We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly trading on past glories...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #63 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Had 2 connecting rooms, both a good size, in the Palazzo Dandolo wing. All the amenities in the room were just about 5 star, but in my experience in Venice one shouldn't set ones sights too high. Oddly the room seemed to have no hotel directory (setting out hotel services etc) and the concierge said I could find it all out through the TV intranet service. I gave up after 20 fruitless minutes.

The public areas are amazing architecturally, if a little lacking in atmosphere. The hotel is in a wonderful location.

Even though it was March we were lucky with good weather and breakfast on the roof terrace was a delight. Breakfast was good, and the staff (who had been warned ) arranged a cake for our daughters birthday.

The concierge team were reasonably helpful, although their estimates of the time it would take for a water taxi to arrive were usually way out, including for our return trip to the airport which was unhelpful. Also on checkout the reception desk was slow and understaffed for a hotel of this size and calibre.

We had a lgreat weekend and it is a Venice institution and one therefore glosses over some of its failings. Might look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voyager212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Voyager212,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review as we do value feedback from our guests, even if negative, as this ensures we grow and evolve our quality. We sincerely apologize for the uncomfortable experiences at our hotel and we can assure you your review will not pass by without notice. Please be assured that these feelings are well below our usual standards and our Management will be passing on your notes to the team and discuss the reasons behind all those incidents. Hopefully, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Hotel Danieli in order to revise your feelings on our property and service.
Sincerely,
Silver Carpanese
Executve Assistant Manager
in charge of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,096)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,111 - 1,117 of 3,096 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2014

This was our second trip to Venice and we decided to push the boat out and book what we believed to be the best hotel. We were not disapointed! The location is second to none and is literally just around the corner from St. Marks square. The exterior of the hotel is no more impressive than many other surrounding buildings but you can't help but be impressed as you enter the hotel lobby with Beautiful architecture and fittings. Many other tourists enter the lobby simply to take photographs and to take a look around. I did over hear some other guests commenting that Disney do this stuff better!!! Really...I seriously think they were missing the point! Everything about our stay was first class including the staff. We were checked in by Marco who then proceeded to show us to our room and explained all about the hotel and surrounding attractions. The concierge whose name i unfortunately did not make a note of, was very friendly and exceeded my expectations in terms of his knowledge as well as giving us best advice (not just money making). A trip to Murano was arranged through the hotel which involved a private motor launch (FOC) and a personal guided tour of the factory. We were treated like VIPs. Prices within the hotel are expensive but then this is Venice so pretty much everywhere is expensive. Breakfast on the roof terrace overlooking the lagoon was good but was made special by the surroundings, the staff and especially the amazing views.To see an ocean liner pass right in front of you through the narrow lagoon is amazing.
The bedrooms are small but very well presented. Ours was a side room with partial views of the Doge's palace and the prison. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet as you may expect from such an old and historic building (none of the noise from other rooms that you get in many modern hotels) Unfortunately there are no coffee making facilities or clothes irons in the rooms, apparently due to Italian health and safety laws, so if you want a coffee you will need to go and buy one. Prices in the hotel and restaurants nearby can be very expensive but if you are prepared to walk and explore, which you should, you will find some great eateries at a resonable price. As I have already said, this was our second visit to Venice and it was even more magical and romantic than the first visit, this is in no small part due to the absolutely wonderful Danieli and its staff. Next time I visit Venice I will definately be going back to the Danieli!

Room Tip: Try to book a room at the front with views of the lagoon If you budget allows. I would go for a high...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeCCFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear MikeCCFC,
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guest! Your comments have been received with great appreciation and we are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you to again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Silver Carpanese
Executive Assistant Manager
in charge of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

My partner and I have just returned from three nights at the Danieli Hotel, and though I rarely write reviews, I feel compelled to recount the good and the bad...
The Good:
Utterly perfect location, almost bang next door to Piazza San Marco.
Unsurpassed history.
Beautiful internal architecture.
Nice room with balcony view.
FAB towels in bathroom.
Glass or two of rose on the 4th floor terrace, on a blue-sky day, overlooking the incredible view is superb.

The Bad:
Toilet in bathroom took way too long to fill up.
Bathroom had no ventilation.
Though free in the lounge, WIFI is 15 euros per day in your room. WHY?? I guess if you're an oligarch, it's small vodka, but I think this is cynical, unnecessary, ungenerous, and casts a pall over one's stay, given general prices.
Dinner in this 5* hotel is seriously astonishing bad value for money. A small bowl of pasta (and I mean a SMALL bowl) with veal ragout (completely unexceptional) in 'mushroom essence' (errm?) was approx. 35 euros. Woah! My partner commented that he'd had more, and tastier from UK rubbishy supermarket cook-chills, and I had to agree with him.
Breakfast came as part of our deal (via BA) but had we paid the standard 42 euros per person cost, I would have been extremely disappointed. Standard buffet fare - no more, no less.
Just for context, I live in Putney, London, and relatively know what costs, and have been to many places...
UPSHOT: mixed feelings about the Danieli. The staff were never anything less than helpful, the hotel perfectly located, but cynical attitudes to making money from WIFI and the restaurant leave a sour taste.
If I return to Venice, I will not stay there and yet, I feel sorry to say it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 65DebraM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear 65DebraM,
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel.
We greatly appreciate your feedback and must mention that your points have been duly noted.
We are sorry to read that you found the charge for internet to be excessive, however we do offer complimentary wi-fi access in our lobby areas including restaurants as well as the Executive Lounge. We are very sorry that the restaurant experience disappointed you and we sincerely regret that this negative experience did not respond to your expectations.
We sincerely hope that your mixed experiences will not deter you from choosing the Hotel Danieli for your next visit. Sincerely,
Silver Carpanese
Executive Assistant Manager
in charge of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

If you dream of a hotel with the best view in Venice, this is the one. An dyou get an exelent service as well.
The concierge is allso very friendly, and able to provide you with private guided tours.
At the roof terrase you can enjoy your breakfast - subject to the weather - and enjoy the view of The Grand Canal / Canal Grande. A large crise ship is a daily experience.
When in Venise Stay at this hote, and ask for a room with a view of the lagune.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Grand Canal / Canale Grande. You will never forget the view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrisVoyageurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear GrisVoyageurs,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback on your experience here at The Hotel Danieli. I realize that this takes time and we appreciate it. I am so thrilled to hear you to enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Best regards,
Silver Carpanese
Executive Assistant Manager
in charge of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We have never stayed 5 star before and this was a "once in a lifetime" for us. We are in our sixties and this stay was booked as a gift from our son (not a popstar or footballer, just a good son) We were a bit apprehensive as this was not our norm but on arrival the hotel was stunning and the staff were first class and were obviously very proud of their Hotel and very helpfull, we really were made to feel welcome. ( 2 cups of English tea £24 is not what we normally would expect but this really is what it claims to be = a 5 star excellent Hotel ) Oh well, we will cherish every moment of our stay and keep doing the lottery and who knows one day we might return. Thankyou Hotel Danieli.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter_abbott60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear peter_abbott60,
Thank you for posting your review of the Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be friendly and helpful. I hope we will have the pleasure of having you back on your next trip to Venice!
Best regards,
Silver Carpanese
Executive Assistant Manager
in charge of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Exquisitely appointed with first class service. Views from the roof top terrace are stunning. We had a spacious premium deluxe room facing a small square. The church bells ring at 7am. Venice much cheaper for eating and drinking out than London orParis.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bramble1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Bramble1962,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your positive experience. This is truly appreciated.
Best regards,
Silver Carpanese
Executive Assistant Manager
in charge of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Staying at the Hotel Danieli was like a trip back to a more elegant time. The hotel is simply amazing! The architecture and décor were beautiful. Our room was large, and the bathroom was large and gorgeous! The staff was friendly, and accommodating with all our needs. The Terrace restaurant offers breathtaking views of Venice and the food was fantastic. I highly recommend staying here.
I recommend taking the water taxi if you do plan a stay here. It is great to have a taxi pull right up to the door of the hotel and the bell staff remove your luggage. So much better than pulling the luggage across the cobblestones of Venice.

Room Tip: Ocean side rooms have the best view!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TNByrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear TNByrd,
Thank you very much for your feedback and we are happy to learn that you had an excellent stay and that you enjoyed both the accommodation assigned and the staff attitude. I certainly hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a repeat!
Warm Regards,
Silver carpanese
Executive Assistant Manager
in charge of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#59 of 384 in Venice
1,622 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#18 of 384 in Venice
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#51 of 384 in Venice
1,266 reviews
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
San Marco
Bauer Hotel
Bauer Hotel
#74 of 384 in Venice
2,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Castello, 4196 | Riva degli Schiavoni, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $326 - $1,523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, sophistication, and timeless elegance combined with contemporary comfort. This is what to expect when you choose to stay at Hotel Danieli. Evoking the opulence for which Venice is known, you'll find us right next to Piazza San Marco, placing the masterpieces of Venetian art at your doorstep. Accompanying you home long after your visit are the magnificent panoramas to be enjoyed from Restaurant Terrazza Danieli and the Danieli Wine Suite, exceptionally matched with eno-culinary journeys of indigenous ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing