We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unmissable!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doges' Palace

Doges' Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$125.15*
and up
Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours...
Ranked #2 of 588 things to do in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A masterpiece of Gothic architecture, the building and its sculptural decoration date from various periods. The interior, with works by artists such as Titian, Veronese, Tintoretto, A.Vittoria and Tiepolo, includes vast council chambers, superbly decorated residential apartments, and austere prison cells. Along the facades of the Palace run loggias that overlook St. Mark’s Square and the lagoon. The combined entrance ticket to the St. Mark’s Square Museums grants access to the Doge’s Palace, Museo Correr, Museo Archeologico Nazionale and Monumental Rooms of Biblioteca Marciana.
London
Level Contributor
154 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Unmissable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

The Doge's Palace is an absolute must. In February we didn't find any crowds and we visited it at leisure, taking photos (where allowed) and sitting and reading through our guide books. This must be the fourth time I visit it, over the years, but it was the first time for my son (11 yrs old) who absolutely loved it. The Sala del Maggior Consiglio is simply out of this world, but every single hall is breathtaking and is a reminder of the spectacular power and wealth wielded by the Venice Serenissima Republic through the centuries. My son particularly enjoyed the Bridge of Sighs and the prisons, which were quite eery. It is so steeped in history and so beautiful that you won't ever want to leave.
Tip: bring along a good guide book as explanations and signs are minimal.
Also: In the Sala del Maggior Consiglio, don't miss the only disgraced doge's portrait. It sits alongside the portraits of the other first 76 doges, but it's covered with a severe black cloth. He was Marin Faliero and proved to be a traitor to Venice.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank DoctorDebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17,186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11,963
    4,334
    678
    137
    74
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wingham, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing, don't miss this place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

The line to St Marks Basilica was long and the time before our train departure short so we choose this as an alternative. Wow, not at all disappointed. Awe inspiring art works which filled the walls of the Ducal's residence and the council chambers. Wandered through the prison cells and across the Bridge of sighs. Could of spent alot more time here but didn't have it. Really amazing place.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gababout_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Quintessential Venice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I'll be blunt. This place is amazing. Steeped in history (Google Giacomo Girolamo Casanova de Seingalt), this place is a mixture of old public offices, courts, and of course, the Ducal's residence. Oh, and did I mention the prison cells, and connecting Bridge of Sighs (still looking for the Bridge of Hay Fever Sneezes andBridge of Madison County Smiles)? It is also a mixture of (amazing) architectural styles. But for me, the magnificence is in the interior decoration. Truly stunning art work and sculptures.

We bought the Secret Itineraries tour, which took us deep into the back rooms, and into the attic (amazing views from up there). The attic reveals the architecture of that part of the building very well. The guide spoke English perfectly, and the pace was not rushed. The insights derived form the commentary were worth the price of admission alone. Casonova's cell was the highlight for me!

I guess Austin Powers would describe this place as "Yeah baby!". You should not miss this place if you come to Venice!

PS Cafe and museum shop there too (two of my favorite things)

PPS I could live here quite easily

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank AussieV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clapham
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“At least one moment of jaw dropping amazingness”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I'd previously avoided visiting the Doges Palace because of the queues and crowds but being in Venice in January and Venice being pretty empty it was time to give it a whirl. There is lots to see here ( as long as you like lots of paintings on walls and ceilings) and you are in a real showcase of fascinating Venetian art. I'm not sure I got a real sense of what it would be like to live in such a place as the rooms aren't highly furnished but they are lovely. Whilst in the private apartments do make sure to seek out the Titian of St Christopher. It's the through the doorway leading to a staircase off the Philosophers Hall but above the inside of the doorway. i nearly missed it and would have missed out if I hadn't stepped through the doorway.

The thing that really made my jaw drop was the Chamber of the Great Council - this is surely one of the great spaces in any building and emphasises the power and importance of Venice at its height in a way that nothing else I have seen does. It's worth the price of admission in itself.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank NCPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“An absolute must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Amazing history, beautiful rooms that get better as the tour continues and well worth the entry price for the 2 or 3 hours you will spend there

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank plfara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doges' Palace also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Doges' Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing