We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is no better word than superb”
Review of la chicca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
la chicca
Ranked #103 of 469 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“There is no better word than superb”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in April 2013 - wish we could have stayed longer! Massimo and Sabrina are fabulous hosts - very helpful with maps and restaurant ideas. Massimo earned my undying gratitude for carrying my suitcase up the stairs! This is an ideal location - near the vaporetto stop and across the canal from Piazza San Marco. I went out at 6:00 am to watch the sun rise over Venice, and was treated to watching it emerge from the rolling mists. This is a safe area, and very quiet at night. Our room was large by European standards, bathroom was immaculate and I fell in love with the scent of the toiletries - Prija. WiFi was good. Breakfast was amazing - Massimo made cappuchino each morning, and we were treated to the tarocco orange juice and some superb pastries. When we left, they even packed some to go for us! I definitely have to return, and wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank castlesara2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
117
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Owners Sabrina and Massimo were very helpful with tips about sightseeing, dining, and even places to purchase suddenly-needed items. Our room was quite large and well-appointed, and the breakfasts, while continental, were very satisfying. The neighborhood -- a stone's throw from the Academy and its namesake bridge -- was very appealing, particularly the range of shops, galleries, museums, and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRK5516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We spent two nights at La Chicca in March 2013, and we could not have been more thrilled with our stay. The location was perfect (just a short walk from the vaparetto station and a 10-15 minute walk to St. Mark's Square), and we were glad we opted to stay in Dorsoduro rather than on the main tourist drag. Sabrina and Massimo are wonderful hosts and we enjoyed hearing their perspective on life in Venice during breakfast. The room was decorated beautifully and we were particularly impressed with the large modern bathroom (great shower!). Breakfast was lovely and quite filling (the yogurt, granola, cappuccino, and fresh pastries were a highlight). Book early and stay at La Chicca!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Lachicca for three nights and it was great. The room was spacious and absolutely spotless, the bath tub was a great bonus. The breakfast was perfect for a start to the day. Yogurt, fresh pastries, granola, toast, juice and coffee, tea or cappuccino. Massimo and Sabrina were great hosts and very helpful with tips for sightseeing and meals. The location is within easy walking distance to St. Marks, minutes from Accadamia and just around the corner from the public water transport. We would definitely recommend this B n B if you are staying in Venice.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank niko1721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

La Chicca is an exquisite B&B set on a tranquil part of Venice. The rooms are decorated with a lovely antique venetian style, and are very spacious and comfortable.
The place itself is amazing, but their owners, Sabrina and Massimo are the best part of it. Having breakfast with them each morning is a joyous experience, and a perfect opportunity to learn about the city and its history.
The location is near from a Vaporetto spot and to the Accademia bridge, and just 10 minutes away from Piazza San Marco.
We'll surely return in our next trip to Venice! In a few words, 100% recommendable!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Our family of 3 spent 4 lovely days at this apartment in April 2013. It was spotlessly clean, really central and so easy to get to, even when you are loaded down with too much luggage. Our host, Sabrina was amazing and answered all of our questions she even met us at the ferry stop and helped carry our bags! The apartment has everything you need. You can cook your meals or pop out to many restaurants and cafes just on your doorstep. The location of this apartment is outstanding with easy access to all major attractions. Sabrinas communication prior to our stay was always punctual and she kindly posted me the pashmina that I had left behind. We would highly recommend this apartment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Fabulous B&B in a wonderful quiet location within easy walking distance to all the main sites. We can`t rate this B&B highly enough and would recommend to all friends and family. We stayed for 3 nights in the most beautiful spacious beautifully decorated Venetian style room that felt like our own Palazzo. Sabrina and Massimo are wonderful hosts, very attentive and are so helpful in every way giving great tips on where to eat, places to take great photos, checking up time tables, various tips etc Breakfasts are very tasty with excellent coffees. The service is as good as a 5 star hotel but with that extra personal touch. The restaurants in the area are wonderful with excellent food these are where all the locals eat and not all the tourists. Dorsoduro is a great area to stay quiet and in our view the real Venice. If by chance we have the opportunity to come to Venice again we will definitely be staying at La Chicca again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' Zose
Locanda Ca' Zose
#153 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
San Marco
Guest House Morettino
Guest House Morettino
#76 of 469 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' del Brocchi
Locanda Ca' del Brocchi
#121 of 469 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
B&B Dorsoduro 461
B&B Dorsoduro 461
#177 of 469 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Castello
B&B Laguna724
B&B Laguna724
#208 of 469 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Castello
Oceano Mare B&B
Oceano Mare B&B
#59 of 469 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to la chicca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about la chicca

Property: la chicca
Address: Calle Dei Franchi Dorsoduro 644 | Dorsoduro, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 469 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"La Chicca" is a traditional Venetian household very close to the main monuments and museums, such as Piazza S. Marco (S. Marco Square), Punta della Dogana (Venice Customs- currently hosting Pinault Fondation), Chiesa della Salute ("Health" Church), Gallerie dell'Accademia (Academy Galleries), Peggy Guggenheim Collection, just to mention few, and they are all easily reachable by walking. "La Chicca" is completely and carefully restored following ancient Venetian building techniques. Our rooms are all well equipped with every comfort: independent bathroom, independent air conditioning and heating, mini-bar, LCD-TV, Wi-Fi. At your waking in the morning, we will be happy to propose you a rich, typical breakfast, in order to best engage with your visit of wonderful Venice city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your la chicca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing