We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An expensive must!”
Review of Harry's Bar

Harry's Bar
Ranked #14 of 74 Nightlife in Venice
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 1929, this has been a popular watering hole and elegant eatery for writers, artists, celebrities and aristocrats.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An expensive must!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Harry's Bar was totally empty when we walked in but within 10 minutes the place was half full. We were given a drinks menu but we knew what we wanted - Bellinis. I was surprised at the glasses they were served in, more like a large shot glass. I guess I was expecting it to be served in a champagne glass. Nevertheless it tasted delicious.

As it was cold outside, the shops had shut and it was too early for dinner, we decided to stay for another round of Bellinis which were just as good!

They service throughout had been good although the waiters didn't really engage with the customers. We weren't the only tourists and it was the same throughout the bar. They were polite and courteous and answered the questions we asked but they didn't volunteer any additional information.

Overall very good and this is definitely a must do when visiting Venice.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank E-traveller1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    279
    279
    324
    563
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Classic and classy”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We've been twice to this iconic bar in Venice. The first time, my husband and I enjoyed fresh Bellinis and people watched. Beautiful! Lovely, old-school service. As a special treat, this year we went back to splurge for a whole meal. Service was impeccable--and the martini was the best (ice cold in an icy glass), perfect with the signature carpaccio. (We've had carpaccio many places but honestly it is the very best here, where the dish was conceived.) We shared the fresh paparadelle with bacon and cream--perfection! For our main course, we each had veal--I enjoyed the "butterflies of veal," which was like shaved veal with a light lemon sauce. So delicious! My husband's veal Milano was also wonderful.

Best of all: a visit by the owner, who signed his latest book and presented it to us during dinner :-)

I'm not sure we'll be splurging on a whole meal there again ($$$$) any time soon, but I wouldn't miss a chance to hang in the bar with a good martini and watch the locals and the tourists mingle.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BigCityTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Must!!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

If you go to Venice a Bellini in Harry's Bar is a must! The service is excellent! The atmosphere nostalgic! The food good! Do not leave Venice without visiting this establishment!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap! be aware ...”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Don't bother ! minimal service ugly Decor and Ridiculously over-priced... 33 Euro for two glasses of Bellini which honestly below average ...

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank liorsusana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a Take”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

like everyone else have heard about Harry's for years and thought a trip to Venice wouldnt be complete without a visit....how wrong we were.
Massively overpriced, very ordinary and tiny bellini's, overcrowded, staff that were surly and bored.
Give it a very wide berth, the place is rubbish.
It is actually a stain on Venice, so many better places to go.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Marty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry's Bar also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Harry's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing