We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch at the Fortuny Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Cipriani
Ranked #29 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
worcestershire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lunch at the Fortuny Restaurant”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were hosted a lunch there as my partner is a travel agents. We were shown around the hotel first. What an amazing place. I would stay there if I could. The lunch was fantastic. The choice was ample. I had a salad to start and fish for my main course. Everything was as you would expect from a 5 star hotel. The staff at the Fortuny were friendly and helpful. You were never rushed or overlooked by them. But they were avaiable if you needed them. The view from the terrace was amazing. It was a lovely sunny day, good food. What more could you ask for.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamfanWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    114
    33
    15
    11
See reviews for
116
446
28
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Forget about anything else! Prepare you wallet and stay at the best hotel in Venice, possibly the best in the world. A marvelous, elegant property, with the most extraordinary hotel swimming pool, the Cipriani is in a class of its own: The room we stayed was a marvelous suite. The restaurants Cip and Fortuna offered some of the best meal we ever had. Breakfast is a feast. The service is efficient and informal, just impeccable. You ride a boat to the Piazza San Marco in 10 minutes, and we never had to wait for it. They have a great spa, with steaming bath and sauna. They have a tennis court... What else can we say?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank felipevaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

we have been in Venice to visit this magnificient city and we ended our day in Cipriani 's restaurant CIPs' - possible to reach FOR FREE by private motorboat of the Cipriani Hotel departing from St. Marks' square.(call operator from the booth and they will send a motorboat!)

The hotel is a luxury hotel that offers also to non-clients the possibility to have dinner on the sea terrace watching Venice and San Marco!
Food is excellently prepared by chef Roberto Gatto and presented to the table by a team of excellent waiters captained by Mr Adamello Bianco
we had a superb Branzino (sea bass) and Fresh fried fish with white wine and Bellini!
The service is unique and at the highest levels! all the waiters are constantly making sure that your experience is the best and that you never find yourself "waiting"... they can anticipate your needs : for example when you are looking around they are already in front of you asking "can I offer you some water, wine?..." just superlative!!!
thumbs up to this restaurant! complimenti CIPs!!!

Leo and Helen

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire, england
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Beautiful hotel, wonderful setting, very romantic. Def return in the future. Also delicious food, staff wonderful, service boat excellent. Beautiful gardens, vines, rose bushes. It really was a perfect surprise wedding anniversary treat from my husband.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank poppy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We were amazed at all the scenery! On location there was a garden filled with fresh veggies, herbs, grape vines and rose bushes! The view from the room was amazing and I personally couldn't get enough of it! Murt and I have never been to Venice before and I don't think he could have picked a better spot. We did think that the rooms were "okayish" but we weren't there for the size of the room.

When I wanted to iron my boyfriends shirt for dinner, housekeeping said that the room was not equipped with an iron nor was it safe to iron in the small space the room had. (room 307) The option was to use the in house service and of course, pay an arm and a leg for the service that was be ready no sooner than thirty minutes.

We were impressed with Luigi who greeted us as soon as we stepped off the water taxi. He registered our room and gave us a full run down of all amenities and restaurants the hotel had to offer. Luigi showed us up to our room and the staff greeted us as we passed each one. Warm welcomes indeed.

My personal favorite was the Cip's restaurant located along the water! The mussels were fantastic! My boyfriend loves mussels and by far, these were the best! I suggest making a reservation for this spot! Also make sure that the gentlemen wear pants, no shorts are allowed on the main dining on the water. Murt and I sat on the sidewalk area which is just as beautiful (he and another table of guests were wearing shorts)

We loved the hotel and I would love to come back. We did think it was a bit pricey for what it was, nonetheless a gorgeous spot filled with so much to see!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MurtissaUSUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I have stayed at the Cipriani twice - the 1st time when my husband and I were married, and the 2nd time when we went back for our 1st year wedding anniversary. My husband and I have stayed at many hotels around the world, and the Cipriani is undoubtedly the best! The staff really make the hotel - they anticipate your every need, and everything is so efficient! All the staff are incredibly friendly and charming. The pool is amazing - really the ultimate place to relax, and the spa treatments are indulgent, but worth it! The food is of another world - the breakfasts are delicious, the diiner at the Fortuny restaurant really is superb - the best meals I have ever had are at the Cipriani. The Cipriani really is my favourite place in the world and I would highly recommend that everyone has to stay there at least once - it is an experience in itself.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Wonderful place. Beautiful setting and delicious food. Came for my birthday and my partner proposed. Could not have asked for a more perfect setting for this to happen. The staff were very attentive and pleasant and the service of the boat to the square was very handy. Would recommend to anyone. I would however, state that some Americans (one of which sold mortgages) found it highly amusing that they could stitch poor gullible people up with mortgages that they could not afford and both myself and my partner were highly offended by these people

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chappell70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Giudecca
Palladio Hotel & Spa
Palladio Hotel & Spa
#91 of 386 in Venice
621 reviews
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#45 of 386 in Venice
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Cipriani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Cipriani

Property: Belmond Hotel Cipriani
Address: Isola della Giudecca 10, 30133 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Giudecca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Venice
#21 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#22 Business Hotel in Venice
#24 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#40 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Cipriani 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If Venice is a theatre, Belmond Hotel Cipriani is the Royal Box. It is a resort: a way of life, an island apart, in every sense. And it involves all the senses that make a stay unforgettable. Five minutes by private launch from St. Mark’s Square, on the tip of the Giudecca Island, Belmond Hotel Cipriani is in the heart of the city but removed from its hustle and bustle. Its 95 rooms and suites are exquisitely decorated with magnificent views over the open lagoon, the gardens and St. Marks. A day here is made up of layers of wonderful experiences, from luxuriating beside the Olympic-size swimming pool (the only one in central Venice) to relaxing with a signature treatment at the Casanova Wellness Centre. The Casanova gardens offer an oasis of peace, perfect for a Thai Chi session before heading off with a private boat for a personalised excursion in the lagoon. Choose to dine at the new Oro Restaurant for a timeless dining experience or at the iconic Cip’s Club admiring the view on St. Mark’s. Sip a signature cocktail at the Gabbiano Bar or enjoy a light lunch at the Porticciolo Restaurant. A red-clay tennis court, a gym and dedicated Kids' Club with pool are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Belmond, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belmond Hotel Cipriani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cipriani And Palazzo Vendramin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing