excellent hosts, who make you feel like family. They are both extremely welcoming, warm and helpful. Massimo made the best cappuccino that we had in all of Italy, (and we had a lot of cappuccino!). They made my daughter's 15th birthday very memorable with a special breakfast party, and Sabrina was nice enough to mail the camera battery charger that I accidentally left plugged in the wall, to me in Rome. The rooms were large very clean and well appointed with beautiful furnishings. The breakfasts were awesome with many fresh pastries, delicious juices and yogurts as well as the cappuccino! The location is great. In a nice quiet neighborhood that is a short walk to St Marks. We even joined in on the local Festa Di San Vio one evening with great food and music.
The city of Venice itself is unique, mysterious and stunning. Hopefully, we will be able to return some day and if we do, we will definitely be returning to La Chicca. Thanks very much Sabrina and Massimo for everything!

Room Tip: We had the room at the front with two big windows on the small side street. I would highly recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExplorerJude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
156 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I wish I could give this a 10 star. Sabrina and Massimo have a charming, tastefully decorated B&B and I have to rave about the best breakfasts we had in all of our stays in Italy. Fresh pastries, yogurts to choose from, fresh juices, etc. but this is what tops it all. Massimo's cappuccino!!
MMMMM....Wish I had one now!
We had a wonderful three nights in this beautiful city and staying in the neighborhood of Dorsoduro was a ideal choice. Great restaurants and seeing locals enjoying life! Even got involved with a local church festival!
Sabrina and Massimo did everything they could to make our stay a great memory from recommending restaurants and even tips for Rome! Thanks Massimo! The Pizza we had in Rome at the restaurant you suggested was the best EVER! That is what our 16 year old grandson said.
To those who check out trip advisor? If you stay here you will be pleased like us. We LOVED our comfortable cozy room! A perfect B&B to perfect hosts in Sabrina and Massimo! We'd love to come back to Venice someday and would ONLY stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borntotravelOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

You will not be disappointed if you stay at La Chicca - the rooms are large, very clean, extremely comfortable and the owners incredibly friendly.

We had a fantastic 4 days at La Chicca and a can't think of enough superlatives to describe it!!

There's only one place to stay in Venice and La Chicca is it!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnTourCVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

This little B & B in a convenient location in Venice is charming. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the amenities are very nice. It was very quiet:-) The included breakfast is very substantial - with fresh pastries and rolls, cereal, juice, and yogurt. Massimo makes a wonderful cappuccino and he and Sabrina are delightful hosts who gave us very helpful tips about restaurants, transportation, gondola rides, sightseeing, etc. We would definitely stay with them again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' Zose
Locanda Ca' Zose
#146 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
San Marco
Morettino
Morettino
#90 of 468 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' del Brocchi
Locanda Ca' del Brocchi
#129 of 468 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
B&B Dorsoduro 461
B&B Dorsoduro 461
#194 of 468 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Castello
B&B Laguna724
B&B Laguna724
#229 of 468 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Castello
Oceano Mare B&B
Oceano Mare B&B
#52 of 468 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to la chicca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about la chicca

Property: la chicca
Address: Calle Dei Franchi Dorsoduro 644 | Dorsoduro, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 468 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"La Chicca" is a traditional Venetian household very close to the main monuments and museums, such as Piazza S. Marco (S. Marco Square), Punta della Dogana (Venice Customs- currently hosting Pinault Fondation), Chiesa della Salute ("Health" Church), Gallerie dell'Accademia (Academy Galleries), Peggy Guggenheim Collection, just to mention few, and they are all easily reachable by walking. "La Chicca" is completely and carefully restored following ancient Venetian building techniques. Our rooms are all well equipped with every comfort: independent bathroom, independent air conditioning and heating, mini-bar, LCD-TV, Wi-Fi. At your waking in the morning, we will be happy to propose you a rich, typical breakfast, in order to best engage with your visit of wonderful Venice city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your la chicca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing