We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet place with beautiful walks” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Giudecca

La Giudecca
Book In Advance
More Info
$71.44*
and up
72-Hour Venice Transports Pass
Ranked #39 of 586 things to do in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The picturesque island of Giudecca is home to the world-famous Hotel Cipriani.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Quiet place with beautiful walks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Just 5 minutes by ferry from the busy crowds the island of Giudecca offers peace and quiet. Stroll around and enjoy for example the exquisite hidden garden of the hotel Cipriani. Walk through the blocks of the inhabitants and see some of the Venetians everyday life.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Mangosteenlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    171
    38
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Quite and not overcrowded”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

The best place to book accomodation at. It is only 1-2 stops from San Marco and main land but it's much nicer and not that crowded. There are few restaurants there which are not that overpriced and overcrowded. We had apartment booked at the back of Guidecca with lovely water view. There is also cheap supermarket just by the water which is a plus as well.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank KatieSmoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great alternative to Venice city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We rented an apartment on Giudecca which was great. We had a view over the water in the lagoon but it was only a short walk to the vaperrettos which ran frequently to St Marks Square or to the main station. We felt it was nice in high season to escape the crowds of main Venice, at least when we wanted to. Quite a few restaurants and a supermarket which made catering easy.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank mahaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
153 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great view of Doge's Palace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We sat looking directly across the lagoon at the Doge's Palace and were lucky to see a couple of tugs slowly towing out a leviathan of a cruiseship. What a view!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Walkabout1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice Island to stay on”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Guidecca is a great island to stay on, in particular in the Hilton Molino Stucky hotel which is a renevated mill. The building itself looks like an attraction! The island has various little bars, resturants and shops which are all reasonably priced. One morning as we went for a walk we passed an open door to see people making pasta in the kitchens which was great to watch.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Giudecca also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to La Giudecca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing