We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!”
Review of Bauer Palazzo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bauer Palazzo
Ranked #74 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I was a bit apprehensive about the Bauer hotel especially after reading the reviews but I was wrong as I had the best experience during my stay there. The hotel is traditionally decorated but elegant and well maintained. The room was a bit small but I was offered a room overlooking the canal, which was lovely. Breakfast on the terrace was a treat and the food selection was excellent: cold cuts, warm food (sausages, bacon, scrambled eggs, hash brown), cereals and pastries etc.

The hotel is situated 3 minutes walk from San Marco square with easy access to designer shops and water transportation.

The staff and the level of service was impressive. You could tell that the staff took their jobs very seriously and understood the importance of offering high-quality service to their customers. The concierge also made great recommendations for places to see and for things to do.

I would highly recommend this hotel for a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoRa3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor.
It was very gracious of you to compliment our facilities, staff and service at BAUERs L’HOTEL.
In particular, I am delighted you enjoyed the quality of our breakfast which we are constantly striving to improve thanks also to our guests’ suggestions. Please rest assured that your kind compliments have been passed on to our Team Members !

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at IL PALAZZO in the years to come!

Yours very sincerely,

Giovanni Cellerino
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,636)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,227 - 1,233 of 2,636 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

Close to all places of interest, helpfully staff, room was what you would expect for a 5 star hotel.
Down side had to ask for the free WiFi, would have expected to have been told it was free when I checked in which is standard practice in all the 4 & 5 hotels I have stayed in around the world.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T-man1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review of your stay. I will be sure to share your applause with our Team Members.

Looking forward to the pleasure of your continued patronage of BAUERs Hotels, we remain with our

Kindest Regards

Giovanni Cellerino
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed in a double during the Venice Festival. This is a lovely hotel, in a fab location, the staff are great and make you feel pretty special, and the room was lovely, rather grand and a good size, but also a little tatty around the edges, it could do with a spruce-up.
Decor is less contemporary and more fancy classic. Bed was big, comfy and I slept like a very sleepy log.
Also - this hotel has fallen to the ranks of those that doesn't supply an iron in your room, which for 600 euros per night, I thought would be a basic minimum, but aparently not, you have to order your iron in of a morning, hoping they won't take too long to bring it up wha with you having overslept and rushing around brushing your teeth and falling over your shoes... Aparently they do this because some clumsy lunatic once set fire to a pair of curtains with her iron or something, although I think this reason was made up on the spot by the concierge.
Overall and forgetting iron-gate, nice experience, would stay again, and enjoyed the cute little floating terrace at the front of the hotel, not to mention the water taxi service to the front door :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrightonBecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for leaving your impressions on your recent stay.

Every THE BAUERs’ Team works with passion and energy to welcome guests in the best possible manner, as if they were at home. Therefore, your feedback is taken very seriously and good suggestions are taken on board to enhance customer satisfaction.

It will be our commitment to look into all areas of improvement in order to offer an even better service on occasion of your next visit to Venice.


Yours sincerely,

Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Top hotel in all respects: discreet service, always there but never intrusive, knowledgeable and helpful staff, tastefully decorated and very comfortable rooms (the Grand Canal view rooms are by far the best) superb menu so well prepared I cannot remember dining better anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: choose Grand Canal view rooms if possible, The noise of the canal boats, while part of the ambiance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank desertmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving such a beautiful review of your stay.
I will be sure to share your applause with the members of our Team Members and look forward to the pleasure of your continued patronage.

Yours Faithfully

Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager IL PALAZZO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

First visit and loved it. Water & boats a pleasant change from bikes & vehicles. Food & drink great and not as pricey as we thought apart from the biggest rip off ever at Harry's Bar. Ludicrous prices 16 € + 10% vat for a Bellini that tasted nothing special in a place tha resembled the front room of a working men's club save for waiters in white coats. We must have been mad to pay 67€ for 4 drinks. Leave it to the rich yanks that frequent the place. Hotel Bauer absolutely fab great location.

Room Tip: Would have preferred view of grand canal but that would cost somewhat more €'s but room facing r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com
1  Thank Walter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013
Google Translation

Gentilissimo Ospite,
La ringraziamo per la preferenza accordataci e ci auguriamo di averla nuovamente come nostro ospite.

Giovanni Cellerino
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Located in a 18th C. palace, features 35 deluxe double rooms and 40 suites.
Most overlooking the canal or with a view on the city of Venice and on St Mark's Basin. Each room is unique and individually adorned, sumptuously refined with antique furnishings or reproductions of genuine Venetian fabrics from Rubelli and Bevilacqua and Murano glass chandeliers by Seguso and Cenedese. Bathrooms are decorated in Italian marble and some have whirlpools.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aexcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you for your extensive feedback on your stay at Bauer Palazzo
We highly appreciated your comments and the entire Team is delighted to know that the experience was up to your expectation.
We really look forward to welcome you back, please do not hesitate to contact us for any futher information.

Best Regards

Stefano Noviello
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family and I stayed here for one night before a cruise, and was not disappointed. The hotel was within easy walks to most major sites in this beautiful city, which to me, was the most important aspect to a hotel in Venice.
The morning buffet did the job, and the lobby bar was a nice place to spend time before going out in the city.
The only real downside for us were the rooms. Yes, this is Europe, so subsequently the rooms are small. The beds weren't entirely comfortable, and the pillows weren't very plush. The bathroom was gorgeous though.

All in all, this is a beautiful hotel with an even more amazing location. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usclakertraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review of our hotel. In particular, we are pleased to note you were satisfied with the location, the breakfast buffet and our bar.
Regarding the room, we regret it was not entirely satisfactory. We are constantly upgrading beddings and are hopeful you will have a chance to experience our renewed service on occasion to your next visit to Venice.

Yours very sincerely

Giovanni Cellerino
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#61 of 387 in Venice
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#14 of 387 in Venice
1,625 reviews
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#51 of 387 in Venice
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bauer Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bauer Palazzo

Address: San Marco 1459 | Campo San Moise, 30124 Venice, Italy (Formerly Bauer Hotel)
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Venice
#50 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#68 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $295 - $699 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bauer Palazzo 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star luxury BAUER PALAZZO is located in the heart of Venice, where Luxury rooms able to redefine and elevate the conception of the journey as a pleasure. A unique experience of its kind, where you can experiment true Venetian lifestyle. The view on the most enchanting foreshortenings of the city by a privileged location, combined with authentic Italian marbles, precious fabrics and inlaid furniture, give the true expression of Venice. 56 suites and 135 rooms: BAUER PALAZZO will meet the desires of every guest, by guaranteeing them the best comfort as possible and their privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bauer Palazzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bauer Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing