We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Expensive, but well worth it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hotel Cipriani

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Cipriani
Ranked #29 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Pacific Palisades, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Expensive, but well worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Yes, you will pay a lot to stay at the Cipriani, particularly with a lagoon view, but it is an amazing place.

Other than the prices, there is nothing not to like about the Cipriani. The grounds are extraordinary, while not in Venice proper, all the tourist attractions can be reached in minutes via the shuttle that runs every 15 minutes or so. The hotels location outside the main part of Venice allows you to escape from the crowds seeing the sites and spend a relaxing few hours around the pool.

The food is excellent and the service, overall, is impeccable.

If the prices won't break your budget, the Cipriani is definitely a great place to stay when in Venice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AviatorMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    104
    32
    14
    9
See reviews for
107
404
28
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Cipriani is very quiet and peaceful away from the crowded touristic island. It is my first choice if I would like to have a good sleep and good food in a friendly environment. The hotel staff are friendly. It is a family-friendly hotel with some activities for the kids.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alsherebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We started our Italian honeymoon in the hotel. I had always wanted to go to Venice. We departed the orient express train and were met by a personal escort. We traveled to the hotel by private water taxi, what an experience. The only disappointing thing about Venice was the weather, it rained the whole time we were there! We were greeted at the hotel by several members of staff, we felt like the film stars that stay here! Elton johns house is right next door! We were upgraded to a beautiful garden suite that led out onto the swimming pool area. The room was spacious and the bathroom was amazing. We were told by Italian friends that this was the best hotel on Venice and omg they were so right. The staff are amazing, the food faultless and you really feel like you are in your own private paradise away from the hustle and bustle of Venice. Roberto the head concierge is brilliant, he told us to put bad, but we couldn't! He is so helpful. All of the staff go out of their way to help you. We stayed over Easter and the little touches around the hotel were brill. We ate in every restaurant/bar in the hotel and they are all amazing. The selection and quality is fantastic, the wine selection and sommeliers are very interesting. Thank you for thoroughly spoiling us.

Room Tip: The garden rooms would be amazing in suitable weather!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I would give the Cipriani more than 5 stars if I could because it is simply my favorite hotel in the world. This was our 6th trip to the Cipriani and for me, there is no other place to stay in Venice during the warm weather season. The property is exquisite and I especially enjoy the pool to which I retreat every afternoon after a busy day of looking at art and wandering around Venice. Our room this year was exquisite. The service is unbeatable, with a concierge service that is available round the clock to make restaurant and touring recommendations both before and during one's stay. The atmosphere at the hotel is friendly and low-key. It feels like a club and guests enjoy speaking to each other and sharing travel and dining tips. We also enjoyed a lovely al fresco meal at the Fortuny Restaurant dining under the stars. There are few things in life that are perfect and this is one of them.

Room Tip: Lagoon view or poolside access
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Astrid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The level of service was of the highest level, the restaurants were excellent and the pool is beautiful. A very romantic hotel and a must stay for anyone visiting Venice. Thank you for making it an amazing trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yousef M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

What a fantastic place, just perfect.

We arrived on the Orient Express from Paris and staff from the Cipriani boarded the train near Venice to check us in so there was no wait when you step from the boat into this wonderful oasis on an island facing St Mark's Square. You're whisked to your room which is bound to be beautiful, just as ours were.

The Cipriani has a 'clubby' feel and you're instantly a member. The staff are super efficient but friendly and all seem to have the most amazing memories for your preferences.

So, with that and the fact that there's lots to do in the hotel itself (numerous bars, restaurants, the fabulous pool, gardens), it would be easy to stay put and not venture out to Venice. But the Cipriani has cracked that too and provides a complimentary launch that runs 24 hours to shuttle you to and from the hotel to St Mark's Square. And when you've done the sights or had dinner, it's wonderful to return to the oasis of calm.

It's obvious that people return year after year to this wonderful property. I can see why and fully intend to be one of them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCE63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My wife and I took up the Orient Express offer of staying here and travelling back on the train.
Flying in across the Alps and Dolomites and landing with Venice sparkling in the sun to your right was exciting enough.
Then a private transfer by water taxi (i.e. speed launch!) was a magical way to arrive in Venice.
The Cipriani itself is brilliant and you can't help but feel the history.Getting the motor launch to and from St Marks Square makes you feel like a movie star.even if you aren't.
The pool is brilliant,the grounds on its own private island are magical (especially considering the compact nature of the rest of Venice),the restaurants were all good and the service was absolutely top class - warmth and friendliness that comes with the confidence of places that know they are first rate and special.
We had lunch at the Danieli once and although the meal was great i noticed that that it was a stuffier, less friendly service than we experienced at the Cipriani.
All in all it was an absolutely perfect place to stay to visit Venice.
Having the Orient Express train journey home was special so look out for those offers (usually published at Christmas for trips around March/April time) as the combined deal is well worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LBA1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#39 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Giudecca
Palladio Hotel & Spa
Palladio Hotel & Spa
#64 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Il Palazzo
Bauer Il Palazzo
#44 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Cipriani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Cipriani

Property: Belmond Hotel Cipriani
Address: Isola della Giudecca 10, 30133 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Giudecca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Venice
#21 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#22 Business Hotel in Venice
#24 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#40 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Cipriani 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If Venice is a theatre, Belmond Hotel Cipriani is the Royal Box. It is a resort: a way of life, an island apart, in every sense. And it involves all the senses that make a stay unforgettable. Five minutes by private launch from St. Mark’s Square, on the tip of the Giudecca Island, Belmond Hotel Cipriani is in the heart of the city but removed from its hustle and bustle. Its 95 rooms and suites are exquisitely decorated with magnificent views over the open lagoon, the gardens and St. Marks. A day here is made up of layers of wonderful experiences, from luxuriating beside the Olympic-size swimming pool (the only one in central Venice) to relaxing with a signature treatment at the Casanova Wellness Centre. The Casanova gardens offer an oasis of peace, perfect for a Thai Chi session before heading off with a private boat for a personalised excursion in the lagoon. Choose to dine at the new Oro Restaurant for a timeless dining experience or at the iconic Cip’s Club admiring the view on St. Mark’s. Sip a signature cocktail at the Gabbiano Bar or enjoy a light lunch at the Porticciolo Restaurant. A red-clay tennis court, a gym and dedicated Kids' Club with pool are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Belmond Hotel Cipriani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cipriani And Palazzo Vendramin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing