We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel & wonderful hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of la chicca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
la chicca
Ranked #97 of 466 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel & wonderful hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

This little B & B in a convenient location in Venice is charming. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the amenities are very nice. It was very quiet:-) The included breakfast is very substantial - with fresh pastries and rolls, cereal, juice, and yogurt. Massimo makes a wonderful cappuccino and he and Sabrina are delightful hosts who gave us very helpful tips about restaurants, transportation, gondola rides, sightseeing, etc. We would definitely stay with them again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
116
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Massimo and Sabrina are gracious and helpful hosts; their suggestions for restaurants and places to visit were very useful. Our room was elegant, clean, and very comfortable. The location of the B&B is ideal; it is in a quieter area of Venice but close to the main attractions. If we return to Venice someday (and I hope we will!), we will definitely stay here again. And I will recommend it to anyone I know who is going to Venice. Excellent!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

First, I must say that Sabrina and Massimo are fantastic hosts. We spent four nights at their B&B, and enjoyed it greatly. It was fun to talk with them during breakfast in the morning. Massimo makes a wonderful cappuccino (with chocolate sprinkled on top--a tasty touch) and we got to share our thoughts on the art they have on display. They gave us good advice for places to eat in the area, and provided us tickets for the Interpreti Veneziani concert, which saved us a walk.
The room--we stayed in the room named "Zorzi"--was huge. The main area had a couch, coffee table, two other chairs along with another smaller table, a closet, a table for your luggage, as well as our beds, and there was plenty of room to move around. The bathroom was large as well, and included a tub as well as a shower. The decorations were fantastic and the room was spotless.
The area was quiet, yet quite close to the major tourist areas. The Accademia vaporetto stop is less than five minutes away, from where you can get anywhere if you don't feel like walking. There are plenty of dining options available in the area, as well.
Overall, we had a great stay. I would definitely stay with Sabrina and Massimo again if I have the opportunity to return to Venice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at La Chicca in May 2013. The service is great, both Massimo and Sabrina are friendly and helpful, the room is very cute decorated and very clean. We particularly enjoyed the area of Dorsoduro which seems less busy with tourists than other areas like San Polo. There are also good museums and restaurants close by.

The breakfast is still the typical simple continental Italian breakfast but it was better than what we got at other B&Bs during our trip.

Camila & Lachlan

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CamilaHynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in April 2013 - wish we could have stayed longer! Massimo and Sabrina are fabulous hosts - very helpful with maps and restaurant ideas. Massimo earned my undying gratitude for carrying my suitcase up the stairs! This is an ideal location - near the vaporetto stop and across the canal from Piazza San Marco. I went out at 6:00 am to watch the sun rise over Venice, and was treated to watching it emerge from the rolling mists. This is a safe area, and very quiet at night. Our room was large by European standards, bathroom was immaculate and I fell in love with the scent of the toiletries - Prija. WiFi was good. Breakfast was amazing - Massimo made cappuchino each morning, and we were treated to the tarocco orange juice and some superb pastries. When we left, they even packed some to go for us! I definitely have to return, and wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank castlesara2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Owners Sabrina and Massimo were very helpful with tips about sightseeing, dining, and even places to purchase suddenly-needed items. Our room was quite large and well-appointed, and the breakfasts, while continental, were very satisfying. The neighborhood -- a stone's throw from the Academy and its namesake bridge -- was very appealing, particularly the range of shops, galleries, museums, and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRK5516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We spent two nights at La Chicca in March 2013, and we could not have been more thrilled with our stay. The location was perfect (just a short walk from the vaparetto station and a 10-15 minute walk to St. Mark's Square), and we were glad we opted to stay in Dorsoduro rather than on the main tourist drag. Sabrina and Massimo are wonderful hosts and we enjoyed hearing their perspective on life in Venice during breakfast. The room was decorated beautifully and we were particularly impressed with the large modern bathroom (great shower!). Breakfast was lovely and quite filling (the yogurt, granola, cappuccino, and fresh pastries were a highlight). Book early and stay at La Chicca!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' Zose
Locanda Ca' Zose
#145 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
San Marco
Morettino
Morettino
#89 of 466 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Castello
Oceano Mare B&B
Oceano Mare B&B
#67 of 466 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
La Porta D'Oriente B&B
La Porta D'Oriente B&B
#106 of 466 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Casa Accademia
Casa Accademia
#205 of 466 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' del Brocchi
Locanda Ca' del Brocchi
#118 of 466 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to la chicca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about la chicca

Property: la chicca
Address: Calle Dei Franchi Dorsoduro 644 | Dorsoduro, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 466 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"La Chicca" is a traditional Venetian household very close to the main monuments and museums, such as Piazza S. Marco (S. Marco Square), Punta della Dogana (Venice Customs- currently hosting Pinault Fondation), Chiesa della Salute ("Health" Church), Gallerie dell'Accademia (Academy Galleries), Peggy Guggenheim Collection, just to mention few, and they are all easily reachable by walking. "La Chicca" is completely and carefully restored following ancient Venetian building techniques. Our rooms are all well equipped with every comfort: independent bathroom, independent air conditioning and heating, mini-bar, LCD-TV, Wi-Fi. At your waking in the morning, we will be happy to propose you a rich, typical breakfast, in order to best engage with your visit of wonderful Venice city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your la chicca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing