We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved this place...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of la chicca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
la chicca
Ranked #96 of 466 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We loved this place...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

Rooms were large, very clean. Breakfast was a delight every morning and the owners were more than accomodating. Make sure to explore Dusodoro - worth the walk around.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
116
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

What more could you want from a B&B? Firstly, the booking process via email was very efficient and stress free. Sabrina was very accommodating about our delayed arrival and extremely welcoming. The location is perfect, nice quiet back street, easy to find and within walking distance of everything. The room was very large, immaculately clean and the bed was comfy. Breakfast was fine and a really useful part of the day because we got to grill the owners on where to eat etc. We only stayed a few days but were made to feel like friends and would love to return soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HermioneYule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens FL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

I've been to Venice on five prior occasions, probably my favorite City in Europe. On prior trips have stayed at some of the finest hotels (Bauer &Laconda Vivaldi) so this trip staying at a B & B (which I have never done before) was a concern. My concerns were unfounded. First the negatives. Sabrina's directions from the Valpereto stop to the B&B could have been clearer. If steps are an issue (you have to go over a small bridge and the rooms are one fight up) do go. In fact probably should not go to Venice as you really have to do steps everywhere. That said, La Chicca is in a wonderful location, less than five minutes from the Academia and the Academia bridge on a quiet street. The rooms are perfect, large, comfortable and clean. Our hosts, Sabrina & Massimo are helpful and wonderful. The breakfasts are fine. In general a wonderful experience which we will do again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickeygott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

Nice rooms and good amenities in the room - hairdryer, wifi, etc. Breakfast could have been better - some eggs, maybe would have been a nice counterpoint to all the sweet pastries on offer. Also the kitchen was off limits - access to a microwave and a kettle would have made the "treat this like your own place" experience better.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mydma3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osnabruck, Germany
Level Contributor
95 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

This was one of the best b&b´s, we´ve ever been.

The owners were very friendly. They heped us a lot with recommendations, reservations, etc.

The room was nice (typical venetian style), with a lot of space and it was very clean. Breakfast was good (you don´t have to expect cheese or cold meat for breakfast in Italy).

The location in dorsoduro is perfect in the middle many attractions.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krv0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

My wife and I stayed with Sabrina & Massimo for four nights in October 2011, and we wholeheartedly agree with the many positive reviews on TripAdvisor. The location, in Dorsoduro, is ideal--less than a five-minute walk from the Academia stop on the Vaporetto, and very close to the Peggy Guggenheim Collection. We very much enjoyed staying in this particular area of town--quieter than San Marco, but right next door, and very close to a number of outstanding restaurants. The B&B is lovely--very spacious rooms. But what really makes the experience is the inkeepers. Sabrina & Massimo are great fun, and really genuinely warm people. They made our stay absolutely delightful. I should also say that La Chicca was a great value as well--very reasonably priced. I recommend La Chicca in the highest terms--just wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank USTraveler91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

Me and my Wife are in the middle of our 4 nights stay here. There are only 3 rooms in the B&B. They are very large too. Including a sofa. The bathrooms are also very large which is good for Italy. The place is run by Sanrina & Massimo a lovely couple who have already recommended to us a couple of great restaurants. The B&B is located at the southern tip of Dorsoduro. A couple of minutes walk from the Accedemia bridge & vaporetto stop on the Grand Canal. A 5 min walk in the opposite direction brings you to Zattere Vaporetto stop on the lagoon side of Venice where you can catch the boat to all the surrounding islands. Here also is a lovely street lined with restaurants. San Marco is only a 10 minute walk away also. All in all we couldn't have stayed in a better location.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2upfront
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' Zose
Locanda Ca' Zose
#146 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
San Marco
Morettino
Morettino
#87 of 466 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Castello
Oceano Mare B&B
Oceano Mare B&B
#61 of 466 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
La Porta D'Oriente B&B
La Porta D'Oriente B&B
#113 of 466 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Casa Accademia
Casa Accademia
#207 of 466 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' del Brocchi
Locanda Ca' del Brocchi
#123 of 466 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to la chicca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about la chicca

Property: la chicca
Address: Calle Dei Franchi Dorsoduro 644 | Dorsoduro, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 466 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"La Chicca" is a traditional Venetian household very close to the main monuments and museums, such as Piazza S. Marco (S. Marco Square), Punta della Dogana (Venice Customs- currently hosting Pinault Fondation), Chiesa della Salute ("Health" Church), Gallerie dell'Accademia (Academy Galleries), Peggy Guggenheim Collection, just to mention few, and they are all easily reachable by walking. "La Chicca" is completely and carefully restored following ancient Venetian building techniques. Our rooms are all well equipped with every comfort: independent bathroom, independent air conditioning and heating, mini-bar, LCD-TV, Wi-Fi. At your waking in the morning, we will be happy to propose you a rich, typical breakfast, in order to best engage with your visit of wonderful Venice city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your la chicca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing