We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in great location”
Review of Bauer Palazzo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bauer Palazzo
Ranked #77 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We spent a weekend in Venice before our cruise. We found this hotel by chance on Hotelscombined at a great rate. The rate was for the Casa Nova which belongs to the Bauer and is next door. You register in the Bauer and use all of the Bauer facilities so it was an opportunity to enjoy a 5* hotel. You can find the Casa Nova on Tripadvisor under Bauer Casa Nova. Don't confuse this hotel with the Casa Nova which is a 3* hotel close by.
The hotel is a five minute stroll to St. Marks square and next to all of the more expensive shops and restaurants. The water ferry is also a five minute walk (Ferry Number 1 is best) and the hotel is on the canal so a private water taxi can take you to the door. The water ferry is slow but much less expensive.
The bedroom was very spacious and the bathroom had a bath and a very large separate shower. The rooms are a little dark but the size and location far outweighed this negative. Breakfast was taken in the Bauer. We were in Venice the weekend of the major flooding and the water was at mid thigh level outside the hotel. Temporary walkways were in place so it was possible to walk round without waterproof boots, though not all areas were accessible until mid afternoon. Perhaps because of this, breakfast on the Sunday was manic with guests and staff dashing everywhere. Breakfast itself was excellent , with hot and cold options available. Everything returned to normal on the Monday as the water had gone and breakfast was a much more sedate affair.
Transfer to the cruise ship is easiest if you take a private water taxi but it is about €80. However, nothing in Venice is cheap.
I would most definitely stay here again, for the location, size of room, quality of the Bauer hotel and general service.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear Guest,
We are very thankful for the time you have dedicated to reviewing our property.
It is delightful to note so many positive comments and that your overall experience was most pleasant.
We attentively look after every detail in order to offer our guest a unique experience, which gives them a chance to experience Venice as a local resident rather than a visitor. To fit the shoes (or the boots, so to speak!) of a Venetian.
Thus we are pleased to read that you noticed our special effort.
Our many summer-time guests have motivated us to create a very spectacular outdoor terrace, where breakfast, lunch, snacks or drinks can be enjoyed while watching the gondolas glide by. The winter offers a different, yet not less fascinating experience. Acqua Alta (flooding) is sometimes part of it. And although challenging at times, it may also be a very fun and unusual event to experience firsthand!
We look forward to your continued patronage and to the pleasure of welcoming you again at THE BAUERs!
Giovanni Cellerino
Resident Manager Bauer Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,211 - 1,217 of 2,570 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2012

Grandiose, elegant, a real five star Hotel in Venice. The rooms are extremely comfortable and the bathrooms a real surprise with all the shining marble and glistening taps. The breakfast is served in the main restaurant overlooking the grand canal. The reception staff, Massimo checked us in, is very courteous and they will go out of their way to accommodate any request. This Hotel will meet all your expectations, do bear in mind that the prices are also five star.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adriano A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for your kind remarks.
At THE BAUERs we strive daily to meet and surpass our guests expectations. Your appreciation is therefore greately appreciated.
We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Giovanni Cellerino
BAUER HOTEL Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in December, it was a lovely stay.

On checking in we were given a room that was next to the lift shaft, this w loud and quite small so I complained and the following hour we were upgraded to a beautiful suite, with 1 bedroom, living area and two bathrooms.

The hotel was in a fabulous location, however this was my 6th trip to Venice following living there in there in 06' and I found it quite busy and do prefer to stayin the more secluded areas.

This was a lovely trip and the hotel was more than accommodating, I would happily stay again!

Room Tip: Ask to move if you are close to the lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and pleased to note your satisfaction with your accommodation and the service.
We thank you for your visit and look forward to your continued patronage of BAUERs hotels.

Giovanni Cellerino
BAUER HOTEL Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

We were a group of 4 adults who had originally booked to stay at the Bauer Palladio, however a week before our due date the hotel was closed and we were moved to Bauer Hotel.
After my direct contact we did receive an apology and promised a room upgrade & as it was 3/4 of our birthdays the hotel also promised some kind of acknowledgment, but we received nothing! I think after a hotel changing your plans at such short notice they really should provide gestures of goodwill.
Although the hotel is in a perfect location and is visually stunning, I did feel a little uncomfortable with the service they gave. The staff are not warm and welcoming at all!
So if you barely use a hotel whilst visiting Venice I would recommend here due to location and comfort but if you require a personal touch and would like to feel welcome they maybe not this one.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandybkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this amazing review on The Bauer Hotel.

We are delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of the hotel and that our staff have exceeded your expectations in every area of the hotel, and that we truly made you feel right at home.

We can't wait to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Bauer in Venice for three nights during carnival season. A beautiful art deco lobby with a very courteous front desk staff. We had a classically furnished room with a king bed and a window overlooking the canals and the nearby historic palazzos. A large bathroom with wonderful botanical amenities, produced by the hotel's owners. A short walk from Piazza San Marco. Breakfast is served in a beautiful dining room overlooking the canal and the gondolas. A wonderful array of prosciutto, cheeses, fresh fruit,pastries,and of course champagne! This hotel was perfect, I can recommend it to anyone looking to have an unforgettable experience in Venice.

Stayed: February 2012
3  Thank ArnaldoRuiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, General Manager at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and pleased to note your satisfaction with your accommodation and the service.
We thank you for your visit and look forward to your continued patronage of BAUERs hotels.

THE BAUERs Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed here in April 2011 for five days. Took a river taxi from the airport and delivered to the hotels dock. The lobby is very nicely decorated, definitely something you would expect from a 5* hotel in Venice.

We were immediately upgraded and had a choice of rooms that they showed us. the room we chose had a view over the canal and we could hear the Gondoliers singing to their passengers.

The hotel is located in the heart of Venice. You couldn't get a much better location. A stones throw from restaurants, shops and the Piazza San Marco.

Breakfast is buffet style but you can sit outside overlooking the Canale di San Marco. The view is awesome.

You can enjoy the same view from the outside patio bar as well. Make a note the bar staff are brilliant. Very attentive and they look after you - tip! The drinks are a bit on the expensive side, but you get great service and some snacks to eat delivered to your table. The snacks come with a lace frame over the top of them so you can keep your food pigeon free. Yes pigeons are all over the place, get used to them.

If anything the stay was great my only complaint was how pretentious the lobby team seemed to be. Very uppity and not appreciated which is why we knocked off a point. Asking for assistance and getting a shrug of the shoulders and a map shoved in your general direction left a sour taste in my mouth.

Outside of that we had a glorious time and would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bloozydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Bauer Hotel.
We are delighted to know that all aspects of your stay lived up to your expectations. We pride ourselves on ensuring that each guest experiences a memorable stay and we do hope to welcome you back to The Bauers soon.


Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Don't waste either your time or money staying here. 5* my foot. Having travelled extensively for many years, we can honestly say that our experience of the Bauer Hotel was dreadful, the room was the worst we have stayed in anywhere. Peeling, dirty paint, curtains hanging off the rail, really very rude staff and a brick wall for a view. There is antique furniture and there is just plain, simple shabbiness. We had the latter. It ruined the end of our holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank janebaileylincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of The Bauer Hotel. We are naturally disappointed to learn that certain aspects of the hotel did not live up to your expectations, we aim to provide an exceptional service in every aspect of the guest experience and we are sorry to read that you did not find this to be the case on this occasion.

Your comment will be taken into consideraton and we hope to have the chance to welcoming you back at The Bauers to be able to show the improvement done.


Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#60 of 384 in Venice
1,637 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#18 of 384 in Venice
1,576 reviews
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#50 of 384 in Venice
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bauer Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bauer Palazzo

Address: San Marco 1459 | Campo San Moise, 30124 Venice, Italy (Formerly Bauer Hotel)
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Venice
#53 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#68 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $285 - $1,537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bauer Palazzo 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star luxury BAUER PALAZZO is located in the heart of Venice, where Luxury rooms able to redefine and elevate the conception of the journey as a pleasure. A unique experience of its kind, where you can experiment true Venetian lifestyle. The view on the most enchanting foreshortenings of the city by a privileged location, combined with authentic Italian marbles, precious fabrics and inlaid furniture, give the true expression of Venice. 56 suites and 135 rooms: BAUER PALAZZO will meet the desires of every guest, by guaranteeing them the best comfort as possible and their privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bauer Palazzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bauer Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing