We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Unique, Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hotel Cipriani

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Cipriani
Ranked #29 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Unique, Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

How can I describe perfection? The Cipriani is an unforgettable experience we will long to repeat, extraordinary place. The care to the smallest details is hard to match.
The place to be spoilt. I recommend the amazing pool grill as well as the restaurant overlooking sunset kber Venice. Perfection.

Room Tip: All rooms are, I believe, exceptional, but the ones overlooking the lagoon are unbelievable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    104
    32
    14
    9
See reviews for
106
403
28
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jasper, Georgia USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in mid September. We were upgraded to a refurbished Junior Suite on the first floor of the main building. Our room was very close to the hotel entrance where the boats dock. It had a private patio with very dense and tall landscaping. The room had a nice multi-speaker stereo system with an iPod dock. The bathroom was beautiful and the tub had a neck cushion for added comfort. The toilet was too close to the wall and it was hard to fit on it. There was a pop up TV at the head of the bed if you like this type of thing. The couch and chairs looked nice but weren't comfortable. The bed sheets were very starchy also and not comfortable. The service overall was excellent. The two restaurants served great food which was included in the price of the room. We enjoyed Cuban cigars at the pool bar. The views from Cip's Club restaurant of the Lagoon and Venice were worth the price of admission. I especially liked being on an island away from the hordes of tourists invading downtown Venice. Venice today is like a outdoor designer shopping mall. I think this degrades the experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed here in October 2012. Made a reservation for a lagoon view junior suite and was upgraded to a full suite on arrival. Room was nice, fairly large with a double balcony, and a separate bedroom. Nice bathroom amenities and free wi-fi was a plus. There is a do not disturb switch at the bedside which glows a bright red when switched on, which is not conducive to sleeping. The room and hotel itself was a bit dated and could certainly use a fresh coat of paint. Certainly, swapping out the CD players for iPod docks is recommended. However, the people who stay here are old and so is the money. You won't see a lot of young people here except for the odd trust fund kid with his millionaire parents. The privacy and exclusivity demanded by the aforementioned guests can be found here. The boat transfers to the main island were quick and efficient although they should be more clear about how to call for a return boat. Someone needs to mind the business centre as the printers there were never working during my stay. Housekeeping was meticulous and turn down was always completed while we were at dinner. Service as well was exceptional although I would suggest adding food and drink service poolside. Both Fortuny and Cip's Place were excellent for both service and food. The servers at Fortuny were great during the dinner rush when the restaurant fills up as soon as it is open. Overall, I'm happy to have stayed here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank zoltrix56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I consider myself a somewhat jaded traveller and have stayed at numerous hotels over the years. However,the Hotel Cipriani still managed to impress and I regard it as one of my all time favourite. The location itself, on the waterfront across the Giudecca Canal from St Mark's Square and with views of the neighbouring island of San Giorgio Maggiore is pretty hard to beat. It even has its own complimentary motor launch to St Mark's Square operating every 15 minutes. The staff members are attentive and helpful. I am not easily impressed but this property is beautiful and its gardens are magical. Yes, it is expensive but in my view, it perfectly captures the romance and fantasy that is Venice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EricPerth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here in early October 2012 for four nights. First impressions upon arrival on the water taxi was beautiful! We were greeted and escorted to reception as if we were film stars! As Kim Kardashian was there the same time as us perhaps they thought I was her!!! Our room was smaller than expected but elegantly decorated. The bed however was very firm and we requested a king bed but actually had two singles pushed together! We dined in both restaurants and the food was delicious but a little pricey. Service excellent, all staff very helpful. The private water taxi was brilliant, very frequent and only took 5 mins to get to St Marks. Concierge arranged a private boat to take us to Burano, they even payed cash for us and charged it to our room. They also organised a personal our guide for a morning too. They recommended restaurants outside of the hotel and made bookings on our behalf. Very helpful! Pool was fab and very warm. Highly recommend and can't wait to go back. Spa great and best breakfast ever!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wonderwom8n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I realize that Euro hotels are different than USA luxury hotels. I went to Hotel Cipriani with such high hopes. I was very disappointed. I did not know I had to shuttle back and forth to get to Venice. Not hard but inconvenient . The hotel lobby was so plain in comparison to other Luxury Hotels in Venice. I knew I was in trouble the moment we entered. Very cold atmosphere, and the rooms followed that path.
No carpeting was the first sign, that makes for a very cold and uninviting room, the bed was old style, very hard not comfortable. The pillows were very nice. It's only the first day of November and they had the heat cranked up you would have thought it was freezing outside and it was not.
The bathroom was the only saving's grace as it was very nice with great towels and big US style shower.
The hotel did include free wifi which I did appreciate and the complementary breakfast was very good and fresh.
The expense of this property however outweighed the few amenities that I enjoyed, It's so over-rated and under performing, you can do much better in Venice at a much lower price with GREAT locations!
If you are rock star and you require complete isolation or you just want privacy then Hotel Cipriani might appeal to you, otherwise I feel like you may be unhappy with this hotel.
I would not recommend or return to this property.

Room Tip: investigate every aspect of your stay and do the research prior to booking, a good deal on a place y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Yes i will say the overall Cipriani Hotel experience was amazing as its not something one will do twice, if they cant afford it, in their lifetime. So, Its for this reason i personally was a little dissappointed on a number of things during our 5 day stay within my room perse - for instance clothes storage was ridiculously small and we had a suite in the Palazzo Vendramin and yes the staff arranged a mobile clothes rack when asked but this could only fit in my lounge room, thus made my visual experience a little "downgraded"(reminded me of my uni years). the scuffed parquet flooring could have done with a polish(something it seemed to lack for probably 2 years) light switches were hit and miss as you never knew how to turn lights on and off, water jugs didnt work - no coffee machine in the room!! so we needed to order which we got charged for like a wounded bull so you would wonder why the Hotel wouldnt consider a little Nespresso machine for the customer to enjoy free of charge because i couldnt think that the Hotel relied on this little "extra" to assist with Revenue of the Hotel considering the room rates.. exhaust fan in the bathroom didnt work ?? so after the wife showered everything fogged up hence didnt fix it either within the 5 days we were there..the bath plug didnt allow the water out when showering so it was always a bathtub in the end. lots of mosquitoes...lots. request the plug in mosquitoe killers and hope they work before you wake up and find out that it didnt(something you would think a hotel of this calibre would ensure didnt occur right?!).. food was generally nice but i wouldnt say extraordinary. the Hotel grounds are beautiful as well as amazing as there is nothing that matches this in Venice - the heated olympic sized pool - the views of St Marks Square from Cips Bar, the views at Breakfast across the lagoon are amazing. staff are friendly however like always there was one that we seemed never to get along with as he had a real attitude at the front desk. the continuous transport to Venice every 15 minutes made you feel special as everyone knows you are coming or going to Cipriani so they think of you as some rock star....my thoughts are simple and i feel that the older the property the owners feel that the less they need to change it to offer the "old appeal" however i generally feel that the modern day traveller moves around with a lot more things/suitcases/toiletries/shoes etc etc that the properties should have a certain element of upgrading to cater for this regard. so when the real area of the Hotel that one would constantly use(being the room/suite) has certain comfort issues then your overall feel of the place gets affected. unfortunately thats my opinion and i hope i have raised a few points for others to take note of when booking at this once in a lifetime place...

Room Tip: if you want to look over at St Marks Square you need to get a room in the Palazzo Verdramin or Palaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank gazzzadubai69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#38 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Giudecca
Palladio Hotel & Spa
Palladio Hotel & Spa
#65 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Il Palazzo
Bauer Il Palazzo
#43 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Cipriani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Cipriani

Property: Belmond Hotel Cipriani
Address: Isola della Giudecca 10, 30133 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Giudecca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Venice
#21 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#22 Business Hotel in Venice
#24 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#40 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Cipriani 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If Venice is a theatre, Belmond Hotel Cipriani is the Royal Box. It is a resort: a way of life, an island apart, in every sense. And it involves all the senses that make a stay unforgettable. Five minutes by private launch from St. Mark’s Square, on the tip of the Giudecca Island, Belmond Hotel Cipriani is in the heart of the city but removed from its hustle and bustle. Its 95 rooms and suites are exquisitely decorated with magnificent views over the open lagoon, the gardens and St. Marks. A day here is made up of layers of wonderful experiences, from luxuriating beside the Olympic-size swimming pool (the only one in central Venice) to relaxing with a signature treatment at the Casanova Wellness Centre. The Casanova gardens offer an oasis of peace, perfect for a Thai Chi session before heading off with a private boat for a personalised excursion in the lagoon. Choose to dine at the new Oro Restaurant for a timeless dining experience or at the iconic Cip’s Club admiring the view on St. Mark’s. Sip a signature cocktail at the Gabbiano Bar or enjoy a light lunch at the Porticciolo Restaurant. A red-clay tennis court, a gym and dedicated Kids' Club with pool are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Belmond Hotel Cipriani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cipriani And Palazzo Vendramin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing