We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A DREAM COME TRUE....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hotel Cipriani

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Hotel Cipriani to your Saves list
Belmond Hotel Cipriani
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Isola della Giudecca 10, 30133 Venice, Italy (Giudecca)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Discount on Suites
Ranked #27 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
san diego
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A DREAM COME TRUE....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I have always wanted to stay in this hotel but on previous visits it was closed during the Winter. From the moment the train arrived in Santa Lucia and we were met by the Cipirani staff member I knew we had made the right choice. There are many luxury hotel in Venice but only one like this. The boat ride along the Grand Canal is a great passage to the hotel and we were greeted at the dock of the hotel by porters who swept us away through the lovely landscaped front entrance.The rooms were not quite ready so we were escorted to the beautiful poolside restaurant for a relaxing lunch. The pool is the largest hotel pool in Italy and is heated to 82F with saltwater. Just a delight. Upon entering our room, escorted by a staff member, we were shown all of the features and then taken outside to the enormous terrace we had overlooking the pool and a portion of the gardens. All of the gardens were in full bloom and looked spectacular yet welcoming. The breakfast in the restaurant or on the terrace or in your room is superb and offer EVERYTHING you could possibly want. what a way to start your day before touring Venice. The hotel boat runs 24/7 back and forth to St.Mark's and is complimentary. For those with no deire to tour or shop then the hotel is a perfect place to spend the day with a full service spa and gym and plenty of places to walk to and explore. This was a part of Venice I did not know existed. the highlight of the trip was dinner in Cips, the casual restaurant, with the most impressive view of Venice. What a perfect ending to a vacation. It juts out on the water and even moves slightly as boats pass by.So many choices on the menu will allow and appetite to be satisfied. There is a new gourmet restaurant also within the hotel but we did not have time to experince it during our two days. The staff is well trained, well informed and totally understand the meaning of guest service. The grounds and public areas are in pristine condition. You MUST vist Belmond Hotel Cipriani.

Room Tip: If you wish to reserve a suite, then those with the large terraces overlooking the pool are best. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joppnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    101
    30
    14
    9
See reviews for
104
394
27
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yelverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel itself is in an idyllic position far enough away from the crowds but easy to get into Venice itself by the hotel's own launch which runs 24/7. The rooms - especially the bathrooms are magnificent - and are well equipped with toiletries etc. The Lagoon view from our room was magnificent. The Staff were pleasant and helpful. The one downside was the meal we had in the Oro Restaurant. Although the food was delicious and well presented the service the night we ate there left a lot to be desired! We waited one hour for our appetiser, our wine never materialised with the main course (although we were given a brandy with our coffee by way of apology) and the rest of the meal was also beset by delays. Hopefully this was an unusual experience and the next time we go things will be better.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Situated literally next to the Cipriani hotel on Giudecca the Belmond actually allows you a better view of Venice at a fraction of the price. Having stayed at the Cipriani which is gorgeous i can honestly say the room we stayed in is as nice as some of the ones in the Cipriani - maybe less grand but equally as stylish and with MUCH BETTER VIEWS! Our room was directly opposite St Marks Square. We had a hotel shuttle water taxi to take us across. The service at the reception was excellent. Breakfasts were fantastic - sitting outside in a beautiful garden. I would recommend room 111 - its fabulous!!

Room Tip: Room 111 was amazing - a duplex room with a lovely bathroom (good sized bath) and a sitting room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrElk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This was a return visit for us but it still sparkled for us,and in sharp contrast to their Splendido hotel. Must be one of the true best hotels in the world. Position helps but staff, who breathe the job and enjoy it, shine through as the icing on the cake

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is a real show stopper, a hotel which you arrive by your own boat,, brillant views of the Lagoon & Venice. The resturants are all brillant, great food & great service.
There is an outside swimming pool & gardens with all with service to match. As for a lagoon room if possiable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
286 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

If you've read my other reviews then you'll know I some times wax lyrical and this provides plenty of scope. By far the best hotel I have ever stayed in and cannot wait to return to. Sublime and stunning and superb. It could only have been improved if the legendary George Clooney appeared to serve us cocktails! 

We arrived by vaporetto and were warmly welcomed by name, after very brief formalities at reception ( a point we enjoyed) we were treated to a tour of the hotel by an enthusiastic and passionate staff member who clearly loves his job. 

We were shown our lagoon view suite, welcomed with Prosecco and settled into pure luxury. A lovely entry space, huge sitting room/ dining room/ study a massive king bedroom and humungous double bathroom with spa bath, separate shower, separate toilet and heaps of wardrobe space and drawers with heaps of great hangars. My favourite are that the Bvalgari toiletries come in two fragrances, there's also Molton &Brown toiletries and there's a tooth mug and best of all a huge pot of cotton balls, shaving/make up mirror. Decor throughout a lovely restrained traditional Italian with wonderful muted colours and drapes. 

View to die for across terrace and garden to lagoon with boats and sunshine. Other rooms look over swimming pool or grade which is also green and lovely. Reccomend the lagoon view and you can choose a room with a small balcony . 

Service is perfect, warm, friendly without being obtrusive or pretentious and you are made to feel like an honored family member rather than a short term guest. Congoerge's very obliging and a day on the lagoon in the hotel boa, Sylvia, with Captain Fabio was great fun and reccomended. Service in restaurants refined, efficient, warm and friendly conversation.

Pool is large and lovely with plenty of space to lounge in the sun or sip drinks under the shade. The garden is beautifully maintained, rambling roses, fruit rrees and olives, rolling lawn, a statue garden for children and a huge herb garden. A a lovely spot to enjoy a quiet drink. 

Breakfast on the terrace is lovely with stunning views and one of the best and highest quality breakfast bar selections I've encountered. Cooked breakfast excellent too. Only slight criticism is the croissant are uninspiring!

Restaurants fabulous - see my reviews for Cips and Oro. Both highly reccomended. 

Room Tip: A lagoon view is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Last visit to the Cipriani was for the Venice Film Festival, and there is no better hotel to choose for that event. Away from the maddening crowds of Venice mainland, yet just a small (free) boat ride from St Mark's Square, this tranquil setting is a hop away from the Lido, where the festival takes place. And, for that week, expect to bump into plenty of famous people from the acting world.

Best meal of the day is breakfast - what a location / view!

Room Tip: Water-front and balcony are worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank property4wealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#37 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Giudecca
Bauer Palladio Hotel & Spa
San Marco
Bauer Il Palazzo
Bauer Il Palazzo
#41 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 661 reviews
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Cipriani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Cipriani

Property: Belmond Hotel Cipriani
Address: Isola della Giudecca 10, 30133 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Giudecca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Venice
#19 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#22 Business Hotel in Venice
#24 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#40 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Cipriani 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If Venice is a theatre, Belmond Hotel Cipriani is the Royal Box. It is a resort: a way of life, an island apart, in every sense. And it involves all the senses that make a stay unforgettable. Five minutes by private launch from St. Mark’s Square, on the tip of the Giudecca Island, Belmond Hotel Cipriani is in the heart of the city but removed from its hustle and bustle. Its 95 rooms and suites are exquisitely decorated with magnificent views over the open lagoon, the gardens and St. Marks. A day here is made up of layers of wonderful experiences, from luxuriating beside the Olympic-size swimming pool (the only one in central Venice) to relaxing with a signature treatment at the Casanova Wellness Centre. The Casanova gardens offer an oasis of peace, perfect for a Thai Chi session before heading off with a private boat for a personalised excursion in the lagoon. Choose to dine at the new Oro Restaurant for a timeless dining experience or at the iconic Cip’s Club admiring the view on St. Mark’s. Sip a signature cocktail at the Gabbiano Bar or enjoy a light lunch at the Porticciolo Restaurant. A red-clay tennis court, a gym and dedicated Kids' Club with pool are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Belmond, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Belmond Hotel Cipriani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cipriani And Palazzo Vendramin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing