We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most beautiful views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #57 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The most beautiful views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights and it was wonderful! The hotel is beautiful and the location can't be beat. I loved having breakfast on the terrace every morning looking out over Venice bay and Santa Maria Della Salute. Our room was small but sumptuously furnished and the service was outstanding! I will return some day!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sherry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Sherry S,
Thank you for your comments and for staying with us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Silver Carpanese
Executive Assistant Manager
in charge of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,713
    581
    266
    143
    107
See reviews for
496
1,612
79
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights and it was lovely, the staff mostly speak very good English, the reception area is spectacular, Marble and Murano glass chandeliers everywhere, we arrived at around 12:00 and our room was not ready, the reception staff said to try the restaurant for lunch and then the room should be ready...

we had a lovely meal in the roof top restaurant (with views over the lagoon... Spectacular!!) of Ravioli and carbenara followed by desert, also lovely, with 2 glasses each of fizzy wine... I didn't expect the bill to be 200 Euros!! that was the only time we eat there (except for breakfast which we had pre-paid for),

the room was sumptuous the bathroom was all done (floor, walls and counter tops) in Green and white marble, they really know how to pamper you... there were slippers, robes, hairdryer etc. there was a walk in wardrobe which had plenty of hangers, a safe and lots of drawer space and mini bar.

the bed was huge and very comfortable, and the view... WOW!!! over looking the lagoon and right next to St. Marks Square.

Overall, a thouroughly great hotel (except the food pricing).

Room Tip: lagoon facing rooms are well worth the extra for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Jasen C,
Thank you for your kind comments to the Hotel Danieli.
I am pleased to learn that on the whole you enjoyed your stay as well as appreciating the food service in the Terrace Restaurant and the accommodation assigned.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Silver Carpanese
Executive Assistant Manager
in charge of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

this hotel has one of the best location in Venise. It is living on his good (and old) reputation, but you can not only build your future based on your name or your reputation... The service must be perfect in a 5 stars palace...
On the last floor, the open terrasse, the nicest place, the service is unbielevable, very poor, the maitre d'. seems to be the owner, and when we ordered he did not have even a look at us... You have to wait 30 minutes before been served, and some of the guests do not wait and prefer leaving the place. Amazing ?
Honestly, I am very disappointed by the absence of qualified service and they should renew their staff with some more motivated and professional people instead. The current staff has accumulated too many bad habits... I will never be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank FDBParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear FDBParis,
Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay. As we are consistently aiming to improve services to our guests your comments are very much appreciated. I was disappointed however; to learn of your negative experience in regards to the unfriendly and unprofessional attitude of the F&B staff at the Restaurant Terrace. I am pleased to advise that this unpleasant experience such as this is isolated, however should not occur at all. I have passed your feedback to our F&B team to ensure that this type of occurrence does not happen again in the future.
I sincerely hope you will not be deterred from staying at the Hotel Danieli in the future and I certainly invite you to contact me directly so I can personally ensure of a seamless experience.
Best regards,
Silver Carpanese
Executive Assistant Manager
in charge of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Daniels for our honeymoon in 2006 and were upgraded to a beautiful suite overlooking the grand canal. The hotel is extremely well located, a beautiful former palace and the service is remarkable. We would love to return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Debra L,
Many thanks for recently staying with us whilst visiting Venice and also for having taken the time to provide us with your kind feedback. We will look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Hotel Danieli.
Sincerely,
Silver Carpanese
Executive Assistant Manager
in charge of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Danieli hotel in Venice and cannot stress enough what an amazing experience it was! On arrival we were checked into the hotel by a very friendly female receptionist who took the time to personally escort us to our room while giving us a history of the hotel. She upgraded our room free of charge to one with a lagoon view which was simply breathtaking . It was a great touch to find that when we arrived back at the hotel after dining out each evening that the maid had made the beds, laid out complimentary slippers and left chocolates on the bed. Little things but enough to make an already magical trip even better. The only negatives I could mention were the very thin walls between rooms. We could hear the residents in the adjoining room word for word. We'd researched the hotel in advance so knew that breakfast in the hotel would be beyond our budget but to be honest it was lovely to venture out on a morning to find a lovely coffee bar. We also found the male concierge staff (of which there were several) a little unhelpful. They seemed a little short with us which we felt was because we were english as they seemed very courteous and polite when speaking to other Italians. I would however highly recommend this hotel if your looking for a romantic break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daffodil086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear daffodil086,
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. As we are constantly looking for ways to improve our service, your honest and constructive comments are very much appreciated.
Sincerely,
Silver Carpanese
Executive Assistant Manager
in charge of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

A fantastic location and a spectacular building.

However you pay for it in style. Our rooms were not as good as the public areas but i guess some of the suites might be! The bedrooms we had could be described as shabby chic. We had a view of a small canal where the deliveries and bin men came, but hey this is Venice. The rooms were clean and comfortable and we slept well.

There are no facilities for making tea or coffee in the room and the room service prices were €12 for a coffee with an €8 delivery charge. There is a nice bar 2 mins away where a very good take away coffee was €3. Likewise the bar prices were hefty and there were few people in there - not too surprising really. The breakfasts were equally expensive at €48 for continental. We went to a very nice coffee bar around the corner and paid that for 6 of us. I know some would say that is what you pay for luxury and exclusivity but it still feels like a rip-off even if you can afford it. I am sure the hotel would increase revenues if the cut their prices.

We did dine in the restaurant for dinner for a special birthday and we all agreed it was fabulous, both the view and the meal. Again pricey but OK for a special occasion.

Would we go back there? Yes we would - it was good and the location was excellent, but i still wouldn't pay for room service or breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1bursledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear 1bursledon,
On behalf of the Management team at The Hotel Danieli, we would like to thank you for completing your review on TripAdvisor.
I am grateful for your comments as such information enables us to continually monitor and improve the service we are offering. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Venice.
Sincerely,
Silver Carpanese
Exdecutive Assistant Manager
in charge of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Whilst our 3 night stay was fantastic, can I give everyone a word a caution. On all 3 mornings we had a lovely breakfast in their roof terrace resturant, after each one we were not presented with a bill or asked for our room and we believed that the breakfast was included in the price of the room. It was with some shock at checkout to be presented with a bill for over €160. So beware despite not signing for anything we were charged!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#43 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#71 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#46 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#23 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Castello, 4196 | Riva degli Schiavoni, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, sophistication, and timeless elegance combined with contemporary comfort. This is what to expect when you choose to stay at Hotel Danieli. Evoking the opulence for which Venice is known, you'll find us right next to Piazza San Marco, placing the masterpieces of Venetian art at your doorstep. Accompanying you home long after your visit are the magnificent panoramas to be enjoyed from Restaurant Terrazza Danieli and the Danieli Wine Suite, exceptionally matched with eno-culinary journeys of indigenous ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing