We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“You have to be there at least once in your lifetime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Canal

Grand Canal
Book In Advance
$56*
and up
Glorious Grand Canal Tour
Ranked #1 of 367 things to do in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Venice's main water thoroughfare, lined with great Renaissance palaces, is a colorful and busy spectacle of gondolas and vaporetti.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“You have to be there at least once in your lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Venice itself is amazing. When I was taking a "taxi" on the grand canal, the view was breathtaking(to me at least). If you are into architecture and sorts i believe you would appreciate the view

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAvidTraveller92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25,259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18,438
    5,757
    883
    112
    69
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
188 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Quite a site!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Great part of venice culture - everything evolves around the canal - the public transport and deliveries for the businesses as well as of course the gondolas!
Busy and bustling - particularly by Rialto - walk further away from there along the canal and you will find some lovely quieter spots to watch Venice go by!
The vaporetto trip from the airport takes you two ways along the grand canal - we too the vaparetto from the airport which dropped us at St Marks - on the way back to the airport we left from the Rialto Bridge stop and made sure we got the taxi which went the long way up the grand canal - great and cheap way of seeing Venice from the Grand Canal and a lovely end to a trip to Venice

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank sarah_gray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweden
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Just like the photographs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Very exciting to actually the Grand Canal for the first time but we were really glad we were there in January as there already lots of tourists. Must be a nightmare in the summer.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank bonnie1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“It doesn't get better than this!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

One of the best places I have ever been. You have to visit at least once in your life!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“the grand canal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

The centre of action in Venice. what a busy, beautiful place, both day and night.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank 723brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Canal also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Grand Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing