We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small mueseum”

Peggy Guggenheim Collection
Book In Advance
More Info
$237.22*
and up
Private Tour: Peggy Guggenheim Collection Guided Visit
More Info
$29.89*
and up
Dorsoduro District Private Walking Tour
More Info
$533.73*
and up
Exclusive After-Hours Peggy Guggenheim Collection Private Visit
Ranked #14 of 707 things to do in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This satellite gallery of the famous Guggenheim in New York occupies the 17th-century Customs House in Venice, featuring modern and contemporary works of art.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely small mueseum”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

If you like modern art you will love this jewel right on the grand canal. The collection has some terrific pieces and there is often a special exhibit to see.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,139
    1,633
    498
    156
    81
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“You've got to like splashes and squiggles to enjoy this”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Modern (i.e. 20th century) art comes in a variety of flavours. I like much of it but draw the line at paintings that look like a school child's shot at depicting something, and those that seem to have been splattered on the canvas (Jackson Pollock is a major offender here). Sorry to those with refined sensibilities, but looking at some stripes and squiggles and being expected to interpret something profound from them is an exercise for the pretentious, not those with a pair of eyes.
The Peggy Guggenheim teems with art of the type I just described and which I don't like. I think there were about three items only that happened to appeal to me (yet I love and collect a lot of contemporary art).

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankMill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“modern art in venice”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

the guggenheim collection was very interesting both historically as well as culturally. the pictures of peggy in her home as it was, and then to see the room in the museum was enchanting. it is a very extensive collection, and not too crowded. we thoroughly enjoyed our time viewing this beautiful exhibition.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbots Langley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Surprisingly rude...”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Not far from the vaparetto. As soon as you come off the boat, you see a massive queue but that is for a different place. 8 minute walk to the place and each ticket is 13-14 euros. You can get a mini guide for 5 euros which we bought, not worth it. All the paintings and pictures have a mini explanation by them. Quite busy inside, you are regularly moved aside. The pictures are brilliant, i am not a 'artsy' person but i did find it interesting. Place and pictures good however.... We went through to see the collection and the women behind the counter said 'you cant come in because your handbag is too big' - this being said to my wife. We said okay and went back to the beginning where we bought the tickets. They had lockers and needed to queue up for a key. After queuing the man said 'why have you queued, you only have a handbag', he then called the lady and said let them in. We then went back round and she didn't even apologise. Good pictures... Rude service.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Contemporary hideout in Venice”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Such a lovely place! If you're looking for something different from all the history and cathedrals, go to Peggy's place. It's a lovely collection of contemporary art and the setting is quite nice as well. I enjoyed reading the little descriptions near the pieces of art that talked about how Peggy interacted with them and where they were place or other little anecdotes. There's an entrance fee though.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank chandnikapur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peggy Guggenheim Collection also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Peggy Guggenheim Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing