We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtakingly beautiful!”

Basilica di San Marco
Book In Advance
More Info
$27.38*
and up
Skip The Line: St Mark's Basilica Guided Tour
Ranked #3 of 628 things to do in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Blending the architectural styles of East and West, Venice's magnificent basilica was consecrated in 832 AD as an ecclesiastical building to house the remains of St. Mark.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Breathtakingly beautiful!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The entire interior was bathed in gold with jewel coloured pictures - beyond description. This was probably the most stunning building I have ever seen and certainly worth a visit.

It was a shame that there were groups being lead around (not by the Basilican authorities). In my opinion, they were disrespectful talking in areas where speaking was not permitted and holding umbrellas etc aloft whilst taking photographs in prohibited areas.

A must to visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Spiderlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20,357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13,548
    4,952
    1,469
    277
    111
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
189 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Not a "wow"”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This church is not as awe-inspiring as St.Peter's in Rome, which we had just visited. No cost to just walk through, but not worth the wait if there is a long line.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janea26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
190 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Worth a visit, but don't stand in line.”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is worth a visit but you might have to stand in line for hours if you don't do this one right. Bring a backpack. The back pack (and large bags) is not allowed in the Basilica, so what you do is, just to the left of the entrance in the small alley you can drop your back pack off for free. You get a ticket, then walk up to the entrance, passing the long line up and show your ticket and they will let you in. Wonderful.

Once inside, some very interesting history. The big horses you see on the outside of the Basilica are reproductions, the real ones are inside. Common courtesy is to be dressed properly with no skimpy clothing. Enjoy.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anders T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dauphin, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We visited with our 2 children (13, 10). The church is breathtaking. The mosaics were so beautiful. My husband and I were more impressed than the kids. They would give it 3 1/2 stars. We visited in August during a heat wave and it was very hot, so you might want to go early in the day when visiting in the summer. Remember to dress appropriately and store bags in the lockers. Note- I visited after reading Dan Brown's Inferno, so it was fun to look for items mentioned in the book!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kelly9902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Magnificent!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Went to Mass and "felt" like a local. The Church and the architecture must be seen to be believed. Make sure you take the tour upstairs, it is worth the small amount of 8 euros.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MickEBendigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica di San Marco also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Basilica di San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing