We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,770)
Filter reviews
2,770 results
Traveler rating
1,710
671
214
93
82
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,710
671
214
93
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand canalcasa novawater taxisuperior suitebreakfast terracefive star hotelwalk in closetdesigner shopsgondola stationconcierge staffperfect locationbeautiful hotelthe main hotelharry's barmarble bathroomsan marco squareold world
Filter
Updating list...
1,449 - 1,454 of 2,770 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2011

We stayed in the Bauer despite some less than glowing reviews. Some said that the staff was rude and the rooms were just OK. I don't really see how that could be. We had wonderful staff with an exceptional concierge who made us feel as if we were the only guests in the hotel. Every time we entered the reception area he greeted us by name and had suggestions for things to do for the day. He drew maps for everywhere we wanted to go and had accurate estimates of the time it would take to walk to those locations.

We booked a deluxe room with a view (just under the suite class of rooms) and it was a nice room, well furnished with a limited but very nice view of the grand canal. All in all, we had no reason to complain about anything at this hotel. The Bauer Il Palzzo is a quirky place and it took us walk or two to find our way back to our room. It took two elevators and a sort of maze through the hallways but that just added to the nature of the hotel for us.

It is a bit expensive but so is everything else in Venice. My suggestion is to have a shorter stay paying higher prices than to try to do Venice on a tight budget. It's worth the splurge and trying to short change it will result in a much less special trip than this city deserves.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michael t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2015

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to write your detailed review and thoughts about your holiday in Venice and your stay at the Bauer Hotel, they are important to improve the quality of service and to enhance our reputation.

We are honoured to learn that you consider the Bauer Il Palazzo an excellent structure, we always attemp to do our best in order to satisfy all desires of our guest, and as member of The Leading Hotels of The World we continuously strive to meet and exceed our guest's expectation.


We really hope to see you in the next future to be able to show you the improvement done.


Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

from the moment we arrived brought by the private boat belonging to the hotel to the moment we left we fould everything about this hotel to be delightful. we arrive late in teh afternoon after flying from the united states were greeted by the manager and led a beautiful room with a large terrace overlooking Venice with a side view of the lagoon. the room as absolutely beautiful with walls covered in blue silk. the soaps and lotions in the bath were exceptional.. the room was serviced beautifully with great attention to detail.. the restaurant had delicious food. all in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to vencie

Room Tip: all rooms are beautiful
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diane119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Bauer Il Palazzo.
Your feedback is highly valued and appreciated as it is the best way for us to constantly evolve and improve. We aim to provide an exceptional service in every aspect of the guest experience and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay at the Bauer Hotel.

We look forward to see you in the next future to The Bauers.


Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

As I always do before booking any hotel in the world I read the TripAdvisor reviews of The Bauer. It is fair to say that they are mixed but I was prepared to keep an open mind - this is a five star hotel after all surely it must be better than many say?
Unfortunately I was sadly disappointed. The only thing that is 5 star about The Bauer is the view of the Grand Canal from the restaurant where we ate a decidedly two star breakfast and some of the (very very expensive) rooms.
I booked a 'superior room' which turned out to be a very small room overlooking an internal courtyard painted in an eye-watering bright green. There was very little natural light in the room in fact to see the sky I had to lean right out of the window and crane my neck upwards.
The bathroom is all marble and crystal and well appointed although if you suffer with any back, knee or hip problems be warned that our bathroom had an over bath shower that necessitates negotiating the 18 inch side of the bath to get in and out. Worth checking when you book....
Thankfully our room rate included breakfast because there is no way that what we had was worth the 30 Euros they charge. The buffet was laid out in part of the restaurant that was so dark it was difficult to see what was on offer. There was the usual fruit salad (which was steeped in syrup) and egg and bacon as well as stale croissants and some bread but nowhere to toast it and no offer of anything freshly cooked. The coffee was disgusting and the only redeeming feature of this otherwise dismal attempt at breakfast was the view of the Grand Canal if you could see it through the bulky net curtains that adorned the windows.
It is fair to say that the hotel is very well located and an easy walk from the ferry that brings you in from the airport. It was clean and functional but not worthy of its 5 star rating or the high cost of the rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Luxuryhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property; We are sorry to read that we did not live up to your expectations. We aim to provide an exceptional service in every aspect of the guest experience and we are sorry to read that you did not find this to be the case on this occasion.

Your review is highly valued and we welcome constructive feedback from all our guests in order to ensure we deliver the highest standard of service.

We do hope to welcome you again at The Bauers in the next future to be able to show the improvement done.


Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Before taking a cruise I spent a night at the hotel. The location is great, however you need a water taxi from the airport (aprox. 100 euros) and another water taxi to the cruise (aprox. 100 euros). The staff is very courteous. The rooms are small but in good conditions.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClementinaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2015

Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your experience in Tripadvisor. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay here with our staff, and we appreciate your positive comments about your stay.

We are looking forward to welcome you again!

Sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Nice enough hotel, but enormous public spaces of the Bauer itself are off-putting. The view from the 7th floor breakfast room is however spectacular.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NanaH630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Bauer Il Palazzo. It gives us great pleasure to read that you thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of your stay.
Our team take great pride in ensuring each guest experiences a memorable stay, and your feedback is highly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Bauers!


Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews