We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegany and very romantic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #58 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Elegany and very romantic”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I loved this hotel, full of old world charm and character - breakfast very expensive - but par for the course in Venice - fantastic views over the lagoon from the rooftop terrace. I found the staff very helpful and courteous, although on a short break to Venice there is so much to see and so little time to spend in the hotel! Great location

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizardly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear lizardly,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your nice experience. This is truly appreciated.
Warm regards,
Christophe Mercier
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,786
    604
    272
    144
    108
See reviews for
513
1,672
81
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was my first & last try at the Danieli. It was outrageously expensive and not up to par. The service was terrible, the room had a great view but was poorly furnished and not particularly well kept. The building was beat up, the food very mediocre and there was an attitude that you were lucky to be staying there. There is no comparison with the Chipriani or the Bauer, both far better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Stuart K,
Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay with us at the Hotel Danieli.
May I offer my sincere apologies for your dissatisfaction with your recent experience with our property. We always strive to ensure that every guest has an enjoyable time at the Hotel and I was of course very disappointed to see that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Once more, I am truly sorry for any shortcomings that may have occurred and I sincerely hope that this experience will not deter you from choosing Hotel Danieli.
Best regards,
Christophe Mercier
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed 3 nights at the glorious Danieli in Venice through Citalia. I was unaware of the hotel and chose it as we had previously had a fab holiday at a Starwood luxury hotel (Blue Palace, Crete). My children then reminded me about the hotel's starring role in The Tourist! The Danieli fulfilled all my expectations, and yes it is true tourists drop in just to experience the lobby! A fantastic situation, glorious views over the Grand Canal,wonderful staff. However it is very expensive, breakfast E39, minibar : small water E8. Venice is awesome but to stay at the Danieli makes you feel part of that history, with so many wonderful public rooms to wander through and such lovely bedrooms It really is the icing on the cake!

Room Tip: We went for the cheapest and were upgraded to a suite (don't know why but no complaints!) lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Sara F,
We appreciate you for taking the time to post your comments and we look forward to have again the pleasure of your visit in the very near future.
est regards,
Christophe Mercier
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

as the headline says I agree with all the comments regarding luxury. location, beautiful views BUT the staff are sadly lacking in service skills. the queue at reception was 6 deep when we arrived & no extra staff appeared or no extra pace was with the 2 who were serving. we came here as part of our Orient Express trip for 3 days. checking in & out was awful & I soon realised as we passed through the lobby on other accasions that this was the norm. I had to phone 3 tmes & visit the lobby in person after 40 minutes of waiting to get our bags taken downstairs to check out. The VSOE tour guide who came to meet us to accompany us to the station for the next part of our journey was most efficient & managed to get the staff at the hotel moving but they were hopeless. The concierge desk is also lacking in service skills & looked positivley bored with clients when they dare to ask more than one question. The roof top breakfast is well stocked but just like a Turkish All Inclusive 3 star hotel it stops PROMPTLY at 10.30, all the bread etc is cleared away & they clear your plates away if you get up to go for more coffee. I know they need to clear up for lunch but they are quick off the mark so get up there in plenty of time. I didn't have any toast but heard lots of people moan about the slowness of it..... eat the fresh rolls instead they're beautiful.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has been renovated. bathrooms to die for
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank y0rkshireh0lidaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear y0rkshireh0lidaygirl,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Hotel Danieli in Venice. My apologies for any inconsistency in service you may have experienced during your stay which I have addressed with the respective departmental heads to ensure that Luxury Collection Brand Standard is delivered in a consistent manner.I sincerely hope that your mixed experiences will not deter you from choosing the Hotel Danieli for your next visit.
Yours faithfully,
Christophe Mercier
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, IL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel accommodations were arranged by the tour company we were touring with through Switzerland and Northern Italy, Sunrise Tours out of St. Louis, MO. The hotel was lovely, very easy walk to St. Mark's Square, and in the perfect location to walk or use water taxi to see and do whatever one would have a mind to see and do. The service was excellent, friendly, helpful and very professional. Breakfast buffet was excellent, we ate on outside terrace just outside the dining area and the view was breathtaking. We would stay here if/when we are fortunate enough to visit Venice again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kgiberson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Kgiberson,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to post your favourable comments on the Hotel Danieli and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Kindest regards,
Christophe Mercier
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

ROOMS
We stayed as a family of 4 with two children aged 8 & 12 in connecting rooms in the newer part of the hotel. Opulent heavy furnishing -comfortable beds, and not bad size for Europe (but not massive!) lighting not great but that's the only room complaint
Room service very quick and efficient we used (for kids menu and ice)
RECEPTION
Arrival reception somewhat chaotic and slow but pleasant.

FOOD
Do NOT recommend restaurant for anything other than the beautiful breakfast as its self serve!

Service abominable at all other times and to be very honest the food was not as outstanding as I've heard or for the money spent.

We had Gnocchi Quatrro Formaggio (blander than hoped for) Grilled breast of chicken and sweet peppers (Good)
Burrata ravioli & Olivecream (v good)
Lamb loin ( perfect) mozzarella timbale. (not special)
Veal Escalope with peach compote (average)
Trio Venetian Lagoon (unappetising ) Spider crab salad (good)
Mushroom risotto (lukewarm bordering on cold)  Polenta beef ragout (so so)
we skipped dessert as we felt we were waiting ages for everything (this ended up being a three hour and forty five minute meal!)
We have heard since that the restaurant had an inability to get rid of waitstaff due to strident union rules which would explain much
As service is included and there is an additional cover charge there is no impetus to give good service.
The waiters were not malicious just bad at their jobs.
CONCIERGE
Quite busy but effective. Especially the older ones.
We had a fantastic tour guide who they booked ladt minute.
TOUR GUIDE
At €80 per hour some might balk but for this we had an engaging PHD who was worth every penny (and a tip!) and we would have hired her again in a heartbeat. We skipped all lines and she kept our normally "I'm bored" 8 year old entranced by bringing history alive and making it relevant to her.
All in all she was the best bit of our 72 hours in Venice.
Oh and the floods! Bring boots if you are coming during a full moon it is spectacular but you need to be prepared !

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indytravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Fantastic location, all the main attractions of Venice are within walking distance. Harrys Bar is only 10 minute walk.
The view from the rooms is wonderful, only if you are in the right rooms! We had paid for lagoon view room. However the first room that was allocated ( in the old main site)had a very poor outlook and only when we paid for an upgrade did we get a room that the price justified. Multiple levels and confusing layout.
Highlight is breakfast on the roof top terrace. The concierge is helpful as are the staff. However the porters will not take your luggage to the river taxi, which is about 100 meters over a bridge.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the new excelsior wing , 3rd floor or higher for the views and less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sushil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Sushil R,
We are truly sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with the first room you occupied that failed to meet your expectations. Our guests are our upmost priority and we strive to ensure that every guest has a very enjoyable time at the hotel. Anyway, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Christophe Mercier
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#48 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#53 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#70 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#21 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Castello, 4196 | Riva degli Schiavoni, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, sophistication, and timeless elegance combined with contemporary comfort. This is what to expect when you choose to stay at Hotel Danieli. Evoking the opulence for which Venice is known, you'll find us right next to Piazza San Marco, placing the masterpieces of Venetian art at your doorstep. Accompanying you home long after your visit are the magnificent panoramas to be enjoyed from Restaurant Terrazza Danieli and the Danieli Wine Suite, exceptionally matched with eno-culinary journeys of indigenous ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing