We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but expertly curated modern art” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peggy Guggenheim Collection

Peggy Guggenheim Collection
Book In Advance
More Info
$219.55*
and up
Private Tour: Peggy Guggenheim Collection Guided Visit
Ranked #12 of 588 things to do in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This satellite gallery of the famous Guggenheim in New York occupies the 17th-century Customs House in Venice, featuring modern and contemporary works of art.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Small but expertly curated modern art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Beautiful museum along the canal with shaded sculpture garden and lovely collection of modern art essentials: Miro, Picasso, Dali, Chagall, Pollock, etc. Extra treat was that it is much less crowded on "this side" of Venice, away from St Marks and Rialto. Nice art galleries nearby for crowd-free browsing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank whip4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,914
    1,532
    453
    147
    76
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, NH
Level Contributor
98 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Nice change from the traditional museums.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Guggenheim is well known to New Yorkers. This was her residence since the 1950s- part villa on the grand canal with her own art. She hob nobbed with all the famous artists here . Beautiful setting and takes about an hour to see. Entrance fee is expensive but if you are a member of the NY museum there is a discount. Nice change of pace, and beautiful modern sculptures in the garden. There is a restaurant there but the food didn't look exceptional.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A lovely oasis of wonderful art!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

The gardens and terrace are peaceful and offer a welcome escape from the heat and busy alleys. There are works by Picasso, Braque, Duchamp, Léger, Mondrian, Kandinsky, Miró, Giacometti, Klee, Ernst, Magritte, Dalí, Pollock, Rothko, and three Cornell boxes! You will be asked to put your bags in a locker as some of the galleries are quite narrow. There is a gift shop and a café doing posh chips and sandwiches. I think the Peggy Guggenheim Museum is well worth the €14 entry. An oasis indeed… take a small picnic to eat in the garden.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JustBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A stunning collection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

If you are into modern art this is a not to missed place. I have never seen so many famous artists works in one place. It does get very busy and is uncomfortably hot in the heat of the day.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Take the right money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I'm not going to write about the art collection - modern art is a matter of taste. The attitude of the staff got us off to a bad start. The desk clerk wouldn't give change for a note and had us searching our pockets and purses for a collection of small change until we managed the correct entrance fee. Then, at the door we were told that we couldn't drink water inside. However, there was no facility to leave the bottles there and collect them later. I understood the restriction, but it wasn't enough to keep our bottles in their carriers, we had to hide them in a supplied plastic bag. How that ensured we did not drink from them I can't imagine! The gallery was very crowded and lacking in the hoped-for atmosphere.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnFelicity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peggy Guggenheim Collection also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Peggy Guggenheim Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing