We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful epitome of Venice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basilica di San Marco

Basilica di San Marco
Book In Advance
More Info
$26.33*
and up
Skip The Line: St Mark's Basilica Guided Tour
Ranked #3 of 586 things to do in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Blending the architectural styles of East and West, Venice's magnificent basilica was consecrated in 832 AD as an ecclesiastical building to house the remains of St. Mark.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful epitome of Venice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

You can't go to Venice without visiting San Marco. Picturesque square with lots of restaurants you can sit outside of to watch the world go by and take in the beautiful surroundings

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sophia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19,448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12,912
    4,749
    1,419
    260
    108
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“St Mark's in February”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

The basilica unfortunately for us was going through some renovation, so a portion of the facade was covered. There were absolutely no lines when we visited, a fantastic time to come. The outside is truly unique from other basilicas and cathedrals I have visited. Once inside, the mosaic works only seem to compare with St Paul's outside the wall in Rome. There is a decent amount to look at to keep you busy for an hour or two. Plus, many ways for the basilica to make money. The treasury was 3 Euros and contained many relics from Saints. Fascinating collection. I wish I had done more research prior to entering the space to familiarize myself with the relics pieces I was looking at (or, I guess I could have bought the tour guide piece). The museum and terrace was also good value at 3 Euros. Could easily spend an hour on this part. The altar had a couple of pieces to look at, but cost another few Euros - you get the picture. Do your homework before you enter and decide what you want to spend on - my two cents would be to see the treasury and museum.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MCBMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Visited late afternoon in February. No queue to get in. Mosaics are beautiful. We didn't have time to go up to the roof but would definitely like to go back on my next visit to really take it all in.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MeeshP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“St Mark's Basilica in December”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Everyone had told us how crowded this area could be on our visit to Venice. In December, there were very few people so that our visit was not crowded at all.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great ceiling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

As countless others have said you really must visit the Basilica when in Venice. I do struggle to see how some people managed to spend 2 hours here though. There really isn't that much to see. The main (free) area takes perhaps 10-15 minutes to look around, the museum and treasury (decent value at around €3) add another 15 minutes each.

Some of the things they try to upsell such as the Pala d'Oro seem to be incredibly overpriced, €4 to stand a bit closer to the alter doesn't seem like a great option to me.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica di San Marco also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Basilica di San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing