We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Venician hotel in the heart of the city”
Review of Bauer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bauer Hotel
Ranked #74 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Fleet, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Traditional Venician hotel in the heart of the city”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed here for two nights for a long weekend. The hotel was fabulous, traditional and in the heart of the city. Literally a stones throw away from St Marks square gave us access to the whole city. The rooms were a great size with fabulous amenities. Staff were friendly, gracious and very helpful. The bar area was lovely to relax in with a bottle of wine after a long day of walking, sat by the canal listening to the bustle of the boats. Definitely recommend it and stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for leaving such a raving review of your stay.
I am both grateful and pleased for your comments and look forward to your return visit.
Yours very sincerely
Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    885
    411
    132
    58
    46
See reviews for
274
857
32
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

The Bauer Hotel is the perfect venetian experience... Everything about it is absolutely perfect...

All the main touristic attractions are extremely close, you have a Vaporetto station really nearby, and you can enjoy walking around Piazza San Marco at night or early morning, when it is completely empty (it is literally one minute from the hotel)

It is impossible to find a better view of the Canale Grande, we spent two hours having breakfast at the terrace every morning because we were completely astonished by the view of Santa Maria de la Sallute.

But the hotel is much more than a good view... it is decorated with the traditional venetian style, high ceilings, great art, specially the sculptures and overall, the design is awesome, bringing you back to the 15th century.

All the amenities and services are amazing, food is great, specailly breakfast, rooms are big, and everyone at the hotel is extremely friendly and always willing to help.

I will definitely come back there soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cotermin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. It was a pleasure to read that the facilities and services used during your visit met with your satisfaction. In particular, we are very pleased that you have appreciated our effort to make your stay one to remember.

We look forward to your continued patronage at BAUER Hotels.

Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Perfect location, beautiful ambience , friendly helpful staff, great breakfast. I was upgraded to room with a terrace overlooking the canal. The Concierge made lovely suggestions for places to dine...can't fault the team.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Serenaah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving such a beautiful review of your stay. I am both grateful and pleased for your remarks and look forward to your return visit.
Please feel free to contact me on occasion of your next trip to Venice so that I may greet you in person.
Kind regards
Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Salem, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Great location,service and decor. Breakfast was not only delicious but, the view of the canal was breathtaking. This hotel
made my vacation in Venice a great experience. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to let us have your impressions of your visit. In particular, we thank you for your positive remarks and for sharing them.
We look forward to your continued patronage of BAUER HOTELs.
Yours sincerely
Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keerbergen, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We visited this hotel to celebrate my boyfriend's 40th birthday in style. We arrived by private taxi and entered the beautiful hotel at it's private dock. The receptionist was correct, but not a warm person. I said it was my boyfriend's birthday, and he just said 'congratulations' in a cold tone. Not a nice start. Another staff member brought us to the room, we had a luxe room on the 3th floor with 'street view' ( a canal offcourse), but the street was narrow, so we only overlooked the hotel across the street. No problem for us, who stays in the room when in Venice :-) The room was very luxury, everything you need was there. Except free wi-fi; but now and then we could go on the internet for free ( no idea if they know that). Rooms are clean, and twice a day housekeeping. Our bathroom door didn't close properly, and even broke! The repaired it the same day, and when we came back in the room we had a bottle of prosecco with their apologies. We stayed in the hotel 4 nights and enjoyed every morning the luxury breakfast with a million-dollar-view; friendly staff, even champagne ; and soya milk (important for me as I am vegan). The bar is very expensive (location!) , so are the drinks in the mini bar ( 8 euro for a Coke!) . We bought our own water and soft drinks and put them in the mini bar. I booked a table at the Pisis, the restaurant, but they refused my boyfriend, there's a dresscode... He looked smart in his expensive jeans, but wanted to change. I cancelled the reservation, there was nothing wrong with his clothes, and no-one refuses him at his birthday. So we spent our money somewhere else ;-) When we left I saw that they did allow a man in 3/4 trousers in parachute fabric and sportshoes!
The concierge's services are excellent !!! After 3 days looking at the long line for the Basilica St Marco (more than 1 hours cue!); we went to the concierge. He printed a pre-paid ticket ( 2 euro each), and we just walked the Basilica straight in, without waiting! Top service!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Filliana75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Bauer L'HOTEL . It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback but also to receive constructive comments which can help us improve our service.

We hope to have the pleasure of your return visit in the near future. Should this be the case please do not hesitate to contact me directly as I would be delighted to personally make arrangements that would assure an entirely satisfactory stay.

Yours very sincerely

Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Palms, South Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We had a room to die for,with a private patio over looking square. The food was as good as it gets,with fabulous AM and eve. dining.. The location was more convenient to more things,easily than the plusher Gritti. I must say,that compared to others in city,of this type,this hotel was a fine value also. The staff was OK,just not as fanatical to please you as might have been the case. Go back? Yes,I know we will

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GEORGE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your stay at the Bauer Hotel.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your room, our cuisine, location and staff.

Above all, we are delighted to read that you appreciated our effort to make your stay one to remember.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Venice.

Yours sincerely

Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
525 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We ventured into this hotel today for a light lunch to escape the crouds outside. We chose salads accompanied by a very agreeable Chardonnay and had a really nice experience overlooking the Grand Canal and also a side canal with its constant flow of vociferous gondoliers which added a great deal of atmosphere even if the protagonists are unlikely to be elevated to the operatic stage! Quite expensive but worth it and most enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2017
Dear Guest,
thank you for your extensive feedback on your stay at Bauer Palazzo
We highly appreciated your comments and the entire Team is delighted to know that the experience was up to your expectation.
We really look forward to welcome you back, please do not hesitate to contact us for any futher information.

Best Regards

Stefano Noviello
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#69 of 385 in Venice
893 reviews
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#49 of 385 in Venice
1,564 reviews
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bauer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bauer Hotel

Property: Bauer Hotel
Address: San Marco 1459 | Campo San Moise, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Venice
#51 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#69 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bauer Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The deluxe five-star "Bauer Hotel" offers its guests warm hospitality, impeccable service and a genteel atmosphere that have long made this grand hotel a Venice favourite of artists and royalty for generations. Located in the heart of Venice, the Hotel Bauer's main entrance is on Campo San Moise, just a five-minute walk from St Mark's Square and the most elegant shops in Venice. The hotel also benefits from a own water dock in Rio di San Moise, a small canal off Venice's Grand Canal,frequented by gondoliers throughout the summer. Encompassing the true atmosphere of Venice, "Bauer Hotel" offers 97 luxurious and spacious guest rooms and 22 suites, all retaining a nostalgic charm, with beautiful early 40-50th-century furnishings, perfectly blended with modern facilities and up-to-date technological innovation, accompanied by enticing views of Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Bauer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bauer Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing