We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best hotel in the world” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Hotel Cipriani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Cipriani
Ranked #29 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London, england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“the best hotel in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2007

The Cipriani is one of the high points of our civilization. I cannot think of a better-located, more elegant or comfortable hotel in the world. I will never stay at any other hotel in Venice. It is expensive but extremely beautiful, authentic and luxurious. The swimming pool is stunning and can there be a more delightful or decadent way to spend a day than to spend it by the pool at the Cipriani followed by a delicious lunch looking over the canals of Venice? One very small fly in the ointment is the rather fed-up and dismissive attitude of some of the staff but others more than make up for it by being very helpful. Try to avoid staying in the Vendramin - the main building is much better.

  • Liked — stunningly beautiful location and luxurious accomodation
  • Disliked — unelpful attitude of some staff
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank arbogast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    113
    33
    15
    11
See reviews for
114
441
28
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2007

I had a wonderful expierience at the Cipriani in Venice. It is fabulous and Venice is such a beautiful city. I went here w/ my family for a family vacation.
The Rooms-
We had booked the Palladio suite and an attached junior suite and two double rooms. The palladio suite was magnificent. It had spectacular views over the lagoon. It has a beautiful, living/dining room. It also has a spectacular terrace with a private plunge pool. The terrace also has spectacular views. The main bathroom is huge(400 square feet) and totally luxurious. The powder room is also nice. The suite felt very up to date w/ central ac and plasma screens but thats normal for a five star hotel. The connecting junior suite was also luxurious. It had a nice terrace and big bathroom and a sitting area. The two double rooms were nice too, they both had nice terraces, good bathrooms and were up to date in technolongy. Overall i would give the rooms 5 out of 5.
Dining
The first night we ate at fortuny-the main resteraunt. We decided to eat here and skip eating on the mainland because the headwaiter there used to waiter at my parents usual resteraunt Le Cirque in nyc and he reccomended it. It had nice ambiance and excellent food but we all felt we had made a mistake by eating here and not at cip's. I would reccomend you eat at cips and not fortuny(even though it is very good). The next two nights we ate in venice at da fiore and da ivo. I would reccomend them both. The room service was excellent and the breakfast was delicous. We also eat at the poolside resteraunt multiple time which was great.
The only thing not amazing about the dining is that service is rather slow. My family moves very fast and we get very anxious so slow service aint for us.
Service- The service is rather slow, but the people were very nice. Except for the concierge who were stuffy--almost rude.
Hotel/Grounds
The hotel is beautifully set on an island. It is great because it is very private--away from the crazy tourism center of venice. The pool is spectacular but its salt water so wear google you can buy them at the botique. I played tennis every day at 5 and the tennis court is beautiful and the pro excellent and very nice. The gardens are amazingly maincured. One tip- go to the guidecca by cips club on the island--its fun walking around there. Theres also a beautiful church thats fun to look at there. Overall the hotel and grounds is unbeatable.

  • Liked — The beautiful hotel and grounds
  • Disliked — The slow service
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank traveljunkienyc101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2007

We had a one-bedroom suite with two balconies and a view of the lagoon - what could be better than that? The hotel's not inexpensive, but it's got the service and the accommodations to back up the price, at least by Venice's standards. Also, the buffet breakfast was absolutely decadent. Perhaps the best spread I've ever seen.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Globbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
240 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2007

I considered rating this a 4 rather than a 5 but the imperfections of the Cipriani are not really the point of it. It is the most beautiful hotel in an incredible city. The physical space and environment that it allows guests is a perfect balance to the dense streets of Venice. The gardens and pool are beautiful.

I completely recommend the hotel. BUT - you need to go in the right frame of mind. It is expensive (€1000 per night) for a very normal size room (which manages be 30 years since refurbishment without being worn out - how I don't know). The front desk staff are stuffy, borderline rude. However, in my experience the majority of Italian high-end hotels have the same problem. The compensation is that you leave feeling you have had a unique experience. Increasingly difficult in the world of Four Seasons.

I would not stay anywhere else in Venice if you are up for the price. I personally don't see the attraction of being in the centre of the City when you can cross the lagoon from the Cipriani in 10 minutes. The other 5* hotels (mostly a Starwood clique) are cheaper but the Cipriani is better value.

Other points. Breakfast is great - especially if you sit outside. Dinner in the restaurant is disappointing plus they have a jacket and tie dress code which is annoyingly not enforced (better not to have it - so irritating to have to put on a tie and then see that everyone else can ignore it). Eat out - food and ambiance is better.

Spa is good (but not top standard).

In summary, fantastic. But if you are irritated by imperfect rooms, high prices and snotty staff, best to avoid. In fact, you probably shouldn't go to Italy.

  • Liked — Unique environment
  • Disliked — The staff
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank JT14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
495 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 462 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2007

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Hotel Cipriani. It did meet all our expectations. We had booked the "venetian interlude" package direct with the hotel which includes a junior suite, breakfast plus one other meal of your choice each day, plus a beauty treatment.

Our room on the third floor had a terrace and overlooked the lagoon which was lovely. Marble bathroom with 2 sinks, standard size bath and a wonderful walk- in shower.

We had dinner at the formal restaurant and at the Cips, and had lunch at the pool side restaurant. The food at all of these restaurants was very good indeed. The service is professional and friendly without being stuffy or indifferent.

For a total cost of 130 euros, the hotel arranged for us to be met at the airport on arrival, driven to the watertaxi stand and taken by a private watertaxi direct to the hotel. I know it may be cheaper to DIY but the ease of having yourself plus luggage transported for you to and into the watertaxi from the airport is, in my opinion, an amount worth spending (especially if you have heavy/bulky luggage)

The beauty treatments were excellent and lovely to have after a day of walking around and sightseeing.

The outdoor heated swimming pool is wonderful and fortunately we had some great weather so we could enjoy swimming and lounging. Some of the suites have loungers specifically allocated to them - but if you are not in one of these suites, the pool attendant is more than happy to move unreserved loungers to wherever you want them around the pool.

I would definitely recommend this hotel . Yes it is expensive and so not worth going to if you are going to faint at the price of a gin and tonic (24 euros by the way).

Only one thing I would suggest to anyone going there and planning to have dinner in CIPs. We had intended eating at CIPs the first night and the formal restaurant the second night (which was our wedding anniversary). It was raining on the first day/night, however, and when we arrived we were told that the earliest we could have dinner in the CIPS restaurant would be 9-9.30pm. As we had been up since 4am we didn't want to eat that late. The restaurant could not accommodate us any earlier as the outside terrace was not open on account of the weather and the inside part of the restaurant was already fully booked. In the end we swapped over and ate in the formal restaurant the first night instead which was able to accommodate us at 8pm. So it was not a problem for us. However, if you are planning to dine on the first night you arrive and are specific about when you want to eat - you may want to contact the hotel in advance to reserve a table at a specific time.

A very special hotel - whether it is a "once in a lifetime" treat or a regular break.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank dee090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2007

We had no hesitation in booking the Cipriani based on its reputation alone despite some slightly negative reviews on this site. Main complaints seem to refer to the size and quality of the rooms. Based on our experience this is entirely groundless. We had a lovely standard room which was more than big enough for two people and a bathroom which was not huge but perfectly well appointed. The standard of decor in both was absolutely excellent with no complaint whatsover - although obviously you have to understand this hotel is decorated in a very classical style and there are no smart, sleek, modern, minimalist features.
Yes it is expensive but so is everywhere in Venice but for us, the room, location (ie away from the hubbub of the main islands but with very easy access), facilities and above all, service, made it worth every penny. Every single member of staff went out of their way on every occasion to be friendly and very helpful.
The buffet breakfast was fabulous and more than enough to see us through to pre dinner nibbles. We didn't eat in the hotel other than breakfast but heard from other guests and visitors that the food was excellent. It was too chilly for us to use the pool but it looked gorgeous and the one evening we went to the bar for a nightcap, there was a fantastic pianist playing which created a wondeful atmosphere.
We have stayed in some excellent hotels around the world (several One & Only properties, the Santa Caterina in Amalfi etc) and found the Cipriani to be on exactly the same par and would highly recommend it to anyone.
The only caution I would give is to bear in mind you do need to take a shuttle boat back and forth from the hotel to the main islands and if you are the sort of person who likes to pop back to your room throughout the day, this could be a drawback. Also, because of the geographic location of the hotel, none of the rooms (apart from one particular suite) affords a view over St Mark's Square or the Grand Canal - not a major problem, but worth knowing.

  • Liked — quality of accommodation and service
  • Disliked — cost but that is to be anticipated
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Hackney13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2006

Nearly everything about the Cipriani was fabulous- the motorboat that whisks you across the lagoon in minutes, the attentive staff, who sent up a birthday cake having simply noted my partner's birthday from his passport, the lush gardens, the restaurants with their fabulous views of the lagoon, the heated pool.... It's the first place where I ever saw a packet of cigarettes "served" on a silver salver, opened and with a single cigarette sticking out....

Our only quibble was with our room- it felt cramped and slightly shabby- not quite tip top. OK for an averagehotel but not theCipriani. The bathroom was even tinier, and the fact that the bathtub was a jacuzzi did not make up for the fact that there was hardly space to lay out our toilet bags...

This meant that we spent quite a bit of time lounging in the gardens or by the pool recuperating from our cultural forays into Venice.....only retreating to our romm when we absolutely had to

Plus, it's expensive...but I guess you knew that already

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Ojay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Giudecca
Palladio Hotel & Spa
Palladio Hotel & Spa
#97 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#43 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Cipriani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Cipriani

Property: Belmond Hotel Cipriani
Address: Isola della Giudecca 10, 30133 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Giudecca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Venice
#21 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#22 Business Hotel in Venice
#24 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#40 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Cipriani 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If Venice is a theatre, Belmond Hotel Cipriani is the Royal Box. It is a resort: a way of life, an island apart, in every sense. And it involves all the senses that make a stay unforgettable. Five minutes by private launch from St. Mark’s Square, on the tip of the Giudecca Island, Belmond Hotel Cipriani is in the heart of the city but removed from its hustle and bustle. Its 95 rooms and suites are exquisitely decorated with magnificent views over the open lagoon, the gardens and St. Marks. A day here is made up of layers of wonderful experiences, from luxuriating beside the Olympic-size swimming pool (the only one in central Venice) to relaxing with a signature treatment at the Casanova Wellness Centre. The Casanova gardens offer an oasis of peace, perfect for a Thai Chi session before heading off with a private boat for a personalised excursion in the lagoon. Choose to dine at the new Oro Restaurant for a timeless dining experience or at the iconic Cip’s Club admiring the view on St. Mark’s. Sip a signature cocktail at the Gabbiano Bar or enjoy a light lunch at the Porticciolo Restaurant. A red-clay tennis court, a gym and dedicated Kids' Club with pool are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Belmond, Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Belmond Hotel Cipriani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cipriani And Palazzo Vendramin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing