We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“...Wonderful Hotel”
Review of Bauer Palazzo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bauer Palazzo
Ranked #76 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

A fantastic welcome from the Bauer receptionist, who escorted us to our room, was a splendid start. The bedroom was huge, with a separate dressing room and lavish bathroom. The enormous bed probably the most comfortable we have ever slept in .Unfortunately, on and off rain made the restaurant terrace unusable, but the views towards the Salute are still classic, and the breakfast choice of food and beverages enormous. Still, it’s Venice, and there’s nowhere remotely like it. We’ll be back

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen the Bauer Hotel, and we are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay here and that we having been able to meet your expectations, in particular for what concernig our unique location and the attentive staff.

We would be glad to welcome you soon back again at the Bauers!


Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,227 - 1,233 of 2,597 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

I spent two days with my wife in this fantastic hotel located in a strategic position close to San Marco. Everything was excellent. the room, the service, and especially the bar and the restaurant with a delicous italian food. All the restaurant and bar area is managed by a guy named Giorgio, a really gentleman who will explain you any recipes secret and is able to suggest the right wines to enhance the taste of what you have decided to eat! I suggest this Hotel to all the couples who want to prove a longlife remembrance for Valentine's day!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing this review of your stay at The Bauer Hotel. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your experience here, in particular the unique location, the attentive staff and our services.

We truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Bauers on your next visit to Venice.


Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Everytime I am back at the Bauer i have the impression to be' back home.
This is an institution of the old world luxury. I love the feeling of the old times...but compared with the other 5 stars hotels in town, bauer has it modernity both in the spirit and in the architecture.
The position is amazing and if you have a room on the chanel...it is a Dream.
I love the breakfast room facing the salute church...the only thing can be improve the quality of the breakfast and the amenities

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mgiornet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your impressions of our hotel and for complementing our service.
It is always a pleasure when guests value our heritage, which transpires from the precious art-deco period pieces and glass appliques, as well as the precious wall hangings which have made of this hotel a landmark property in Venice. Being owned by a long line of hoteliers and entrepreneurs the Bauer is different from traditional hotels and more like a home. Here attention to detail and superlative service are meant to make guests feel welcome and at ease. We thank you for your suggestions which we will take on board to enhance customer satisfaction and look forward to your continued patronage of Bauer hotels.
Yours faithfully
Giovanni Cellerino
Resident Manager Bauer Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

It's amazing how things look when the rose colored glasses are off. Give a man a glass of wine, the blissful summer heat or some complimentary champagne and he will feel entirely different about a property than after a cold rainy winters experience in the same establishment.

Well we had the (dis)pleasure of spending such a night in this property during December 2012 and departed early - not because we enjoyed our experience.

Heat was inconsistent, roller shades wouldn't go all the way up, phones didn't work in certain rooms, distinct un-natural fraying of the finishes in the room and remarkably poor quality of decor for a suite of this purported caliber. The property felt in distinct need of repair. Venice is a bit of a Waterworld living on borrowed time.. what gives the city it's pedigree and charm and history are the hoteliers who try to suspend inevitability and deliver a crisp, pressed, five star experience in a place steeped in history and destined to fall apart eventually. I am truly sorry to report that this Bauer unlike it's named twin in Zurich is not up to the challenge and those guests accustomed to 5 star experiences will likely not find one here (all opinions our own).

The incessant heat of the winter climate system was so unpleasant it necessitated our opening of windows to cool to an acceptably hot night time temperature. If there was an A/C system no room staff ever offered to explain it to us. We felt decidedly on our own with cheap TV's finishes, cheap everything surrounding us. The staff were very cordial when explicitly asked for something but the experience just felt so "discount" in the rooms on the Palazzo side..

The city in winter was a bone-chilling cold which is no fault of the hotel, but the experience was decidedly poor -- mainly the quality of the rooms which were in distinct need of repair.

Our experience here unfortunately has sullied us on Venice and we will not be returning for at least a few years or until one of our friends reports a hotel with a better experience here. If this is as good as it gets for a 2 bedroom suite in this city we do not intend to return until they build something better. Very surprising here in Venice as we had great experience at Bauer properties in the past and genuinely were not looking for trouble here - but it found us anyway.

Terrible sleep quality was the crescendo here.. Crunchy, crinkly linens should be thrown away (a disrespectful shame-of-all-shames when the "Frette" store is literally 'right' across the walkway outside the hotel!!!)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank theLuckiestGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are most sorry about your negative impressions. It sounds like the cold weather and bone-chilling temperature experienced during your stay cast a shadow on the whole experience. As you mention, the darkness of winter may compromise or alter one’s perception. Yet, many of our return guests choose specifically this period for its magical, almost ‘mystical’ allure. This said, we are happy to read that you appreciated the cordial attitude of our staff and our efforts to make you feel at home.
IL PALAZZO is a heritage building of historical significance with original antiques and artwork of great value. Furthermore, bed linens are of superior quality. They are made of 100% linen, not cotton. Crisp sheets made of pure linen are considered the non-plus-ultra in bedding standards. I regret this was not perceived as a note of distinction but, rather, as one of demerit. We hope you will have the chance of experiencing our hotel again during the summer months when it will be my personal pleasure of assuring my closest attention to your every requirement.
Yours very sincerely
Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager Il Palazzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We spent a weekend in Venice before our cruise. We found this hotel by chance on Hotelscombined at a great rate. The rate was for the Casa Nova which belongs to the Bauer and is next door. You register in the Bauer and use all of the Bauer facilities so it was an opportunity to enjoy a 5* hotel. You can find the Casa Nova on Tripadvisor under Bauer Casa Nova. Don't confuse this hotel with the Casa Nova which is a 3* hotel close by.
The hotel is a five minute stroll to St. Marks square and next to all of the more expensive shops and restaurants. The water ferry is also a five minute walk (Ferry Number 1 is best) and the hotel is on the canal so a private water taxi can take you to the door. The water ferry is slow but much less expensive.
The bedroom was very spacious and the bathroom had a bath and a very large separate shower. The rooms are a little dark but the size and location far outweighed this negative. Breakfast was taken in the Bauer. We were in Venice the weekend of the major flooding and the water was at mid thigh level outside the hotel. Temporary walkways were in place so it was possible to walk round without waterproof boots, though not all areas were accessible until mid afternoon. Perhaps because of this, breakfast on the Sunday was manic with guests and staff dashing everywhere. Breakfast itself was excellent , with hot and cold options available. Everything returned to normal on the Monday as the water had gone and breakfast was a much more sedate affair.
Transfer to the cruise ship is easiest if you take a private water taxi but it is about €80. However, nothing in Venice is cheap.
I would most definitely stay here again, for the location, size of room, quality of the Bauer hotel and general service.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear Guest,
We are very thankful for the time you have dedicated to reviewing our property.
It is delightful to note so many positive comments and that your overall experience was most pleasant.
We attentively look after every detail in order to offer our guest a unique experience, which gives them a chance to experience Venice as a local resident rather than a visitor. To fit the shoes (or the boots, so to speak!) of a Venetian.
Thus we are pleased to read that you noticed our special effort.
Our many summer-time guests have motivated us to create a very spectacular outdoor terrace, where breakfast, lunch, snacks or drinks can be enjoyed while watching the gondolas glide by. The winter offers a different, yet not less fascinating experience. Acqua Alta (flooding) is sometimes part of it. And although challenging at times, it may also be a very fun and unusual event to experience firsthand!
We look forward to your continued patronage and to the pleasure of welcoming you again at THE BAUERs!
Giovanni Cellerino
Resident Manager Bauer Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Grandiose, elegant, a real five star Hotel in Venice. The rooms are extremely comfortable and the bathrooms a real surprise with all the shining marble and glistening taps. The breakfast is served in the main restaurant overlooking the grand canal. The reception staff, Massimo checked us in, is very courteous and they will go out of their way to accommodate any request. This Hotel will meet all your expectations, do bear in mind that the prices are also five star.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adriano A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for your kind remarks.
At THE BAUERs we strive daily to meet and surpass our guests expectations. Your appreciation is therefore greately appreciated.
We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Giovanni Cellerino
BAUER HOTEL Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in December, it was a lovely stay.

On checking in we were given a room that was next to the lift shaft, this w loud and quite small so I complained and the following hour we were upgraded to a beautiful suite, with 1 bedroom, living area and two bathrooms.

The hotel was in a fabulous location, however this was my 6th trip to Venice following living there in there in 06' and I found it quite busy and do prefer to stayin the more secluded areas.

This was a lovely trip and the hotel was more than accommodating, I would happily stay again!

Room Tip: Ask to move if you are close to the lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and pleased to note your satisfaction with your accommodation and the service.
We thank you for your visit and look forward to your continued patronage of BAUERs hotels.

Giovanni Cellerino
BAUER HOTEL Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,591 reviews
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#63 of 385 in Venice
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#49 of 385 in Venice
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bauer Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bauer Palazzo

Address: San Marco 1459 | Campo San Moise, 30124 Venice, Italy (Formerly Bauer Hotel)
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Venice
#51 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#68 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $258 - $723 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bauer Palazzo 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star luxury BAUER PALAZZO is located in the heart of Venice, where Luxury rooms able to redefine and elevate the conception of the journey as a pleasure. A unique experience of its kind, where you can experiment true Venetian lifestyle. The view on the most enchanting foreshortenings of the city by a privileged location, combined with authentic Italian marbles, precious fabrics and inlaid furniture, give the true expression of Venice. 56 suites and 135 rooms: BAUER PALAZZO will meet the desires of every guest, by guaranteeing them the best comfort as possible and their privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Splitty, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Bauer Palazzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bauer Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing