We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of tourists!”

Basilica di San Marco
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.69*
and up
Skip The Line: St Mark's Basilica Guided Tour
More Info
$28.69*
and up
Skip the Line: Saint Mark's Basilica Guided Tour
More Info
$65.75*
and up
Skip The Line: St Mark's Basilica and Doge's Palace Tours
Ranked #3 of 739 things to do in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Blending the architectural styles of East and West, Venice's magnificent basilica was consecrated in 832 AD as an ecclesiastical building to house the remains of St. Mark.
mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
“Full of tourists!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The best season to visit is august! It is full of tourists & very lively. It is the most famous of the city's churches & most visited. I booked the entry online a month in advance to save myself from the long queue. And like I imagined, there was a crowd of over 300 people waiting in the line & I like a VVIP passed across without standing in the queue. Everyone wondered why I was given a special treatment but I guess everyone can be a little smart & do the same!
There are a dozen of beautiful side restaurants on the street with various Italian & Continental options but I think in order to taste the authentic Italian food, one needs to go away from the main touristic areas & experiment.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank monica j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21,292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14,184
    5,155
    1,550
    294
    109
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“must see”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

a bit gloomy inside and had to pay extra for the gold display and to go on to the loggia, but the latter is worth it for the view over piazza san marco

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank fiorentina56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Just beautiful”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

This really is a work of art! I was amazed at the mosaics and the wonderful architechture of this place. Even though it was crowded, we still had a great time walking around and seeing the beauty of this basilllica.

Helpful?
Thank papisan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Doha, Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“A very beautiful experience”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were almost going to skip going inside teh Saint Mark's Basilica if not for the desire to be inside and rest from the cold. Luckily we didn't! We were awed with the artifacts in the Basilica. Our nerves could feel the serenity of the place- very peaceful place to be - feels like we were actually reading the scriptures in the Bible.

And the view of Venice from the Basilica is really gorgeous.

We were asked to checked in our back pack - but we didn't as our friend stayed behind to watch those for us - not sure about the safety of leaving our back packs behind.

A definitely must visit when in Venice.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Turknoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Another Italian Masterpiece”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I truly believe that the "aww" you feel when stepping into Saint Mark's Basilica is comparable to the first time you hold your new baby. It is a work of God....carried out by my talented Italians, but truly a work of God. I felt as though I was part of History, part of something much Greater on this Earth. Just standing in the middle of St.Mark's was breathtaking. I can't describe it anymore, but the moment you step into it, you will understand my aww.

Also, go back and visit it at night when it is lit up. Your breath will be taken away for a second time!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TimApril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica di San Marco also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Basilica di San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing