We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded luxury - but in a good way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Cipriani
Ranked #31 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Faded luxury - but in a good way”
Reviewed October 6, 2009

There's something more than a little dated about the Cipriani - whether it's the 70's style of the bedrooms and open spaces, or the other guests....However that's not necessarily a bad thing. The quality and attention to detail are high, but without the stuffiness or self-consciousness you can get at high-design hotels. The gardens, private launch, fabulous swimming pool and lagoon side breakfasts all make it worth it. But don't bother with the Fortuny restaurant: rather boring, overpriced and old-fashioned.

  • Liked — Position on the lagoon
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DiMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    119
    35
    15
    12
See reviews for
125
472
29
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2009

After previous visits to the Cipriani for dinner when in Venice, last months was not the special occasion we remembered. Food very much the same as everywhere else, staff similar but of-course prices are much higher. When ordering cheese at the end of the meal, six small pieces arrived one of which you could see through. As a portion of cheese costs thirty euros, we asked for more of the gorganzola. When the bill arrived, a charge of ninety euros (about £80) for cheese was on the bill - this was rectified but not professionally. Past experiences were better with exceptional personalities (I remember one called Paolo) when even the pianist helped to make the evening memorable. With this still in our minds and with the rate of exchange being what it is - we won't be going again. Found good food elsewhere with extra cheese 'on the house'.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Leo516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2009

Extremely expensive but you feel like you have arrived in the middle of a James Bond Movie. Make sure you get a newly renovated room as the first room we were offered was more like a Las Vegas Honeymoon Suite from the seventies. Believe me, that is not a compliment! The second room had a marble bathroom and the most amazing view plus it was newly furnished. We had the most amazing two days here. The staff was lovely, the food exquisite. Loved the boat trips to St. Marks Square and we felt very priviliged to be able to leave the crowds and arrive back to this peaceful haven. The salt water pool is gorgeous.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veni123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Originally planned 3 night stay as part of an engagement weekend but changed it to 1 and 2 nights at the Gritti Palace. Best decision i have made in a long while! Considering i was spending 3 times as much as a comparible room at the Gritti Palace i was expecting something really special. The launch to the hotel is shinny;the welcome was cordial but the hotel was just plain ordinary. We were upgraded to a suite which was beautiful but so it should be at just short of £2,000 per night!!!! This is silly money. The hotel is like a decent 3/4 star Mediterranean hotel nothing special. The grounds are disappointing which was a shame as i had to hastly rethink where i was going to propose to my girlfriend. (Outside St Marks at 1am was my late venue change). The pool is indeed splendid and much welcome after a hot day in Venice. The Bellini were dreadful. The Fortuny restaurant was not as elegant as it would like it to be thought it was and as it poured with rain we were faced with the rather dated interior of the restaurant which we eschewed for the much nicer (and much more pleasant and helpful head waiter) Cips which overlooks St Marks. Much more romantic though again at around £250 for dinner for 2 (which would cost half that in a top restaurant in London) one was left wondering was the experience that special. Whilst waiting for our table in the Fortuny restaurant we waited in the Bar next to it. No sooner seated were we informed that the Bar at 9.30pm was closing and we had to go elsewhere. To be fair the head waiter gave the young barman a talking to and we stayed but at this level we could buy the bar!
So what are the upsides to the hotel. Not many. The launch was nice and romantic to summon it as 1am to cross over the lagoon to propose to my girlfriend. It is nice to escape to a pool on a hot summer's day with Venice so close. The rooms are beautiful but that i am afraid is that. Overall one is left with the sad feeling that one has been robbed. To pay £2,000 per night you expect something extraordinary. You dont get that. The Gritti is a third of the price and much more authentic and easier for sight seeing. I had been told the hotel launch would take you to the airport. Wrong. A water taxi takes you there which costs twice as much as if you had gone to St Marks and hailed it yourself! Even as we left one was left with a bad taste. I would probably return if somebody else was picking up the bill! Otherwise thanks but no thanks.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Charmingtoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

venice is a beautiful place but this hotel doesnt do it justice. my second visit to venice but first to this property and i cannot emphasise the dissapointment i endurered. from the moment i stepped off the water taxi i was disspointed with all before me. first no concierge to help with the bags, dissapointing rooms irrespective of the price, when you factor in the price (2,400 euros per night) even more depressing. food by the pool dissapointing, at least there was a pool and not to crowded. would recommend the ca'sa gredo hotel for anyone above this place, better rooms and friendlier atmosphere. cipriani obviously has an awesome publicity machine selling this average property. a few bulgari cosmetics in the bathroom does not make up for the other faults.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mronion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2009

We had been recommended to go to the pool side restaurant and have the buffet. 29 Euros each but the food was delicious and a lovely setting. We took a good 2 hours over our lunch and felt totally unhurried. Very nice, discreet staff. I would avoid the other restaurants in the hotel as they are very expensive but I felt this was good value (for Venice!). You catch the complimentary boat from S.Marco over to the hotel. We spent an hour in the gardens before hand - beautifully scented buy jasmine everywhere. A lovely half day

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Farnham_SurreySarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

I was able to get a away for an afternoon and check out this amazing hotel. I work for a fashion company and want to use this hotel for future business. The rooms were beautiful and kept very well. The pool and grounds are beautiful, and lunch was really nice. This hotel is in a wonderful location and gets you away from the crowds of Venice.
If you are looking for something extra special this is the place to stay. If you go during the summer dont forget the bathing suit, the pool was gorgeous.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank junoman973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Giudecca
Palladio Hotel & Spa
Palladio Hotel & Spa
#76 of 385 in Venice
644 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#70 of 385 in Venice
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Cipriani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Cipriani

Property: Belmond Hotel Cipriani
Address: Isola della Giudecca 10, 30133 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Giudecca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Venice
#21 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#22 Business Hotel in Venice
#24 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#40 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Cipriani 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If Venice is a theatre, Belmond Hotel Cipriani is the Royal Box. It is a resort: a way of life, an island apart, in every sense. And it involves all the senses that make a stay unforgettable. Five minutes by private launch from St. Mark’s Square, on the tip of the Giudecca Island, Belmond Hotel Cipriani is in the heart of the city but removed from its hustle and bustle. Its 95 rooms and suites are exquisitely decorated with magnificent views over the open lagoon, the gardens and St. Marks. A day here is made up of layers of wonderful experiences, from luxuriating beside the Olympic-size swimming pool (the only one in central Venice) to relaxing with a signature treatment at the Casanova Wellness Centre. The Casanova gardens offer an oasis of peace, perfect for a Thai Chi session before heading off with a private boat for a personalised excursion in the lagoon. Choose to dine at the new Oro Restaurant for a timeless dining experience or at the iconic Cip’s Club admiring the view on St. Mark’s. Sip a signature cocktail at the Gabbiano Bar or enjoy a light lunch at the Porticciolo Restaurant. A red-clay tennis court, a gym and dedicated Kids' Club with pool are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Belmond, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belmond Hotel Cipriani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cipriani And Palazzo Vendramin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing