We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only slightly off the beaten track but a hidden gem just the same”

Osteria al Cantinon
Ranked #94 of 1,425 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Cannaregio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Only slightly off the beaten track but a hidden gem just the same”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stumbled across the Osteria al Cantinon almost by accident one Sunday afternoon in April whilst taking a stroll north along the Strada Novo. Tucked away along a small canal side street beside the Campo della Maddalena I just caught a tantalising glimpse of the restaurant and thought it looked the ideal spot to put down the camera and sample a cold beer. As it turned out it was much, much more than a pit stop. Like many of the best eating places in Venice the Osteria al Cantinon is simple and beautiful. It announces itself quietly, drawing the eye in to linger over local hams, cheeses and fresh fruit beautifully displayed just inside the door. You just have to ask to see the menu and know it will be good. Throw in the canal side setting and friendly, professional and knowledgeable staff and there you have it - perfect. So perfect in fact we decided to eat there on Sunday and Monday evening. Try the fillet steak in green pepper sauce - fantastic.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brizey37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    207
    54
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Taste of Venice... A MUST!!!!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

From start to finish this restaurant delivered a fantastic meal including a great service from this family run business.

All questions answered perfectly with conscientious service... Eating out often and being well travelled, I would give my upmost recommendations on eating at this delightful establishment :)))

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brucher86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect, Final evening in Venice”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Tucked away in Canneregio, we were led here by a local. They service was so friendly, the mother and son greeted us as if we were regulars and even prepared something off the menu for us-simple yet perfectly in season asparagus and eggs. The meats and cheeses were also delicious. Prices were perfect, the mood was intimate, and local. So friendly, even the chef came to check on us and make sure we were happy. This restaurant is off the beaten path, away from the throngs of tourists, and well worth getting lost on the way home for. Thank you Al Cantinon!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FeedingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem but worth the finding!!!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I found this small, hidden restaurant whilst mooching around and after enjoying a light lunch booked again for dinner the following night.

We found out that this restaurant has recently been taken over by new owners with a new chef and mother & son working front of house/somellier - they told us that they intend to continue with the meat based menu but plan to introduce some typical venetian fish dishes in time. I enjoyed a wonderful meal of ricotta stuffed Mozzarella salad, lamb chops and steamed veg followed by Tiramisu, whilst my husband enjoyed a local treat (can't remember the name) dried cod soaked in milk and gently poached in olive oil then served with polenta, filet steak then chocolate tart. The meal was very, very good and we are not easily pleased but the steak was outstanding. The Montepulciano we had too was very good and for 20 euros was not expensive.

Whilst writing this I remember how warm, welcoming and friendly the waiter and his mum were - nothing was too much trouble but I really would like to keep this info to myself because it is such a special place then again they deserve the trade.

A very genuine restaurant, a warm atmosphere, well priced AND frequented by locals - enough said!

We plan to visit each and every time we are lucky enough to be in La Serenissima. Thank you.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“All fished out”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

After a lovely few days in venice we had eaten enough fish and being a Monday wanted meat and asked at
the front desk of our hotel ca sagredo where they would recommend the Receptionist suggested here as she had eaten there the week before and how right she was ,as soon as we entered the restsurant we were treated as locals ,warm and friendly reception the waitress was helpfully and charming ,we did not feel like tourists it was like being in a small Italian village with no feeling of being in a tourist trap, a wonderful location ,and then the food the steaks are superb and the house wine us above average ,finished off with cheese that was superb s. please don't miss out on this gem it was s the best meal we had and we had spent a lot more in other places .
O

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew1361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria al Cantinon also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria al Cantinon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing