We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience ever”
Review of Bauer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bauer Hotel
Ranked #78 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worst experience ever”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I cannot explain how bad the experience was .

All i can say is that i will never return again to this hotel nor will i recommend this hotel to anybody else.

The treatment given to me by entire staff made me feel as if i am staying in a two star hotel.

This was my worst experience ever in a five star .

Do stay in other hotels like cipirani

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Rashida124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are sorry to read about your disappointing experience at the BAUER HOTEL during the International Biennale of Art. This said, we are obviously most anxious to regain your confidence and hope you may reconsider your decision not to return in the future, thus giving us the opportunity of show the high level of hospitality appreciated by our many return guests.
Yours very sincerely,

Giovanni Cellerino
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    908
    419
    135
    58
    49
See reviews for
287
875
32
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed here pre and post a cruise.
The first night was 10th May and the second was 22nd May.
On both occasions a buffet breakfast was provided.
The 10th May breakfast was after 08.00h, no problems with this breakfast at all, the breakfast on 22nd May was required before 08.00h. This was appalling. Scrambled egg was undercooked, bacon burnt and shrivelled, and all 'hot' items were luke warm to cold. This was very disappointing after the lovely breakfast on the 10th May.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulalaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2015
Dear Guest,

thank you for having chosen the Bauer Hotel for your holiday in Venice.
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and for your advices, they are important to improve the quality of service and to enhance our reputation.

We really hope to see you in the next future to be able to show you the improvement done.


Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

5 star service, immaculate rooms, sensational location on the Grand Canal next to St Marks Square and a five minute walk to the Rialto Bridge. One of the few hotels with a terrace restaurant overlooking the Grand Canal. Will recommend highly and return.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ozzieking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback on your stay at The Bauer Hotel.

We are extremely happy to hear that we have met your every need during your stay with us and exceeded your expectations.

Our staff take pride in delivering an exceptional service with an eye for detail.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This hotel has one of the finest locations in Venice with a lovely bar and restaurant terrace right by the Grand Canal. The foyer entrance opens out onto quality shops and is just 2 minutes walk from St Marks Square. Our suite was in its day of the highest quality but really needed refurbishment. Rooms lower down might be a little dark and lower rooms at the side have noise from the queue of gondolas waiting to offload. Would not choose to stay in a room below 4th floor unless at rear facing the Grand Canal.

The staff spoke perfect English, were attentive and also very helpful. The inclusive breakfast was first class. The bar menu was reasonably priced. Room service seemed expensive.

Room Tip: If at side choose a higher room 3rd floor or above as they have more sunlight. Rooms at side have no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank number57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review the standards of service and hotel facilities after your recent visit. All guest feedback is valuable to us and your points have been taken into serious consideration as they allow us to improve customer satisfaction.
This said, we are pleased you enjoyed our location and speak highly about our service. Please rest assured that we are updating our facilities constantly in the effort to maintain the very high standards we are known for.
We hope to look forward to your continue d patronage to BAUER hotels and remain yours very sincerely

Giovanni Cellerino
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Had a 4 night stay at the end of April. Lovely hotel situated just a few minutes from St Marks square. The hotel is art deco in style and has a lovely terrace overlooking the Grand Canal where breakfast is taken.
Rooms are clean and comfortable and bed linen and towels changed each day.
All staff at the hotel were polite and helpful. Would definately stay here again and would recommend it to anyone visiting Venice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Appthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely review on Tripadvisor.

As a member of The Leading Hotels of The World we continuously strive to meet and exceed our guest's expectation.

We are delighted that you were impressed with your stay and look forward to the renewed pleasure of welcoming you again soon at the BAUER.

Yours very sincerely,

Giovanni Cellerino
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooranbong
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This 5 star hotel is extremely well located right on the Grand Canal, two minutes walk from St Marks Square and the Water Bus stop, and has dual frontage, both to the Grand Canal, and to a small plaza area, overlooking a small bridge. The rooms are large in size, and all the amenities are first class. The view from the room where the morning buffet breakfast is served is exceptional, as well as having a great outdoor area to sit, eat and drink, right on the Grand Canal. We stayed in early April, 2013, and the weather was cold, but due to the location of this hotel, everything you may want to eat or see, is very close at hand.
The service is definitely 5 star, and nothing appears too much trouble for the staff. We had a deluxe room, on or near the top floor, with a huge deck, overlooking the small plaza, and a great deal of the city, which was magnificent. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who is going to Venice, and requires a full 5 star expreience..

Room Tip: If possible select a deluxe room or better when booking. If you require a Grand Canal view room, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
- Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback on our HOTEL. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the room and amenities, as well as our breakfast terrace and ample open-air areas for our guests. In particular, we are very pleased that you have appreciated our effort to make your stay one to remember.
We look forward to your continued patronage at BAUER Hotels.
Yours very sincerely

Giovanni Cellerino
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I was a bit apprehensive about the Bauer hotel especially after reading the reviews but I was wrong as I had the best experience during my stay there. The hotel is traditionally decorated but elegant and well maintained. The room was a bit small but I was offered a room overlooking the canal, which was lovely. Breakfast on the terrace was a treat and the food selection was excellent: cold cuts, warm food (sausages, bacon, scrambled eggs, hash brown), cereals and pastries etc.

The hotel is situated 3 minutes walk from San Marco square with easy access to designer shops and water transportation.

The staff and the level of service was impressive. You could tell that the staff took their jobs very seriously and understood the importance of offering high-quality service to their customers. The concierge also made great recommendations for places to see and for things to do.

I would highly recommend this hotel for a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoRa3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor.
It was very gracious of you to compliment our facilities, staff and service at BAUERs L’HOTEL.
In particular, I am delighted you enjoyed the quality of our breakfast which we are constantly striving to improve thanks also to our guests’ suggestions. Please rest assured that your kind compliments have been passed on to our Team Members !

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at IL PALAZZO in the years to come!

Yours very sincerely,

Giovanni Cellerino
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#70 of 385 in Venice
928 reviews
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#52 of 385 in Venice
1,601 reviews
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#17 of 385 in Venice
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bauer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bauer Hotel

Property: Bauer Hotel
Address: San Marco 1459 | Campo San Moise, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Venice
#54 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#69 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bauer Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The deluxe five-star "Bauer Hotel" offers its guests warm hospitality, impeccable service and a genteel atmosphere that have long made this grand hotel a Venice favourite of artists and royalty for generations. Located in the heart of Venice, the Hotel Bauer's main entrance is on Campo San Moise, just a five-minute walk from St Mark's Square and the most elegant shops in Venice. The hotel also benefits from a own water dock in Rio di San Moise, a small canal off Venice's Grand Canal,frequented by gondoliers throughout the summer. Encompassing the true atmosphere of Venice, "Bauer Hotel" offers 97 luxurious and spacious guest rooms and 22 suites, all retaining a nostalgic charm, with beautiful early 40-50th-century furnishings, perfectly blended with modern facilities and up-to-date technological innovation, accompanied by enticing views of Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bauer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bauer Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing