We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing value”

Naval History Museum Venice
Book In Advance
More Info
$38.14*
and up
Venetian Ships Pavilion and the Castello District
Ranked #80 of 604 things to do in Venice
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Not for land-lubbers: this museum has filled its four floors with interesting maritime objects, including the banners that were flown by the Venetian fleet at Lepanto.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing value”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

In the wildly expensive city of Venice this surely has to be the bargain find. The Navy Museum (Museo Storico Navale) cost 1.55 Euros each (yes one euro fifty five cents). It’s situated over 5 floors and covers much of the maritime history of Venice & more recently the Italian Navy from WW1 onwards (although I guess not surprisingly saying nothing about Taranto 1940).
We were fascinated by the history and the impressive maritime position Venice held throughout the years, and many of the sea battles we knew nothing about. There were many amazing model boats on display too, but to be honest we whizzed through a section on Chinese junks! Check the opening times, it was only open in the mornings up to 1:30pm when we went.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chismb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    135
    53
    20
    19
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A naval history not only of Venice but of the Med”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Wonderful Museum, possibly take advantage of a Navy veteran to guide you through the history behind all the pieces. A jewel for Venice, Italy and the Med.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicola61Ita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUTON
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A relief”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This for me was a very good relief from the churches , eateries and sunshine on our visit to Venice . If a little plain except for the anchors on the outside then the inside does good justice for the maritime and naval scene that has been a part of Venice since its inception .
1st floor is armaments 2nd ancient 3rd clothing and modern military models 4th artworks and gondolas with the 5th floor Swedish . Very cheap at 1.55 euro and the toilets are free even if they have a constant queue for them male and female .

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 302JASON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erkrath, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best value for money in Venice”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This museum is really the best value for money in the whole of Venice! the entrance fee is just 1,55 Euro, YES JUST 1,55 €!! it has an amazing collection of historical remnants and models dating back to the 15th Century. the museum is exhibited over 5 floors and is really more than impressive. A walk around the Arsenale area that is accessible (most of the area is closed off to the public as it is a military zone) leaves a great impression of the not so often visited areas of Venice.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
106 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great for little kids”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Our 4 year old loved it here. It put the history of Venice as a seafaring nation in perspective for older kids. Very cheap. Cheaper than public toilet ticket in midfle of town when considering all 3 of our kids were free! Friendly staff. Not busy. Seemed to be only Italian children in here. Was a nice stop prior to taking vaporetto to Murano and something in our day for our littlest kid. Only open until 1 pm so go early.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank weliketofly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naval History Museum Venice also viewed

 

Been to Naval History Museum Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing