We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place”

Basilica di San Marco
Book In Advance
More Info
$26.62*
and up
Skip The Line: St Mark's Basilica Guided Tour
Ranked #3 of 612 things to do in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Blending the architectural styles of East and West, Venice's magnificent basilica was consecrated in 832 AD as an ecclesiastical building to house the remains of St. Mark.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
328 reviews
134 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

The building itself is worth the trip. The setting in the Piazza is beautiful. The artwork in the building is also something to see.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HLAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20,072 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13,352
    4,892
    1,446
    272
    110
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
85 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Grand Basilica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

You must not miss it when in Venice.The Golden Art work at the door/wall/ceilings is mesmerizing .it is best known examples of Italo-Byzantine architecture.You should see "The treasury" available inside , which has wide variety of gem stones in various sizes looted from other places.
There is so much restoration work going on , you can see support systems almost everywhere outside of Basilica.Its a turn-off for photo enthusiast.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LuvFlorentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“beautiful pay extra euros and go upstairs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Q, Q, Q even with the skip the line tickets I booked online be prepared to Q but pay the extra bit to go upstairs and get away from some of the crowds.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
371 reviews
189 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“You will spend more time than you think”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Of course there is the main basilica to see, but you can go upstairs for special exhibits, and to get a better view of the mosaics covering the ceiling. Plus, go further and you get to a catwalk outside, for excellent photo ops of the piazza and canal. One of the best churches in Europe, if not the best.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MissLaughsALot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Jersey
Level Contributor
227 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Incredible...but get in line early...9:00 ish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

We were only in Venice for 48 hours and had to pick and choose the attractions we wanted to see while in the city. The first think we wanted to do on our first full day was to visit the basilica so we got on line around 9:00 a.m. as the line was quickly starting to build. By 10:00 a.m. the line was almost to the water but it does move so please be patient. We listened to our own personal audio tour on our iPods / Phones let me tell you that that was the way to go. The history and explanation of the architecture, artwork, and pieces outside, in, and around the basilica was truly worth looking into. This is a must see when in Venice so start your day by visiting this historic attraction.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank DRsMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica di San Marco also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Basilica di San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing