We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Basilica Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari
Book In Advance
More Info
$41.37*
and up
Private Tour: San Polo Walking Tour - Merchants, Courtesans and Painters
Ranked #9 of 610 things to do in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Originally built in the mid-13th century, Santa Maria Glorisoa dei Frari (St. Mary of the Friars) houses many masterpieces of Venetian Renaissance art, notably Giovanni Bellini's triptych "Madonna and Child with Saints," the "Assumption" and the "Pesaro Madonna" by Titian, Saint John the Baptist by Donatello.
Leicester
Level Contributor
351 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

A place I've had on my list for some time. Now done! And not in a ticked off way but really pleased I went. Great place which takes your breath away. At the time of our visit, they were working on the Tintoretto painting over the altar so a little disappointing but plenty to interest excluding that.
Might like to compare with the Church in Cannaregio next to the Hospital.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MikeLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,644
    500
    68
    10
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

This church is fascinating. I would recommend the audio guide as it tells you a lot about the main items of interest. There are a few things which it skips completely however. Titian's Assumption, which is arguably the most important work of art in the church was obscured by scaffold when we visited which was disappointing. But the rest were there for all to see. This church like so many others forbids the use of cameras. I don't really understand this. If flash is not used then what is the harm?

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonstomper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Well worth an hour or two”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

This church is fascinating. I would recommend the audio guide as it tells you a lot about the main items of interest. There are a few things which it skips completely however. Titian's Assumption, which is arguably the most important work of art in the church was obscured by scaffold when we visited which was disappointing. But the rest were there for all to see. This church like so many others forbids the use of cameras. I don't really understand this. If flash is not used then what is the harm?

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonstomper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A must-see for Titian lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Although Titian's Assumption, one of the greatest paintings of Renaissance art, was hidden by scaffolding, to my great sadness, there's another stunning Titian, the Madonna di Ca' Pesaro, that is right at eye level and knocked me out.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank wawawayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

This site has great history, fantastic works of art. Even though I personally am not very into the arts, I learned a lot about works of masters such as Bellini and Titian. This place is definitely worth the visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RajTr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari also viewed

 

Been to Basilica Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing