We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #65 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2013

My favourite hotel in in the world, we have stayed here on many occasions, in different types of rooms, from double to suites.
We can highly recommend staying here, all rooms are of the same high standard. Food is excellent and "Carnival" is an amazing experience

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IreneK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear IreneK1,
Thank you for sharing your feelings with all Trip Advisors readers and with us.
Looking forward to welcoming you back again, we remain with best regards,
Christophe Mercier
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,414 - 1,420 of 3,193 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

First, let me say that Hotel Danieli is located on the Grand Canal and is accessible by water taxi. I saw many tourists schlepping luggage through the winding paths of the city and I can only imagine what an inconvenience that was for them. The waterfront hotels are costlier, but when you consider the only "roads" in Venice are waterways, the extra money spent is worth it.

Secondly, the Danieli is literally around the corner from St. Mark's Square (Piazza San Marco), the Doge's Palace, and the Basilica of San Marco. As far as convenience, it doesn't get better than this hotel.

The hotel was gorgeous and the staff was gracious, albeit formal. You will find the doorman, etc., in coat and tie with white gloves. The impeccably dressed staff, set against the deep red backdrop of the Danieli interior, certainly added panache. They know how to transport you in time and place.

If you can, make reservations for the dining terrace on the top floor with its sweeping views of the lagoon. I especially enjoyed beginning each day with breakfast on the terrace and watching the traffic on the Grand Canal.

The only negative I can note, more of a side comment really, is that the hotel lobby received a lot of tourist traffic just popping in for a look or not being aware that it was a hotel. Given its location, there was a steady stream of day-trippers from cruise lines and other tourists who seemed to just be wandering in throughout the day. The concierge desk was located near the street doors and he unfortunately had to field their questions. There were several times we had to wait behind curious tourists before we could drop off our room key or retrieve it.

All in all, I found Hotel Danieli a beautiful historic hotel with modern conveniences. I would definitely consider staying here again on a future trip to Venice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JenLee02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear JenLee02,
Once again thank you for favourable review and may I take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel Danieli. We look forward to welcoming you to again in the near future.
Best regards,
Christophe Mercier
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Once upon the time....when you enter the Danieli, you will have a feeling of a "Fairly Tale" and you are a little princess. Your breath will be taken away by its beauty. The most gergeous Hotel Lobby I have ever seen.

I remembered to see it first time on the Film "The Tourist" with Angelina Jolie and Johny Depp... Then I google...and here we go...

I did not sleep there, but still very impress. My husband and I went there for a dinner on the Roof Terrace Restaurant...as it was our Wedding Anniversary. The food was very good, but not cheap...quite expensive you may say.

The location of the hotel is perfect. I will be in Venice again next week during "Venice Carneval"... I am falling in love with Venice :-)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MultiCultiTante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear MultiCultiTante,
Thank you for your visit to Hotel Danieli and for sharing your positive experience at our Terrazza Ristorante. I am happy that you also liked the location and the character of the hotel.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon, we remain with kind regards,
Christophe Mercier
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The view out of our room was mesmerising, overlooking the canal with Punta della Dogana and Isola di San Giorgio Maggiore just across. It feels as you have stepped in one of this 18th century paintings of Venice! If you decide to stay in this hotel, then I would definitely recommend you pay that bit extra and get a room with a view. The hotel itself is very classic in style, the lobby is absolutely unbelievable with its very high ceilings and very ornate. The rooms follow a similar classic style (but with all modern amenities), and even if it is not what we would normally go for, it perfectly fits with Venice! We didn't have lunch or dinner at the hotel, but the breakfast at the rooftop restaurant had a nice buffet and the views were of course spectacular again, commanding uninterrupted views across the full length of the restaurant. The location, apart from the great views, is also extremely convenient, right next to St Mark's Square. We like exploring a city on foot, and we did just that in Venice, and the Hotel Danieli was the perfect base for it. If I had one thing to comment, would be the service of the concierge, which although was very efficient (they gave a very nice restaurant recommendation), it wasn't very personable. But everything else was so perfect it is hard not to give an excellent rating to this hotel. I would come back tomorrow again if I could!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MarianthiO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear MarianthiO,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I would like to thank you for sharing your feedback on what appears to have been a very enjoyable stay for you.
I hope we see you at The Hotel Danieli on your next visit to Venice.
Kind regards,
Christophe Mercier
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We visited the hotel for a long weekend in December. The experience was exceptional (as any other SPG hotels we have visited). The hotel is expensive but you totally get what you pay for.

Location wise, the hotel is next to the Palazzo Ducale, in Piazza San Marco, right in the historical centre, which makes it very convenient as everything is very close.

The building is an old Palazzo, very well preserved and newly referbished sending you back in time, feeling like living in the Venetian times. Our room was very luxurious and spacious enough. We had a partial view at the Grand Canal as our room was at the top flour.

The service in the hotel was top quality. The staff was very friendly and helpful with all our inquiries as expected from a five star hotel.

I totally recommend it and I would definitely go back next time I am in Venice.

Room Tip: Unless you have a room with a view ask for a room at the top floors as you might get a chance to hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dimitris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Dimitris M,
Thank you very much for your recent review of our property on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you had a great time on your visit to Venice.
Best regards,
Christophe Mercier
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Danieli remains one of the most celebrated hotels in Europe, and it is a wonderful experience to stay here. Experiencing the passion of the staff, the beauty of the decor, the breathtaking, overpowering entrance hall, reminding you of the Palace it has been takes you into another world. It is worth it to be pampered here. We had a 180 degree view from our suite of the Grand Canal, and were treated like celebrities. This is a landmark in Venice, and part of the heritage of this marvel in the Veneto. Will stay here again and again. What an experience! You are hidden from the maddening crowd, there is a tranquil atmosphere and although it is big, it is still very personal. Loved every minute.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with canal view, it is fantastic! A suite is highly recommendable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MICZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear MICZ,
On behalf of the Management team at The Hotel Danieli, we would like to thank you for completing your review on TripAdvisor.
Our team has a strong focus on ensuring a high standard of service delivery and I am so glad we were able to help make your stay so special.
Kind regards,
Christophe Mercier
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were at the Hotel Danieli for New Years Eve and looked forward to this for months. I had been to the Danieli many times years ago - many years ago - but this was first time with the family.

The biggest problem is the staff - from the reception to the concierge - Yes it was New Years Eve and yes they were busy - but the staff was almost "annoyed" with the guests. They never had change for money as an example. Checking out was a disaster - Tons of staff members but very inefficient. Even something so simple as a smile -

Of course there were exceptions and do mean to indict the entire staff but the most visual staff members were not welcoming. In a hotel this price that is not acceptable.

The Lobby is magnificent, room was fine, food - not too great but ok --
Fantastic View of the Grand Canal for New Years Eve fireworks but they desperately need new management

Will not stay there next time and that makes me sad
Gritti Palace in renovation so the Danieli needs to step up its game in so many ways

Room Tip: view of the Grand Canal if you have to be in the second building - Try and get into main building i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A W B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear A W B,
Although we may not enjoy a negative feedback, we thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Danieli. We have taken your concerns very seriously and we are taking every possible measure at an operational level to prevent the issues you reported to happen again in the future.Your comments are invaluable in helping us create the ideal customer service experience for the future and we hope you will allow us another opportunity to show you that your experience has been an exception to a rule of dedicated and bespoke service.
Best regards,
Christophe Mercier
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,601 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#77 of 385 in Venice
2,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#61 of 385 in Venice
1,665 reviews
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#52 of 385 in Venice
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Castello, 4196 | Riva degli Schiavoni, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $306 - $890 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, sophistication, and timeless elegance combined with contemporary comfort. This is what to expect when you choose to stay at Hotel Danieli. Evoking the opulence for which Venice is known, you'll find us right next to Piazza San Marco, placing the masterpieces of Venetian art at your doorstep. Accompanying you home long after your visit are the magnificent panoramas to be enjoyed from Restaurant Terrazza Danieli and the Danieli Wine Suite, exceptionally matched with eno-culinary journeys of indigenous ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing