We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent concert in Vivaldi's church. No costumes, just really good music!”

Chiesa di Santa Maria della Pieta
Ranked #117 of 604 things to do in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1745 by architect Masaari, the façade of this church has a classical style, and is noted for the presence of Gian Battista Tiepolo's masterpieces, the "Fortezza e la Pace" and the "Trionfo delle Fede," which is painted on the ceiling.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent concert in Vivaldi's church. No costumes, just really good music!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

As musicians, my wife and I are always a little bit wary of the quality of concerts in tourist hotspots. However, there was no need to be wary here. Hearing the music of Vivaldi in the church for which the music was written, played by an excellent ensemble was a real treat. We could hear how the music really suited the acoustics of the church which was fascinating.

My wife is a violinist and she thought the soloist and whole ensemble were excellent players. The interpretation and ensemble playing were spot on.

If you like the music of Vivaldi and other baroque composers then a concert here is to be recommended. The only issue was that the seats in the church weren't the most comfortable. While our ears wanted the concert to be longer than 75 minutes, other parts of us did not!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank HAL11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    25
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Venician Musical Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and I noticed a poster at our hotel for a violin concert at Chiesa Di Antonio Vivaldi (Vivaldi's Church). We paid 25 euros each and enjoyed the evening immensely. Our favorite part of the evening was Le Quattro Stagioni (The Four Seasons). The accoustics were perfect and left us with a relaxed feeling as we exited the evening. I would recommend this to lovers of violin music. It's steps away from San Marco Plaza and overlooks the water. The setting is beautiful and intimate. It should be noted that this church is associated with Vivaldi and his young female ensemble. One could feel the spirits as his music played. It is definitely a treasured memory we will have of an evening in Venice.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Judi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Young Women's Chorus of San Francisco Tuesday July 2,2013 9pm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Come hear these angelic voices in the Chiesa Santa Maria Della Pieta... A must for music lovers...the girls are from 12 to 18 and are so professional...world class music ...Venetian Gold !
Beautiful beautiful with Orchestra Vivaldiani.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melzo, Italy
Level Contributor
190 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Essential but Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

This church is well visible from the riva degli Schiavoni, so if you're walking by, take a chance of going inside and visit the interior. From the outside the white marble facade looks great, and inside you'll find a very nice and essential decorations and beautiful frescos on the walls (one is almost hidden by the upper columns on the back wall, don't miss it!).
It's also a place where you can attend to Vivaldi's concerts performed by the Virtuosi. I unfortunately didn't have a chance to listen to them, but it must be great: great music in a greater setting!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stefano C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A great concert in a perfect setting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had the wonderful opportunity to attend an Antonio Vivaldi concert (one of our goals during our brief visit to Venice in October, 2012) held in the Chiesa Della Pieta which was only a ten- minute walk away from our hotel Palazzo Schiavoni. The chamber ensemble I Virtuosi Italiani under the direction of Maestro Alberto Martini was excellent, and we thoroughly enjoyed their performance of Vivaldi's Four Seasons as well some works by Albinoni, Bonporti and Tartini. We regularly attend performances of our Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra and have some knowledge of music, and we can attest to the fact that Maestro Martini is especially spectacular. And the concert was reasonably priced as well!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BijouBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiesa di Santa Maria della Pieta also viewed

 

Been to Chiesa di Santa Maria della Pieta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing